We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
Ranked #32 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Central Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Convenient and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Room was spacious and clean, location was close to downtown and campus. Breakfast was good. The trains did not bother us.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HH51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    69
    33
    10
    6
See reviews for
68
31
11
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
122 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Nice hotel here... fairly new, but customer service in the friendliness areas are not that great.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pro Coach O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Pro Coach O,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Lexington.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This hotel is located near the University and shopping centers. We have stayed several times and the beds are always comfortable and the rooms quiet. Check-in and out are usually fast with a courteous staff.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank yobei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
429 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

I arrived at about 9:30 p.m. and was able to get decent parking. It's obvious that this property is on a smaller lot, sort of on the edge of a hill. I could hear the trains but they did not wake me up during the night. The oddest part is that the room had a table and overstuffed chairs but no desk. I was traveling on business and really need desk space. The rest of the stay was fine. I like HIE because everything is predictable and my expectations were met.

Room Tip: Because the trains run behind the hotel, it doesn't matter which side of the building you stay o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EnjoyTravelAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

This is our second stay at this hotel and it was every bit as good as the first. We were headed into town for the Thanksgiving weekend, originally planning to stay with family. Owing to keeping third-shift hours we decided on the way we'd rather get a hotel.

I phoned from the car, inquired about availability for a King-bed, non-smoking room, and asked if we could check in early. The gentleman on the phone looked up our info from our previous stay, reserved our room and confirmed it would be ready when we got there. The whole call took about a minute and a half and that was only because he paused a several points waiting for his computer to refresh.

We arrived and checked in to find the room was waiting on us and exactly what we had asked for. We grabbed a few hours of much needed sleep and then headed off for Thanksgiving dinner with family.

The only thing that woke us during our stay was a family across the hall that had several children and a dog. Given that this was 4pm, we didn't hold it against them and turning on the fan in the room's AC unit provided enough white noise to sleep comfortably.

For the most part the room's climate controls worked well, we had a bit of difficulty at one point with the AC not working only to discover that the switch on the thermostat was just slightly off. Though it looked like it was in the "On" position, the fraction of a millimeter push to the left kicked it on and restored the room to our set temperature.

Though the hotel does have WiFi, we weren't able to get signal on the second-story (front-right corner). Fortunately the room had a wired-ethernet connection so I was able to set up my laptop and create a wireless network to use with our phones and iPad. If you're planning on using a WiFi-only device you may have better luck with a room on the first floor.

The cleanliness of the room and bathroom was superb, nothing that made us feel uncomfortable in the least. The room was also quite spacious, with an easy chair and work desk with chair. Though it was a standard hotel room layout, the room is quite a bit larger than what I've experienced in other hotels. Not a huge deal, but if you often feel cramped by a room that barely has enough space for a bed and television, you should have no problems here.

We didn't have the opportunity to try the breakfast this time because of the skewed hours we kept, but it is worth noting that the hotel sits adjacent to a lot with a 24-hour Sonic drive-in and within a mile of several all-night convenience stores. The point is, if you happen to be up at odd hours, there's food and beverages very close by.

Check out was quick and painless, just a call down to the front desk to confirm everything was in order, and we were off and headed back home. The staff was excellent once again; helpful, friendly, and professional. We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and will very likely be staying here again ourselves.

Room Tip: The Executive Suite with living area and kitchenette is great for extended stays or if you plan to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VikingBrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames, IA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

I stay at this hotel quite often given its proximity to UK. It's what you'd expect from a Holiday Inn Express. Nothing super fancy but everything is clean, serviceable, and reliable. Internet access/speed is good. Hotel is within a mile's walking distance of UK and is particularly close to the hospital complex. Also within walking distance of a pretty good Thai restaurant, a few other places to eat, and a gas station/convenience store.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank techleadprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

but as other reviewers have stated, the rooms are a bit old, other than that a typical, and clean holiday inn express. Location is great for exploring Lexington, campus, and tailgaiting for football games

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adempsey21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lexington Near the University of Kentucky
0.5 mi away
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#44 of 71 in Lexington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.5 mi away
University Inn Hotel
University Inn Hotel
#43 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Hyatt Regency Lexington
#7 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Northeast
1.1 mi away
Hilton Lexington Downtown
Hilton Lexington Downtown
#13 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
Address: 1000 Export Street, Lexington, KY 40504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Lexington
#19 Family Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Downtown at the University of Kentucky UK. This downtown Lexington, KY hotel is located just blocks from the campus of the University of KY UK & minutes from several area hospitals. We are also conveniently located 5 miles from Lexington Bluegrass Airport (LEX) & I-75/I-64 Interstate access. This downtown Lexington, KY hotel is less than 1 mile from the Lexington Convention Center & Rupp Arena. For horse lovers, this Keeneland Hotel is just a short drive from the track, the Red Mile & numerous Kentucky Horse Park events.Our corporate amenities include free high-speed Internet access, meeting room & 24-hour business center. Hospitals: University of Kentucky UK Chandler Medical Center, Saint Joseph Hospital, Central Baptist Hospital & Good Samaritan HospitalBusinesses: IBM, Lexmark, Pricewaterhouse Coopers, PNC, Central Bank, Fifth Third Bank, Fasic-Tipton, Ashland & UPSLocal Attractions: Bluegrass Lexington Airport LEX, Keeneland Horse Racing, Lexington Convention Center, Rupp Arena, University of Kentucky, UK Commonwealth Stadium, Red Mile, & Transylvania University.Visit Lexington, KY Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel while attending the following Lexington events:Fayette County High School Graduation 6/4-6/5Junior League Horse Show at the Red Mile 7/6-7/12AAU Basketball 7/13-19 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
Holiday Inn Lexington
Holiday Inn Express Lexington
Lexington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing