We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
Nearby Hotels
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Candlewood Suites Lexington(Lexington)(Great Value!)
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Lexington(Lexington)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$253
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$237
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
98
79
36
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
79
36
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshi expressuk campusfront deskwalking distanceroom was cleanbiscuits and gravyan upgradewould stay here againtop floorfirst floorbreakfast barfree breakfastrupp arenalocation is greatstaff was friendlyhospitaldq
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 231 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We had a great stay at this hotel. The beds were very comfortable, and the bathroom was large for a hotel. We were checked in my Ken (I think), and he was very nice. There is an indoor pool and hot tub as well. The breakfast was very good- lots of choices, very clean, and well-stocked.
Although we did not tour U of KY, it was very close to Rupp Arena. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank caylismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara Jean B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you for acknowledging Ken and glad you enjoyed your room and our location. We do hope you do return and get a chance to tour the University of Kentucky. There is lots to see.

Barbara Jean Beighle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I am IHG platinum. I called the day before and requested a complimentary upgrade to a suite with microwave and fridge [not all rooms have them]. Monica answered phone and said she would make it happen. She had a quiet suite in front ready for me at check-in. She offered me the 500 points at check-in without being prompted. I appreciate Monica’s excellent service and complimentary upgrade very much. Kudos to her. Holiday Inn Express is very lucky to have an employee so dedicated to customer service. There is a Jets pizza place across the street. No grocery store nearby but a Save-A-Lot on US-60 BUSINESS

Room Tip: For quiet room, choose highest floor facing Export street
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PULAOKHAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara Jean B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thank you for recognizing Monica and glad she delivered on your expectations. We do hope you continue to stay with us as you travel into Lexington and appreciate your business.

Barbara Jean Beighle - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Nice location in Downtown Lexington, near Hospitals and University of Kentucky Campus.

Has a nice complimentary breakfast. We were there during the Rolex Equistrian Championship at the Kentucky Horse Park. Hotel was packed but everything was great

Room Tip: No in hotel Restaurant but lots close by.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara Jean B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for staying with us and yes, that was a very busy weekend for the city. Glad we were able to accommodate you this visit and we look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We were in town for the Taste of the Bluegrass and needed some place to bunk down that was convenient to our children's homes. We had seen the Holiday Inn Express, but we not confident about the location (close to UK campus made us suspicious!). We had a delightful stay. The room was clean and the noise level was not what we expected (perhaps if we had expected silence, we would have been disappointed?!?!) As for breakfast . . . well, I suppose that one can get excited over a free breakfast, but I've definitely had better. It wasn't bad, but the other rave reviews over a fast food breakfast are really over the top. Could you put some instant hot chocolate out with the tea???

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret-emily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara Jean B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for honest feedback and glad to know you felt we were just a cut above the brand standards. We appreciate your suggestion on hot chocolate being available as we do track guests preferences to help the chain on new additions that should be added based on guest's requests. We hope you visit us the next time you are in Lexington.

Barbara Jean Beighle - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We were coming to Lexington to meet my daughter's favorite book character, Junie B. Jones, at the Joseph-Beth Bookstore. After comparing many hotels, I decided on this Holiday Inn. As I was wanting, the hotel was in a great location to the surroundings, it was clean and well kept, beds and pillows comfortable, shower great, breakfast was good, and the front desk (day and night) were very helpful. The day front desk lady recommended and gave directions to things/places that my daughters would like, which helped a lot.
There were a just a few things that bothered us. First, our room didn't have a small fridge. So our left overs we brought back from dinner were pretty much wasted. I figured mini fridges were standard in all rooms anymore:/ Next, when we returned to the hotel that evening, the girls wanted to of course swim (which the looks of the pool was another reason I chose this hotel). To access the pool, you must use your room card key to unlock the door. Our card would not let us in, nor would any card used from other guests or the main key from the front desk. So my young daughters were heartbroken to see the pool, but not be able to get in! However, the front desk guy was very quick to respond and called the maintenance man in to fix it. The man came in that night, which was very nice and we greatly appreciated it, and he fixed the door. The girls finally got to swim at 10:00 that night. We were glad they got to swim, however it was way past their bedtimes, lol!
So, overall great place to stay if you don't need a mini fridge:)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaclyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara Jean B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

We appreciate your candid feedback and letting us specifics of what you liked and where we missed the mark. As we plan for extensive improvements to our hotel we do refer to guest comments like yours when it comes to adding features to all rooms like refrigerators. For now we do have suites that do include them so ask about those the next time you are in Lexington or you can request one upon arrival to be delivered to your room however those are limited. Glad your children were able to take a swim. Being a mother of 2 myself I do know how the pool can be a great feature to keep the kids entertained. We look forward to seeing you next time.

Barbara Jean Beighle - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews