We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #18 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel updates are very pleasing! The staff and premises are inviting and make you feel comfortable right away. I had my granddaughters with me and the staff took time to recognize them which I appreciated, made them feel "special". Great place to stay!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank TNJudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (776)
There are newer reviews for Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 776 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

I've been going to the Kentucky Horse Park for decades as a competitor and spectator. Whenever I arrive it feels like I'm coming home. The staff are efficient, pleasant, and of the highest quality. Rooms are immaculate and the grounds are exquisite. Go. You'll love it, and so will your dog.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonicaElisePeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed here since it was the HQ hotel of the Run The Bluegrass half marathon a few weeks ago. Parking is plentiful, but don't be surprised if you have to walk a good bit to get to your car. Check-in was fairly routine. Standard rooms are just that . . . very standard. A bit on the smaller sized, and you had to make sure you were COMPLETELY in the bathroom in order to close the door. Not sure what mattresses they have switched to, but they seemed rock hard when we first sat on the bed. Sleep was OK, but I've been more comfortable at other locations. If we had been paying the standard rate for the room (vs. the discounted rate since this was part of an event), I would've felt ripped off. I know this resort has gotten some rave reviews and maybe if I utilized all of their services I would've felt differently, but it just seemed very average at best.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KYMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GriffinGate, Manager at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you KYMark for your review - and we hope you had a terrific experience running in the Run the Bluegrass Half Marathon! Thank you for taking time to review our hotel and for your thoughtful comments. We are in the process of upgrading all of our resort's mattresses to a new TemperPedic Cloud Supreme model. We current have these in over half of our rooms and will have 100% of our rooms fitted with these mattrresses very soon. The feedback has been outstanding as these are noticeably softer than the mattress you most likely had in your room. During our recent room renovation, we replaced all rooms with two double beds with larger queen beds. We believe we are the only full service hotel in the area that has 2 queen beds (vs. 2 double beds). The minor consequence of installing these wider mattresses is that is has taken a small amount of space from the rooms' seating area. And as you reported, our standard rooms do have smaller bathrooms. We hope that you will considering staying with us again and enjoying some of our resort's other features. We have just opened our outdoor pool and whirlpool - one of our more unique warm weather features. Thank you again for your review, and we hope to have you back again for next year's race!

Dan Sirrine
Director of Operations
Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa
dan.sirrine@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

White fenced property with ample green grass and stately grounds sets the mood for comfortable stay. The reception was efficient. The Concierge lounge was as good or better than most with excellent service and food and sufficient drinks. (In response to critics, the lounge is not supposed to be a restaurant, but only provides snacks). The rooms were comfortable and quiet. The fitness facility was top notch. I would definitely stay here next time I visit Lexington.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 32999B2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Hotel is not bad and fine for a family vacation but if you are staying here on business to take advantage of the Concierge lounge don't bother. I have stayed in many full service Marriott Hotels and the food in this one was AWFUL. In a nutshell the food is all frozen food or canned other than some fresh fruit for breakfast. Nothing is made in the hotel. Frozen potstickers. Frozen jalapeño poppers. Something frozen I could not identify. Frozen deep fried shrimp (breading). Canned soup. This place has put in some serious cost cutting measures in the concierge lounge and does not place the value on frequent travelers that I have seen at every other Marriott with a concierge lounge. Hope this is not a trend and this one just went rogue. I complained about the food and while the young manager was very nice, the food remained the same (frozen) the next two nights.

Room Tip: Some are more newly renovated than others.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crackerjack1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GriffinGate, Manager at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Crackerjack1234,

Thank you for posting your review and sharing your feedback. Please accept our sincere apology for the food that you mentioned in our concierge lounge. Our manager, who you spoke with during your stay, did take your feedback serious, and while we were not able to make immediate changes we have commited to making adjustments in our offerings moving forward. We do appreciate your feedback and the most sincere way to affirm this is to have it reflected in the changes we willl soon make. All of our soups are fresh, made from scratch. And despite the items that were served during your stay, our kitchen typically makes almost everything from scratch. Our most important guests enjoy our Concierge Lounge and we are commited to consistently reflecting this in our offerings.

Thank you again for bringing your concerns to our attention during your stay and also for sharing your experience with Tripadvisor members.

Kind Regards,

Dan Sirrine
Director of Operations
dan.sirrine@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Recent stay was very average. However, this may be due to the renovations going on at the time. Room was nice. Interesting bed. Upon laying on it, felt like a rock. However, in a few minutes it conformed to your body. I found it somewhat comfortable, my wife did not. We had requested foam pillows and they were on the bed upon check-in. Coffee in the morning was in a make shift bar area and was a bit unpleasant. Again, don't want to be too harsh as the hotel is clearly in the midst of physical improvements. Overall, I would give it another try post-renovation. The resort itself is in a lovely area of Lexington with easy access to the interstate.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GriffinGate, Manager at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate all of the great reviews of our resort and share this feedbacak with our team. I greatly appreciate you adding your experience.

I apologize for the disruption from our renovation. All of the work has been completed, so our full Starbucks coffee service has resumed in our newly renovated gift shop. In addition, we are replacing our mattresses with a much softer "Cloud Supreme" Temperpedic model. Guests have been very happy with these softer models and the feedback has been terrific.

Thank you again for your review, and we hope to see you back again soon!

Dan Sirrine
Director of Operations
dan.sirrine@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My wife and I spent a few hours at the spa just to get away for the afternoon. We arrived to the spa and were met (or not met, actually) by a couple of staff standing around talking behind the small counter. We weren't acknowledged until they completed their conversation.

I received an excellent "true grit" body treatment that included a massage. The therapist was very friendly and provided outstanding service. My wife had similarly good service for a mani/pedi; however, two days later the polish was chipping off to the point she had to remove it all.

The locker room was large but when I finished my treatment there were no clean towels, only overstuffed dirty laundry baskets. The place was clean but dated. The public/co-ed area was very busy with people coming and going who appeared to be staff. They'd pop in one door, walk through, and head out another. I can't say it was a relaxing atmosphere and that they say there are light refreshments may be a small stretch. Water and a few nuts if I recall accurately.

It's not an inexpensive spa and I can't say they value was there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelandDonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GriffinGate, Manager at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Hello RachelandDonny,

Thank you for your review of The Spa at Griffin Gate Resort and sharing your experience. While it sounds as if many aspects of your service met your exectations, clearly our team missed the mark in providing the level of service that both you and we expect. I apolgoze for falling short and for the issues with your mani/pedi. If you would please contact our Spa Director, Monica, I'm sure she would want to invite you back and make an arrangement to address these issues.

You are a valued customer and we hope to regain your trust in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards,

Dan Sirrine
Director of Operations
(859) 288-6128
dan.sirrine@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington
3.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Hyatt Regency Lexington
#7 of 71 in Lexington
1,037 reviews
3.3 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
#4 of 71 in Lexington
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Lexington
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Conference Center North
4.6 mi away
The Campbell House, A Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 1800 Newtown Pike, Lexington, KY 40511-1330
Region: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Lexington
#13 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range: £154 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enveloped by the rolling hills of beautiful Bluegrass Country, Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa is a true urban oasis. Offering a secluded atmosphere yet convenient to area attractions, our hotel in Lexington, KY is ideal for travelers who value privacy and accessibility. Nearby points of interest include Kentucky Horse Park, Keeneland Race Track and the Kentucky Bourbon Trail, a collection of distilleries offering facility tours and tasting events. Guest rooms at our hotel near Keeneland feature stunning contemporary decor and high-tech amenities like LCD TVs and high-speed Internet access. Indulge in flavorful seafood, mouthwatering filets and decadent desserts at JW's Steakhouse, our famous restaurant, or enjoy appetizers and cocktails in JW's Lounge. Our Lexington Marriott is also home to indoor and outdoor pools, a fitness center, 18-hole golf course, full-service spa and 28,000 square feet of event space. Discover luxury, elegance and superior service at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Griffin Gate Hotel Lexington
Marriott Lexington
Lexington Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing