We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, comfortable beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Jackson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay, comfortable beds”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Great location, close to local attractions. The beds were super comfortable. The indoor pool and hot tub are large and warm. The staff was very nice. They were sampling Makers Mark bourbon in the lobby in the evening. Great time, would stay again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jillmg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    228
    115
    45
    19
See reviews for
162
158
24
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My family and I had an awesome stay at the Griffin Gate Resort and Spa! Service and staff were great! We left behind a pair of glasses which they immediately found and shipped to us! Hope we have a chance to stay there again!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bolchoz12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is a lovely hotel with fantastic accommodations. I stayed here for 3 nights, and each night the quality and service was great. Upon checking out, I had forgotten my toiletry bag in my room. Once I had returned home and realized this, I called the Griffin Gate customer service, and they took care of everything. They even shipped back my toiletry bag via FedEx free of charge! Many thanks to the staff here at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a great location, central to many Kentucky must-sees like the Horse Park and the Bourbon Tour. Do not neglect to visit the downtown Lexington area for restaurants and shopping. We visited this hotel for three nights with another couple as Concierge level guests. We enjoyed the perks of the lounge, and managers reception, which was exceptional. The rooms were nice and the service friendly. If you go there for spa services, I'd recommend trying to book your services ahead. We found that they only had one manicurist working and were disappointed when we could not have the services we wanted. The pool area is nice, but there is no separate pool for spa guests. Try the bourbon cake in the restaurant. It is a huge piece that two can share...one of the best desserts ever.

Room Tip: Inquire about the concierge benefits planned during your stay. If you don't qualify with loyalty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxxpics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed at the Griffin Gate Marriott while in Lexington for a wedding. Our room was very comfortable and quiet. I slept great - comfortable bed and no hall noise.
Unfortunately we didn't make use of the pools. But the grounds were very pretty.
The staff was very friendly.
The price was also very reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiW4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this facility on a Friday night, while in town for a graduation, compliments of a voucher paying for our stay. Check in was easy, staff friendly and room was very nice. Starbucks in the lobby which opened at 6:30 if that's your style, coffee pot in the room and nice amenities. Several pools so it makes a nice place for families and just relaxation. The weekend we stayed seemed to be a very busy time for this Marriott. Would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cathe r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My stay at Griffin Gate was as a member of an extended family there to attend graduation at UK. Our hostess booked our rooms on the Concierge Wing and we were therefore entitled to many perks of being "concierge" guests.

The hotel, with its natural stone exterior is nestled into the woods of the Lexington, KY hillside. A major highway is at the end of the property but undetectable from the hotel itself. The lobby is large but is segmented into smaller, more intimate, seating areas. On one side steps lead up to an area where a group can gather for a private event or to watch a large screen TV.

Our room was large and well appointed although I was disappointed that there was no refrigerator nor microwave. The coffee maker and supplies are cleverly concealed in the dresser! We had queen size beds that were extremely comfortable. They were piled with pillows, both sleep size and smaller which could be arranged to make it comfortable to sit on the bed.

The bathroom was split with the tub/shower and commode behind a closed door and the vanity open. This arrangement allows for guests to get ready at the same time without having to wait in line to use the facilities.

The food is superb! Make sure you partake of the breakfast buffet - not only is there a vast variety of foods to choose from but you can also have an omelet made to order. Drinks are ordered at the table and you choose your food at the buffet.

We also ate a lunch at the bar that is tucked in next to JW's Steakhouse. I ordered a cheeseburger which came with fries. The cheeseburger was cooked to my specifications and was the largest one I have seen! Delicious!

The dinner menu at JW's is well rounded with a choice for every appetite. I highly recommend the French Onion Soup - perfection! Everyone was pleased with their selections. Our group grew from the eight for whom reservations had been made to close to twenty. They did not add wait staff but the one server we had managed the group quite well.

Amenities abound at Griffin Gate. Many made use of one or both of the pools, the jacuzzi, and the spa. There is a gift shop that actually has reasonable prices! Newspapers are available in the lobby each morning.

Some pointers:
- if you are in the Concierge Wing be prepared to walk!
- I love having really hot water in the room but be careful - the water from the sink was so hot you could be scalded if not careful.
- if you are there for a special occasion consider renting "The Mansion" which sits on the property. It is an old Southern Mansion that can be reserved for a dinner, reception, dance, etc. We were served a buffet dinner that was scrumptious! Don't miss out on the Kentucky Cake (not the exact name) - it melts in your mouth!

My lower rating of the cleanliness was due to our rooms not being cleaned; the hotel itself was very clean.

Things to do nearby:
- Kentucky Horse Park
- Makers Mark Distillery (a little farther away but a great tour)

Room Tip: Try to make your reservations for a room nearer the elevator if you are there on a busy weekend like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyre66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington
5.9 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Lexington
3.3 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
#3 of 71 in Lexington
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Hyatt Regency Lexington
#8 of 71 in Lexington
969 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center North
4.6 mi away
The Campbell House
The Campbell House
#18 of 71 in Lexington
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 1800 Newtown Pike, Lexington, KY 40511-1330
Region: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Lexington
#13 Family Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enveloped by the rolling hills of beautiful Bluegrass Country, Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa is a true urban oasis. Offering a secluded atmosphere yet convenient to area attractions, our hotel in Lexington, KY is ideal for travelers who value privacy and accessibility. Nearby points of interest include Kentucky Horse Park, Keeneland Race Track and the Kentucky Bourbon Trail, a collection of distilleries offering facility tours and tasting events. Guest rooms at our hotel near Keeneland feature stunning contemporary decor and high-tech amenities like LCD TVs and high-speed Internet access. Indulge in flavorful seafood, mouthwatering filets and decadent desserts at JW's Steakhouse, our famous restaurant, or enjoy appetizers and cocktails in JW's Lounge. Our Lexington Marriott is also home to indoor and outdoor pools, a fitness center, 18-hole golf course, full-service spa and 28,000 square feet of event space. Discover luxury, elegance and superior service at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Griffin Gate Hotel Lexington
Marriott Lexington
Lexington Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing