We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standard fare....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #15 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Baxter, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Standard fare....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed at Griffin Gate while attending a conference. Standard Marriott Resort. Nicely decorated in lobby, entryways, rooms, etc. Very small and cramped room (2nd floor) - nearly intolerable with two adults and one grown child. Very little window space, small balcony over interior lobby area. Small closet area. Very small bathroom. Shower temp and water pressure were fine. No fridge or microwave in our room. Beds uncomfortable and room noisy at night due to being 'over' the interoir lobby area. Very unhappy with room given to us, but I did understand that other rooms were larger and more comfortable. Pools,hot tubs, workout room, firepit area were clean. Plenty of seating/tables in outdoor areas. Fairly quiet outdoor areas. Poolside towels available. Did not use spa services or room service. Hotel restaurant is very good, but ran about $70 + for 3 course dinner meal - too high. Breakfast came free with our room - otherwise $15.00. Good breakfast buffet and service. No shuttle service to any attractions. No attractions within walking distance. Luggage carts unavailable to public (they're kept locked up) - for bellhop use only.

Room Tip: Wide variety of rooms. Be sure of what you're getting when you make reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WarmTread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GriffinGate, Manager at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful review and please accept our sincere apologies for the experienced with your guest room. The week of June 30, all of our beds are being updated to Temperpedic's Cloud Supreme brand - offering a much more luxurious and softer sleeping experience. As you learned, we do have rooms that offer a little more space for families that prefer more room. Thank you for your compliments of the other areas of our resort. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. Thank you staying with us and we hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance to you in the future, I hope you will let me know.

Sincerely,

Dan S, Director of Operations
Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa
dan.sirrine@marriott.com
(859) 288-6128
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    221
    107
    44
    19
See reviews for
153
152
23
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here from Thursday to Sunday for a regional business meeting to which families were invited. The pools were excellent (indoor and out) as were the rooms. Tempurpedic mattresses made for a restful night's sleep with no aching backs in the morning. My only quibble is that the bathrooms desperately need an exhaust fan. The steam from the shower quickly enveloped the room! Griffin Gate staff was friendly and helpful. The suggestions we were given for a local lunch were very different but both excellent representations of local Kentucky cuisine: The Blue Door Smokehouse and Saul Good. If you are looking for a place to stay in Lexington, I would highly recommend the Griffin Gate Marriott.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Great location, close to local attractions. The beds were super comfortable. The indoor pool and hot tub are large and warm. The staff was very nice. They were sampling Makers Mark bourbon in the lobby in the evening. Great time, would stay again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jillmg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

My family and I had an awesome stay at the Griffin Gate Resort and Spa! Service and staff were great! We left behind a pair of glasses which they immediately found and shipped to us! Hope we have a chance to stay there again!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bolchoz12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is a lovely hotel with fantastic accommodations. I stayed here for 3 nights, and each night the quality and service was great. Upon checking out, I had forgotten my toiletry bag in my room. Once I had returned home and realized this, I called the Griffin Gate customer service, and they took care of everything. They even shipped back my toiletry bag via FedEx free of charge! Many thanks to the staff here at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a great location, central to many Kentucky must-sees like the Horse Park and the Bourbon Tour. Do not neglect to visit the downtown Lexington area for restaurants and shopping. We visited this hotel for three nights with another couple as Concierge level guests. We enjoyed the perks of the lounge, and managers reception, which was exceptional. The rooms were nice and the service friendly. If you go there for spa services, I'd recommend trying to book your services ahead. We found that they only had one manicurist working and were disappointed when we could not have the services we wanted. The pool area is nice, but there is no separate pool for spa guests. Try the bourbon cake in the restaurant. It is a huge piece that two can share...one of the best desserts ever.

Room Tip: Inquire about the concierge benefits planned during your stay. If you don't qualify with loyalty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxxpics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed at the Griffin Gate Marriott while in Lexington for a wedding. Our room was very comfortable and quiet. I slept great - comfortable bed and no hall noise.
Unfortunately we didn't make use of the pools. But the grounds were very pretty.
The staff was very friendly.
The price was also very reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiW4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington
5.9 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Lexington
3.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Hyatt Regency Lexington
#7 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
#2 of 71 in Lexington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center North
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 1800 Newtown Pike, Lexington, KY 40511
Region: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Lexington
#13 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enveloped by the rolling hills of beautiful Bluegrass Country, Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa is a true urban oasis. Offering a secluded atmosphere yet convenient to area attractions, our hotel in Lexington, KY is ideal for travelers who value privacy and accessibility. Nearby points of interest include Kentucky Horse Park, Keeneland Race Track and the Kentucky Bourbon Trail, a collection of distilleries offering facility tours and tasting events. Guest rooms at our hotel near Keeneland feature stunning contemporary decor and high-tech amenities like LCD TVs and high-speed Internet access. Indulge in flavorful seafood, mouthwatering filets and decadent desserts at JW's Steakhouse, our famous restaurant, or enjoy appetizers and cocktails in JW's Lounge. Our Lexington Marriott is also home to indoor and outdoor pools, a fitness center, 18-hole golf course, full-service spa and 28,000 square feet of event space. Discover luxury, elegance and superior service at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Griffin Gate Hotel Lexington
Marriott Lexington
Lexington Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing