We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #15 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My husband, myself and the kids stayed at this hotel for a conference. The hotel was very nice. Since we brought the kids it was very nice that the indoor and outdoor pools were open even at the end of September. The rooms were very clean and housekeeping did a very good job every day to make sure they stayed that way.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank SparkyGirl1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GriffinGate, Manager at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for your kind review of your resort! We do make every effort to keep our outdoor pools opened as late into Fall as possible for the vary reason you cited! We just closed our pool this week - and we always look forward to re-opening as soon as whether permits each Spring.

We really appreciate that you took time to provide this review - and thank you for choosing to stay with us!

Warm Regards,

Dan Sirrine
Director of Operations
dan.sirrine@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (785)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 785 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

Our recent stay and return trip to the Marriott Griffin Gate found their recent guest room remodel project finished and all the rooms looking wonderful and feeling comfortable.

I am not a big fan of the Temper Pedic beds, but others seem to really like them.

The rooms are beautiful and, as always, the staff is delightful and amenities very comfortable.

We went to the Griffin Gate with another couple, who also enjoyed their stay.

Their prices have been raised a little to reflect the remodeling, I presume. The increased price will likely prevent us from staying at the Griffin Gate as often as we'd like for a weekend getaway, but we cannot deny that the hotel is worth the price.

I still miss Xac at the Spa. She gave the best facials and advice.
The pool area was quite lovely for reading on a nice early Fall day.

Room Tip: On weekends, if you ask for the Concierge floor, you get a nice view of the grounds and a very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magsdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The service at this hotel was outstanding, from the check-in (which was the fastest, most efficient check-in I've experienced) to the fact that they shipped me an item I left behind in the room overnight at no extra charge. The staff was great to deal with both on the phone and while I was at the hotel. The rooms were large, clean, and comfortable (especially the beds). I walked away really impressed, which made me want to write this review. Overall a great experience and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is a nice hotel and there is nothing glaring or negative about it - to me, and just my opinion, there is something a bit off with it...I dont know if it is the layout of the hotel or that it seems like an updated 1974 hotel???
The Good - my room had a Tempurpedic mattress or memory foam mattress which i enjoyed since it was a first for me - the pillows, room, tv, furnishings were all very clean and up to date - work desk area was nice with ample outlets...reading light on the side bed was nice as well
Tv is Direct Tv w a nice selection of stations
Concierge lounge was very big and spacious almost laid out like a restaurant and the customer service was very top notch - there seemed to be a full house of people in here sitting down when i was here
The Odd
With it being a Convention destination with the large meeting rooms = it seemed to attract the convention personell - almost felt as if i was at a Tobacco convention with the number of smokers that were gathered at the front door area the majority of the time but that was probably due to the conventions and people that had display booths set up throughout the lobby
Parking can be a challenge here if you arrive later in the day or night with a convention going on

Can be a bit noisy in the halls if there is a large group in also

Hotel is really clean and customer service is nice + check in was flawless

Workout facility is nice = did not use the spa

location for dining off site is not ideal but easy to get to some places within 15 minutes, nothing really close but a Dennys

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Engel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GriffinGate, Manager at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Hello Waxonwaxoff,

Thank you for staying at Griffin Gate Resort and for taking time to provide your review. We appreciate your compliments and apologize that we were so busy with groups during the timeframe you stayed with us. We hope that regardless of whether you are with a group or travelling individually, you will receive the same experience here.

With regards to the layout of our resort, shortly after our resort was built (1981), an additional wing of rooms was added. All of our guest rooms were completey renovated this past Spring and we will begin renovating our lobby, restaurant and lounge at the end of this year. This upcoming renovation will siginficantly update the look, feel and functionality of our lobby and public space and bring it more inline with the update appearance of our guest rooms and hallway corridors. We are very excited about these upcoming changes as it will create a new "Great Room" concept out of our lobby where guests have more seating areas and may be more inclined to spend time in these areas unwinding or gathering with friends.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you back again soon!

Dan Sirrine
Director of Operations
dan.sirrine@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

We could touch one bathroom wall to the other and it was impossible to enter without the toilet touching our legs. The coffee maker also is in need of updating, it was the same as in lower brand hotels. Service was good but these issues would keep me from returning.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank loudoncruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GriffinGate, Manager at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you for your recent review of our resort. Many of our rooms have small bathrooms and we would like to apologize for any inconvenience this caused your during your stay. We see many new hotels are building larger bathrooms and can certainly appreciate how this feature can be so helpful, particularly when more than one person is staying in a room.

Our coffee makers are one-serve units. These units are the approved coffee maker for all Marriott Hotels. Marriott did a great deal of research on this as they know that in-room coffee is one of the most important amenities to our guests. There were many advantages to our guests in converting to the current one-serve coffee machine, but the clear disadvantage is not making a larger amount of coffee. The actual coffee we serve is a blend of 30% sustainably grow Rainforest Alliance Certified beans from Nicaragua, 40% Colombian Supremo and 30% Sumatran. The Rainforest Alliance works to conserve biodiversity and ensures coffees are produced using environmentally friendly practices. The overall objective was to provide a high quality coffee with great taste, aroma, smoothness and complexity.

If I may assist you in any way in the future, please let me know. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again at Griffin Gate Resort.

Kind Regards,

Dan Sirrine
Director of Operations
dan.sirrine@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

If you are on a schedule, call for the luggage cart l o n g before you need it. We waited 20 minutes and went down to the lobby to see a cart sitting there stacked with papers. The staff did not seem to understand the urgency of our schedule.
This is a high dollar stay and they do NOT serve any breakfast, however there is a Starbucks in the lobby.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holdingthelines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GriffinGate, Manager at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Hello Holdthelines,

Thank you for staying with us and for your recent review of your experience. Please accept our sincere apologies for our service failure regarding your deaprture. It is always our intention to provide prompt, exceptional service and it is clear we missed the mark and held you up and we're very sorry for that. If you would like to send me a quick email and I would be happy to follow up with you further. In the meantime, we will share your comments with our team and learn from this.

Kind Regards,

Dan Sirrine
Director of Operations
dan.sirrine@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My family of 5 stopped here on a road trip. We needed a place to stay for a night and we just drove up to this hotel without a reservation. The staff was extremely helpful at check in. Our room was a nice size and the beds and linens were fantastic. We needed a crib and the housekeeping staff brought it promptly and set it all up for us. The kids loved both pools and we all had a good night's rest.

We left very early the next day to continue to our final destination. In our haste to get on the road, we left my daughter's beloved stuffed toy. In calling the hotel later that day, the staff quickly checked the room and called me back within only a few minutes...they found the stuffed toy and overnighted it to us. They saved the day! If you have small children, you know how critical a special toy can be. This hotel staff really went above and beyond for us...and yes, we will be quadruple checking for missing toys the next time we travel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington
3.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Hyatt Regency Lexington
#7 of 71 in Lexington
1,090 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Lexington Downtown
Hilton Lexington Downtown
#12 of 71 in Lexington
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Campbell House, A Curio Collection by Hilton
3.3 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
#4 of 71 in Lexington
409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Conference Center North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 1800 Newtown Pike, Lexington, KY 40511-1330
Region: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Lexington
#13 Family Hotel in Lexington
Price Range: £143 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enveloped by the rolling hills of beautiful Bluegrass Country, Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa is a true urban oasis. Offering a secluded atmosphere yet convenient to area attractions, our hotel in Lexington, KY is ideal for travelers who value privacy and accessibility. Nearby points of interest include Kentucky Horse Park, Keeneland Race Track and the Kentucky Bourbon Trail, a collection of distilleries offering facility tours and tasting events. Guest rooms at our hotel near Keeneland feature stunning contemporary decor and high-tech amenities like LCD TVs and high-speed Internet access. Indulge in flavorful seafood, mouthwatering filets and decadent desserts at JW's Steakhouse, our famous restaurant, or enjoy appetizers and cocktails in JW's Lounge. Our Lexington Marriott is also home to indoor and outdoor pools, a fitness center, 18-hole golf course, full-service spa and 28,000 square feet of event space. Discover luxury, elegance and superior service at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Griffin Gate Hotel Lexington
Marriott Lexington
Lexington Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing