We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights for a business meeting. I forgot my suitcase in the meeting room (was loading up the car & got everything else but my suitcase).
I didn't find out until I got home- 4 hours away. I called the Marriott & they had my suitcase! Shipped it WITHOUT charging me & I got it sooner than promised.
You don't find service like that, anymore.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siddalee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    221
    110
    44
    19
See reviews for
154
153
23
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I stayed at the Griffin Gate for a week long conference in November. The service was very lovely and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel restaurants and bars were quite expensive, but other than that, no complaints.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elle9904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The staff at Griffin Gate did a very nice job during our stay there. I was appreciative of their willingness to send some items we left in our room at no cost. Everything was clean, organized and well-designed.

Grateful for the good people at Griffin Gate and their beautiful facility.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank chrishorst7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Had to travel for business to Georgetown Ky so I stayed at Griffin Gate (Marriott) Resort.
Never trust a name; I don’t see this as a resort.

From the outside, you can tell that the hotel had some mileage on-it but it appears as though the inside had been redone recently.

The front desk was very accommodating as was the support staff.

My room and bathroom were an average size for a Marriott, clean, with no frills. The bed was relaxing and it took me no time to fall asleep each night. Now, if you travel with a computer or iPad that relies on wireless access the rooms are not set up for this so make sure you bring a device that is compatible to plug-in or go to the lobby for a hot spot.

The breakfast was good and plentiful and the hotel bar was always busy and well staffed. The restaurant for dinner was never really busy so it made me suspicious but the food in the bars was good and the Kentucky Bourbon Barrel Ale on tap was great. The serving staff reads your needs right away and is always on top of things. They were great!

I went to the hotel spa to end a stressful day but they close early so if you get out of mtgs or work around 6 pm, you don't have much time to shed the stress and relax with a message, spa or pool. The steam sauna and relaxation area is an additional charge. When I arrived to relax, the spa was understaffed and I caught myself looking for the basics - towels, water, toiletries, etc.

Tons of history in the near area, take a walk and check it out, the surround property is great. If you have a smart phone, download the ghost app and watch it go off... Fun ;- )

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rkbzdsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hixson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Visited Lexington for the first time for a wedding. They booked a block of rooms and the reception was in the hotel. Rooms were great, batroom was a little small but clean and up to date. Food was very good in the resturant and the sit down diner provided at the recption. Great pool as well. Staff gave us good information on driving tours of the Horse farms in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moonhole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I took my wife to Griffin Gate & Lexington for her birthday. It had everything she needs, a pool and room service! But, of course, this property has more than that.

It's a beautiful property, with the Mansion adjoining, well landscaped grounds, well maintained everything.

The staff was great, from the front desk to the house-keeping to the pool attendants & pool bar personnel to the bartenders at JW's Steakhouse. Throughout the property they were friendly, helpful and courteous.

And we'll be back to this property...however...

This property just seems dated. For it being a premier Marriott property with the history it has I was expecting more. Maybe it was the room we had? Upon arriving and walking into the room the best I could say about the room was "Meh". It was underwhelming. It looked like every generic room in every generic hotel I've ever stayed in.

From the exterior looks of the hotel I was hoping for more of an Arizona Biltmore Hotel experience. And from a service aspect that's what we got. But the accommodations, the room & bath, just left me wanting more.

Like I said though...we'll be back because all-in-all we still enjoyed ourselves here.

Room Tip: Ask for something not facing West...in the summer the heat will warm your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fordo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

This hotel was built in the early 1980's and has been refurbished several times. A Spa was added just a few years ago. Hotel has both indoor and outdoor pools. Sadly, the outdoor pool and the concrete surrounding it is in poor shape with missing pool tiles and badly cracked concrete decking.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington
5.9 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Lexington
3.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Hyatt Regency Lexington
#7 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
#3 of 71 in Lexington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center North
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 1800 Newtown Pike, Lexington, KY 40511-1330
Region: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Lexington
#13 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enveloped by the rolling hills of beautiful Bluegrass Country, Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa is a true urban oasis. Offering a secluded atmosphere yet convenient to area attractions, our hotel in Lexington, KY is ideal for travelers who value privacy and accessibility. Nearby points of interest include Kentucky Horse Park, Keeneland Race Track and the Kentucky Bourbon Trail, a collection of distilleries offering facility tours and tasting events. Guest rooms at our hotel near Keeneland feature stunning contemporary decor and high-tech amenities like LCD TVs and high-speed Internet access. Indulge in flavorful seafood, mouthwatering filets and decadent desserts at JW's Steakhouse, our famous restaurant, or enjoy appetizers and cocktails in JW's Lounge. Our Lexington Marriott is also home to indoor and outdoor pools, a fitness center, 18-hole golf course, full-service spa and 28,000 square feet of event space. Discover luxury, elegance and superior service at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Griffin Gate Hotel Lexington
Marriott Lexington
Lexington Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing