We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed my stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This hotel really has it all. If you are here for a business or pleasure I don't think that you will be disappointed. I was here for business and they have a great work area if you need to complete some things or meet with coworkers. I enjoyed the lunch and the breakfast bar that they had as well. But to best experience I had was the customer service from the front desk staff at check-in. Jeremy checked me in and was excellent. If I needed anything, these guys got it to me as quick as possible.

I have to also say that my room was excellent. Thanks Again for an excellent stay. I will definitely stay here the next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BigRobJ200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 786 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Needed a one night stop halfway between Hilton Head and home so thought we'd try Griffin Gate - we wish we had stayed there a few days instead of just one night. What a beautiful property! It's a big Marriott built around maybe 1980 I would guess but the lobby and rooms are all updated - very current, fresh and enjoyable. The golf course is on the property along with a nice pool and hot tub area. The grounds are well cared for and well manicured. The bed was outstanding and made up for the teeny tiny bathroom (updated but teeny tiny). Traveling with Fido so we ordered room service and it was delicious - dinner was served hot and arrived quickly. Hotel is on NE quadrant of Lexington so we avoided city traffic - especially New Circle. Would like to go back for a long weekend of golf and shopping downtown sometime soon.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClaireDeLune2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Generally we love Marriott hotels and this one was nice with a pleasant staff. However, I would rather take a beating than "sleep" on their bed again. My husband and I barely slept as the memory foam mattress or mattress top was hard and uncomfortable and left us feeling as if we had wrestled with someone instead of sleeping. Please Marriott, go back to the previous beds which were some of the most comfortable hotel beds we have ever slept on.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SouthernGirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GriffinGate, Manager at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Hi SouthernGirl28,

I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the bed in your room. We want all of our guests to have a great, comfortable nights sleep and I am very sorry you and your husband did not experience this. Would you please be kind enough to send me an email so that I can inspect the specific room and bed you were in. I understand it may simply be the style of mattress - but I would like to ensure the bed and mattresses are set up correctly. Please accept our sincerest apologies. We hope to see you again at Griffin Gate Resort in the future.

Kind Regards,

Dan Sirrine
Director of Operations
dan.sirrine@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Bed was wonderful! But bathrooms extremely small and had a not so clean smell. Hand towels need bleaching. Had to cut air way down to keep cool. Otherwise front desk friendly and room had a fridge in it. Nice room overall. Expected a little bit more for a Marriott!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tellinglikeitwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Newer hotels in the area get higher reviews, but this hotel offers conference amenities the others do not. The hotel has been updated and rooms are spacious and attractively decorated. Tempur-pedic beds are terrific -being a vendor made me happy to see all the rooms have them now. On my last visit, there were more choices for snacks/breakfast. That was a nice option that is gone.
The hotel employees are friendly and helpful and the pool and outdoor area is lovely.
My only complaint is the sad towels that should have been replaced ages ago. Country Inn and Suites have nicer towels. Come on, Marriott, you need to get rid of them and put in new towels that match the quality of your resort. Great bartenders, by the way!

Room Tip: All have Tempur-pedic beds. The king room was spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank boltsnnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Not only an excellent Resort they have a wonderful Spa. Al did a wonderful massage, Shamea did my facial and it was great Kym did my Man/Ped and my hands and feet feel soo good. This is the very best Spa that I have used. The Spa is very neat, clean and well kept. Everyone works well together. They are also careful on the products they use. The Concierge is great. A special thanks to Todd he does a great job keeping everything together. He makes you feel very welcome. With everything neat, clean, and well stocked The Resort is clean and up to date. Housekeeping does a great job. If you need anything it is only a call away. Wonderful bed. Lots of parking. Great area, so much to do. Enjoyed our 5 days here only wish it was more.

Room Tip: Stayed on the 4th floor facing golf course, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just stayed here two weeks ago. I did not sleep well. The beds are extremely hot. They have new Tempur- pedics beds. I actually have a latex mattress at my home. I thought because of this, sleeping would be no problem. I was extremely wrong. Pillow top mattresses are so much more comfortable. I feel Marriott is making a big mistake in doing this. I will next time not stay here just because of the bed. My husband was also having trouble sleeping because of the bed. The bathroom in my room had been remodeled but very small. The property is beautiful and the breakfast is also extremely good. The staff was very polite and friendly.
Nancy H from Indiana

Room Tip: Ask for the side of the golf course for your room. Less noise. The front is where they hold recepti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy53Hope_Indiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GriffinGate, Manager at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback on our TemperPedic mattresses. I have shared your feedback with our team and we are verifying that all of our beds are equipped with our pillow-top mattress pads. I am very sorry that you and your husband did not enjoy a good nights sleep! We appreciate your many compliments of our facility and staff and we will be sure to share this with our team. Thanks again for your review.

Dan S.
Director of Operations
Griffin Gate Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington
3.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Hyatt Regency Lexington
#7 of 71 in Lexington
1,122 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Lexington Downtown
Hilton Lexington Downtown
#12 of 71 in Lexington
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
#4 of 71 in Lexington
440 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Campbell House, A Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Conference Center North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 1800 Newtown Pike, Lexington, KY 40511-1330
Region: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Lexington
#13 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range: £128 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enveloped by the rolling hills of beautiful Bluegrass Country, Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa is a true urban oasis. Offering a secluded atmosphere yet convenient to area attractions, our hotel in Lexington, KY is ideal for travelers who value privacy and accessibility. Nearby points of interest include Kentucky Horse Park, Keeneland Race Track and the Kentucky Bourbon Trail, a collection of distilleries offering facility tours and tasting events. Guest rooms at our hotel near Keeneland feature stunning contemporary decor and high-tech amenities like LCD TVs and high-speed Internet access. Indulge in flavorful seafood, mouthwatering filets and decadent desserts at JW's Steakhouse, our famous restaurant, or enjoy appetizers and cocktails in JW's Lounge. Our Lexington Marriott is also home to indoor and outdoor pools, a fitness center, 18-hole golf course, full-service spa and 28,000 square feet of event space. Discover luxury, elegance and superior service at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Griffin Gate Hotel Lexington
Marriott Lexington
Lexington Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing