We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent overnight stay in Lexington”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
Ranked #32 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I booked this hotel to visit Transylvania Univ. The location was very good for my visit, easy access to both universities and downtown. The first room I was assigned had clearly been smoked in (even in this non-smoking hotel) and not cleaned up enough (it smelled strongly of smoke). I called down and was moved to another room. Everything about the room was fairly typical for a Holiday Inn Express and was comfortable and adequate. The only two complaints I would have are: 1. the hotel rooms are not very quiet, you can hear toilets flushing, people talking, tvs, etc. That said, it was pretty quiet after 10 pm. 2. there was no fresh fruit available at breakfast.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank IntlEdRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara Jean B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for letting us know of your concerns so that we can work to improve on room smell and ensure the breakfast bar is stocked with the essentials. We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to seeing you next time.

Barbara Jean Beighle - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

My car was broken in to in the general manger didn't do any thing it happened to 3 other guests..they don't have cameras to protect there guest. I seen the housekeepers get treated very bad by there supervisors..people should not go to that hotel.the rooms are very nasty.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 22betty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara Jean B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

We appreciate your feedback. We do take the security of our guests very seriously and know how frustrating and concerning a situation like this can be. We apologize that your experience with us was not a positive one and are currently researching this situation and will be following up with you shortly to address what transpired.

Barbara Jean Beighle - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We inadvertently reserved for the Monday of the NCAA championship game. the hotel takes its "quiet after 11 pm" policy seriously (they ask you to sign a pledge, in fact). The manager was on duty that night and closed the doors after 11 pm (you could only get in via your room card). We watched the game and then had a restful sleep. Teresa in the breakfast area is a wonder. She's so full of life and can't help you enough. We'd return in a heart beat!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara Jean B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to provide you with a good night's sleep. We appreciate the commitment from you and our other guests as well to help us deliver on what our guests expect. Glad Teresa made your breakfast experience enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you next time.

Barbara Jean Beighle - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express near U of Kentucky to attend my father-in-law's
funeral. I had been very close to my father-in-law, so of course it was a sad occasion.
But, Teresa, the breakfast attendant, is one of those people who make the world a happier place.
She is very hard-working; and,without her knowing initially why I was staying there, she managed to brighten my spirits and put a smile on my face.
The hotel itself is quite nice, is very clean and well-run.
I will definitely stay in the future, and hopefully, Teresa will be there to lend a smile.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eric s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara Jean B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you so much for your comments. I personally spoke to you and appreciate you staying with us during a difficult time. We look forward to seeing you next time.

Barbara Jean Beighle - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The BEST hotel that my family has stayed at in a long time. Would stay here again when visiting Lexington. They have the greatest staff and that means a lot to me when going to a hotel. The room/bathroom was clean!! Thanks you and the staff for a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara Jean B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you so much for your comments. Glad to know we made your stay enjoyable and look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Lexington.

Barbara Jean Beighle - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I just have to say that the rooms were perfectly clean. Impeccable. The staff were very friendly as well! There was a small problem with the card that I used to pay for the room, but Becca turned what could have been a nightmare into an easily fixed problem! She was definitely the best!

Room Tip: I've stayed in the King Suite in the past and stayed in a double queen room this time. Both tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brandons20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara Jean B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Glad to know that the staff you encountered provided exceptional service and were able to recommend a restaurant that was to you liking. We look forward to seeing you next time.

Barbara Jean Beighle - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The room was very clean and didn't have any problems with check in. Becca and Jay at the desk were super nice and very willing to help us get to an amazing restaurant in town and book our next stay. I would highly recommend staying here and we will be staying again in May!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara Jean B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for acknowledging some of our front desk staff. Glad they were able to assist in getting you to where you needed to go in the area for dining. Hope to see you in the near future.

Barbara Jean Beighle - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lexington Near the University of Kentucky
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Northeast
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Hyatt Regency Lexington
#7 of 71 in Lexington
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Medical Center
1.1 mi away
Hilton Lexington Downtown
Hilton Lexington Downtown
#12 of 71 in Lexington
1,180 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#48 of 71 in Lexington
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University

Address: 1000 Export St, Lexington, KY 40504-2683
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Lexington
#19 Family Hotel in Lexington
Price Range: £101 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Downtown at the University of Kentucky UK. This downtown Lexington, KY hotel is located just blocks from the campus of the University of KY UK & minutes from several area hospitals. We are also conveniently located 5 miles from Lexington Bluegrass Airport (LEX) & I-75/I-64 Interstate access. This downtown Lexington, KY hotel is less than 1 mile from the Lexington Convention Center & Rupp Arena. For horse lovers, this Keeneland Hotel is just a short drive from the track, the Red Mile & numerous Kentucky Horse Park events.Our corporate amenities include free high-speed Internet access, meeting room & 24-hour business center. Hospitals: University of Kentucky UK Chandler Medical Center, Saint Joseph Hospital, Central Baptist Hospital & Good Samaritan HospitalBusinesses: IBM, Lexmark, Pricewaterhouse Coopers, PNC, Central Bank, Fifth Third Bank, Fasic-Tipton, Ashland & UPSLocal Attractions: Bluegrass Lexington Airport LEX, Keeneland Horse Racing, Lexington Convention Center, Rupp Arena, University of Kentucky, UK Commonwealth Stadium, Red Mile, & Transylvania University.Visit Lexington, KY Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel while attending the following Lexington events:Fayette County High School Graduation 6/4-6/5Junior League Horse Show at the Red Mile 7/6-7/12AAU Basketball 7/13-19 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
Holiday Inn Lexington
Holiday Inn Express Lexington
Lexington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing