We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, comfy beds, will return!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
Ranked #32 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great hotel, comfy beds, will return!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We had a great stay at this hotel. The beds were very comfortable, and the bathroom was large for a hotel. We were checked in my Ken (I think), and he was very nice. There is an indoor pool and hot tub as well. The breakfast was very good- lots of choices, very clean, and well-stocked.
Although we did not tour U of KY, it was very close to Rupp Arena. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank caylismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara Jean B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for acknowledging Ken and glad you enjoyed your room and our location. We do hope you do return and get a chance to tour the University of Kentucky. There is lots to see.

Barbara Jean Beighle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    74
    34
    10
    6
See reviews for
73
32
12
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I am IHG platinum. I called the day before and requested a complimentary upgrade to a suite with microwave and fridge [not all rooms have them]. Monica answered phone and said she would make it happen. She had a quiet suite in front ready for me at check-in. She offered me the 500 points at check-in without being prompted. I appreciate Monica’s excellent service and complimentary upgrade very much. Kudos to her. Holiday Inn Express is very lucky to have an employee so dedicated to customer service. There is a Jets pizza place across the street. No grocery store nearby but a Save-A-Lot on US-60 BUSINESS

Room Tip: For quiet room, choose highest floor facing Export street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PULAOKHAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara Jean B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for recognizing Monica and glad she delivered on your expectations. We do hope you continue to stay with us as you travel into Lexington and appreciate your business.

Barbara Jean Beighle - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Nice location in Downtown Lexington, near Hospitals and University of Kentucky Campus.

Has a nice complimentary breakfast. We were there during the Rolex Equistrian Championship at the Kentucky Horse Park. Hotel was packed but everything was great

Room Tip: No in hotel Restaurant but lots close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara Jean B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for staying with us and yes, that was a very busy weekend for the city. Glad we were able to accommodate you this visit and we look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We were in town for the Taste of the Bluegrass and needed some place to bunk down that was convenient to our children's homes. We had seen the Holiday Inn Express, but we not confident about the location (close to UK campus made us suspicious!). We had a delightful stay. The room was clean and the noise level was not what we expected (perhaps if we had expected silence, we would have been disappointed?!?!) As for breakfast . . . well, I suppose that one can get excited over a free breakfast, but I've definitely had better. It wasn't bad, but the other rave reviews over a fast food breakfast are really over the top. Could you put some instant hot chocolate out with the tea???

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret-emily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara Jean B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for honest feedback and glad to know you felt we were just a cut above the brand standards. We appreciate your suggestion on hot chocolate being available as we do track guests preferences to help the chain on new additions that should be added based on guest's requests. We hope you visit us the next time you are in Lexington.

Barbara Jean Beighle - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rogersville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We were coming to Lexington to meet my daughter's favorite book character, Junie B. Jones, at the Joseph-Beth Bookstore. After comparing many hotels, I decided on this Holiday Inn. As I was wanting, the hotel was in a great location to the surroundings, it was clean and well kept, beds and pillows comfortable, shower great, breakfast was good, and the front desk (day and night) were very helpful. The day front desk lady recommended and gave directions to things/places that my daughters would like, which helped a lot.
There were a just a few things that bothered us. First, our room didn't have a small fridge. So our left overs we brought back from dinner were pretty much wasted. I figured mini fridges were standard in all rooms anymore:/ Next, when we returned to the hotel that evening, the girls wanted to of course swim (which the looks of the pool was another reason I chose this hotel). To access the pool, you must use your room card key to unlock the door. Our card would not let us in, nor would any card used from other guests or the main key from the front desk. So my young daughters were heartbroken to see the pool, but not be able to get in! However, the front desk guy was very quick to respond and called the maintenance man in to fix it. The man came in that night, which was very nice and we greatly appreciated it, and he fixed the door. The girls finally got to swim at 10:00 that night. We were glad they got to swim, however it was way past their bedtimes, lol!
So, overall great place to stay if you don't need a mini fridge:)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaclyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara Jean B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
We appreciate your candid feedback and letting us specifics of what you liked and where we missed the mark. As we plan for extensive improvements to our hotel we do refer to guest comments like yours when it comes to adding features to all rooms like refrigerators. For now we do have suites that do include them so ask about those the next time you are in Lexington or you can request one upon arrival to be delivered to your room however those are limited. Glad your children were able to take a swim. Being a mother of 2 myself I do know how the pool can be a great feature to keep the kids entertained. We look forward to seeing you next time.

Barbara Jean Beighle - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Front desk people are extremely helpful, and our recent stay (during the very busy, fully booked graduation weekend) was another perfect time at this ideally located Holiday Inn! Their free breakfast is always a plus, well maintained by Teresa, who takes great pride in making sure everyone is well fed and happy with the excellent breakfast provided! Teresa kept replenishing the foods to the packed room of graduation attendees, and greeted everyone with her warm smile and offer to "get y'all anything else?" It just doesn't get better than this! Likewise, those working the front desk go out of their way to help and make certain your stay is trouble free. Have always stayed here and highly recommend!

Room Tip: Yes, train tracks right outside our bedroom window, but slept soundly and never heard the train at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 423JC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara Jean B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
We very much appreciate your loyalty to staying with us and your comments. Glad to know the staff if making a difference. Look forward to seeing you next time.

Barbara Jean Beighle - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Bed was comfortable, hotel was clean and quiet. Nice pool area and breakfast was great: who doesn't love HI cinnamon rolls? Also pancakes, scrambled eggs and the rest of the standards. MAKE SURE YOU GET A ROOM IN THE FRONT, there is a train track that runs right behind the hotel. I never heard it at night, but I did see/hear it when I was in the pool.

Room Tip: Get a room near the front of the hotel, there is a train track running along the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H2OChaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara Jean B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for commenting on your stay and glad you enjoyed the Holiday Inn Express brand cinnamon rolls. We look forward to seeing you next time.

Barbara Jean Beighle - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lexington Near the University of Kentucky
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Northeast
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Hyatt Regency Lexington
#8 of 71 in Lexington
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Medical Center
0.5 mi away
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#48 of 71 in Lexington
123 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Lexington Downtown
Hilton Lexington Downtown
#12 of 71 in Lexington
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
Address: 1000 Export St, Lexington, KY 40504-2683
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Lexington
#19 Family Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Downtown at the University of Kentucky UK. This downtown Lexington, KY hotel is located just blocks from the campus of the University of KY UK & minutes from several area hospitals. We are also conveniently located 5 miles from Lexington Bluegrass Airport (LEX) & I-75/I-64 Interstate access. This downtown Lexington, KY hotel is less than 1 mile from the Lexington Convention Center & Rupp Arena. For horse lovers, this Keeneland Hotel is just a short drive from the track, the Red Mile & numerous Kentucky Horse Park events.Our corporate amenities include free high-speed Internet access, meeting room & 24-hour business center. Hospitals: University of Kentucky UK Chandler Medical Center, Saint Joseph Hospital, Central Baptist Hospital & Good Samaritan HospitalBusinesses: IBM, Lexmark, Pricewaterhouse Coopers, PNC, Central Bank, Fifth Third Bank, Fasic-Tipton, Ashland & UPSLocal Attractions: Bluegrass Lexington Airport LEX, Keeneland Horse Racing, Lexington Convention Center, Rupp Arena, University of Kentucky, UK Commonwealth Stadium, Red Mile, & Transylvania University.Visit Lexington, KY Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel while attending the following Lexington events:Fayette County High School Graduation 6/4-6/5Junior League Horse Show at the Red Mile 7/6-7/12AAU Basketball 7/13-19 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
Holiday Inn Lexington
Holiday Inn Express Lexington
Lexington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing