We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Hazard, Kentucky
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

I enjoyed my stay there, the rooms especially the bathroom is very small, but the beds were comfortable and they had a nice comfy chair in the room. I have bad problems and it was nice to have that chair to relax in. The hot tub and pool was great, the gift shop was in expensive and had great snacks. The staff was very friendly and was helpful. They offer valet service which for me was great. I would definitely stay again. The gardens were a perfect place to take pictures and walk around. Very quite and peaceful. Even though it is located next to a main road, it is very quite.

Room Tip: The rooms on the south side has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firechick10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    221
    110
    44
    19
See reviews for
154
153
23
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Pros: Close to highway, relatively clean, courteous front desk staff.
Cons: Elevator was extremely cold (likely due to insufficient insulation), standard looking room including plastic display trays for Bath and Body Works soap/shampoo/etc, bartender clearly more interested in what she was reading than serving guests, memory foam mattress too hot to get decent sleep, drinking glasses next to sink were dirty, overhead light made putting on makeup next to impossible, grungy looking balcony, eggs were cold for concierge breakfast...do I really need to go on?
This was our second time staying with a Marriott as a rewards member, having switched from being Hilton rewards members. The reason for the change was the decrease we found in quality throughout the company. I certainly hope that this inability to provide substantial service and accommodations is not becoming an industry standard.

Room Tip: If you're spending hard-earned money, go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnb7283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We just finished our 8th annual 5 night stay at this hotel and had another great experience. The staff is outstandingly helpful and friendly - a pair of shoes left by my husband was mailed to us at home without charge. The beds are memory foam unless you request otherwise and are so comfy with piles of pillows. The rooms are soundproofed and have blackout curtains so it it truly restful and private. The food in the restaurants and bar are outstanding - our favorites are the tenderloin beef sliders and the Kentucky Bourbon Cake. There is a nice indoor pool and hot tub, as well as an exercise room. There is a spa on the premises, too, but I've never had time to use it. The bathrooms are granite and the toiletries are upscale ones from Bath & Body Works. We'll be back next year!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms have a larger bathroom with the sink outside the bathroom so two people can get ready a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjreads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We have stayed here a few times and this time they put into what they said was an upgraded room which meant a very hard bed. If you don't like hard beds then ask for a regular room with the regular beds. They should have advised us.
Restaurant has good food especially the rib eye steak and a great lobster bisque.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Wa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I was on the 6th floor overlooking the parking lot, still a nice view. The room was comfortable and spacious. Coffee maker was in an awkward spot under the television. The tub was large and roomy, great for a soak. Only problem is the door placement in the bathroom, I hate straddling the toilet to open and close a door. I loved the bed and with all the pillows I propped up and slept just fine. Not happy that it cost over $12 a day for internet in the room, but you will see plenty of people all over the lobby taking advantage of the free WiFi.
I seen the pool and hot tub but did not take advantage of them, they looked wonderful though. Restaurant is priced as you would expect and the food is not anything spectacular. The bar has friendly staff and sports are on the televisions, the beer selection is nice. Check in and check out were smooth and problem free.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Nice room and nice TV. Clean. Terrible pillows made a good night sleep tough. Bad food. If you need a place just a crash this is perfect though. Not sure what other options are out there.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iscreenwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Ok place. Rooms are nice. Pillows are terrible. Food is below average

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murphntuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington
5.9 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Lexington
3.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Hyatt Regency Lexington
#8 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
#3 of 71 in Lexington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center North
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 1800 Newtown Pike, Lexington, KY 40511-1330
Region: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Lexington
#13 Family Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enveloped by the rolling hills of beautiful Bluegrass Country, Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa is a true urban oasis. Offering a secluded atmosphere yet convenient to area attractions, our hotel in Lexington, KY is ideal for travelers who value privacy and accessibility. Nearby points of interest include Kentucky Horse Park, Keeneland Race Track and the Kentucky Bourbon Trail, a collection of distilleries offering facility tours and tasting events. Guest rooms at our hotel near Keeneland feature stunning contemporary decor and high-tech amenities like LCD TVs and high-speed Internet access. Indulge in flavorful seafood, mouthwatering filets and decadent desserts at JW's Steakhouse, our famous restaurant, or enjoy appetizers and cocktails in JW's Lounge. Our Lexington Marriott is also home to indoor and outdoor pools, a fitness center, 18-hole golf course, full-service spa and 28,000 square feet of event space. Discover luxury, elegance and superior service at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Griffin Gate Hotel Lexington
Marriott Lexington
Lexington Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing