We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$174/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 05/08
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Lexington(Lexington)(Great Value!)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$84/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$253
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (820)
Filter reviews
820 results
Traveller rating
369
251
128
47
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
369
251
128
47
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe concierge loungebutter caketracking numberindoor and outdoor poolsmemory foamlong weekendbit datedmini fridgesouthern hospitalityfire pitnice propertykentucky horse parkbourbon trailoatmealshippingfedexwedding
Filter
Updating list...
511 - 516 of 820 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is a nice hotel and there is nothing glaring or negative about it - to me, and just my opinion, there is something a bit off with it...I dont know if it is the layout of the hotel or that it seems like an updated 1974 hotel???
The Good - my room had a Tempurpedic mattress or memory foam mattress which i enjoyed since it was a first for me - the pillows, room, tv, furnishings were all very clean and up to date - work desk area was nice with ample outlets...reading light on the side bed was nice as well
Tv is Direct Tv w a nice selection of stations
Concierge lounge was very big and spacious almost laid out like a restaurant and the customer service was very top notch - there seemed to be a full house of people in here sitting down when i was here
The Odd
With it being a Convention destination with the large meeting rooms = it seemed to attract the convention personell - almost felt as if i was at a Tobacco convention with the number of smokers that were gathered at the front door area the majority of the time but that was probably due to the conventions and people that had display booths set up throughout the lobby
Parking can be a challenge here if you arrive later in the day or night with a convention going on

Can be a bit noisy in the halls if there is a large group in also

Hotel is really clean and customer service is nice + check in was flawless

Workout facility is nice = did not use the spa

location for dining off site is not ideal but easy to get to some places within 15 minutes, nothing really close but a Dennys

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Engel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GriffinGate, Manager at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Hello Waxonwaxoff,

Thank you for staying at Griffin Gate Resort and for taking time to provide your review. We appreciate your compliments and apologize that we were so busy with groups during the timeframe you stayed with us. We hope that regardless of whether you are with a group or travelling individually, you will receive the same experience here.

With regards to the layout of our resort, shortly after our resort was built (1981), an additional wing of rooms was added. All of our guest rooms were completey renovated this past Spring and we will begin renovating our lobby, restaurant and lounge at the end of this year. This upcoming renovation will siginficantly update the look, feel and functionality of our lobby and public space and bring it more inline with the update appearance of our guest rooms and hallway corridors. We are very excited about these upcoming changes as it will create a new "Great Room" concept out of our lobby where guests have more seating areas and may be more inclined to spend time in these areas unwinding or gathering with friends.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you back again soon!

Dan Sirrine
Director of Operations
dan.sirrine@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

We could touch one bathroom wall to the other and it was impossible to enter without the toilet touching our legs. The coffee maker also is in need of updating, it was the same as in lower brand hotels. Service was good but these issues would keep me from returning.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank loudoncruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GriffinGate, Manager at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you for your recent review of our resort. Many of our rooms have small bathrooms and we would like to apologize for any inconvenience this caused your during your stay. We see many new hotels are building larger bathrooms and can certainly appreciate how this feature can be so helpful, particularly when more than one person is staying in a room.

Our coffee makers are one-serve units. These units are the approved coffee maker for all Marriott Hotels. Marriott did a great deal of research on this as they know that in-room coffee is one of the most important amenities to our guests. There were many advantages to our guests in converting to the current one-serve coffee machine, but the clear disadvantage is not making a larger amount of coffee. The actual coffee we serve is a blend of 30% sustainably grow Rainforest Alliance Certified beans from Nicaragua, 40% Colombian Supremo and 30% Sumatran. The Rainforest Alliance works to conserve biodiversity and ensures coffees are produced using environmentally friendly practices. The overall objective was to provide a high quality coffee with great taste, aroma, smoothness and complexity.

If I may assist you in any way in the future, please let me know. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again at Griffin Gate Resort.

Kind Regards,

Dan Sirrine
Director of Operations
dan.sirrine@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

If you are on a schedule, call for the luggage cart l o n g before you need it. We waited 20 minutes and went down to the lobby to see a cart sitting there stacked with papers. The staff did not seem to understand the urgency of our schedule.
This is a high dollar stay and they do NOT serve any breakfast, however there is a Starbucks in the lobby.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holdingthelines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GriffinGate, Manager at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Hello Holdthelines,

Thank you for staying with us and for your recent review of your experience. Please accept our sincere apologies for our service failure regarding your deaprture. It is always our intention to provide prompt, exceptional service and it is clear we missed the mark and held you up and we're very sorry for that. If you would like to send me a quick email and I would be happy to follow up with you further. In the meantime, we will share your comments with our team and learn from this.

Kind Regards,

Dan Sirrine
Director of Operations
dan.sirrine@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My family of 5 stopped here on a road trip. We needed a place to stay for a night and we just drove up to this hotel without a reservation. The staff was extremely helpful at check in. Our room was a nice size and the beds and linens were fantastic. We needed a crib and the housekeeping staff brought it promptly and set it all up for us. The kids loved both pools and we all had a good night's rest.

We left very early the next day to continue to our final destination. In our haste to get on the road, we left my daughter's beloved stuffed toy. In calling the hotel later that day, the staff quickly checked the room and called me back within only a few minutes...they found the stuffed toy and overnighted it to us. They saved the day! If you have small children, you know how critical a special toy can be. This hotel staff really went above and beyond for us...and yes, we will be quadruple checking for missing toys the next time we travel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Griffin Gate Marriott is easily located right of I-75 and near many of the Lexington Horse Country locations. It is situated with a golf course, which I did not have time to play. Our Fall location allowed for seeing some of Lexington's horse related events and the hotel staff was excellent in proding support. As a Lifetime Platinum member I also appreciated the Concierge lounge. They have recently undergone some significant renovations and the property is now up to the standards expected from Marriott.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be acceptable and have a view of the surrounding golf course.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lothar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews