We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (830)
Filter reviews
830 results
Traveller rating
371
257
130
47
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
371
257
130
47
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe concierge loungebutter caketracking numberindoor and outdoor poolsmemory foammini fridgebit datedfire pitnice propertykentucky horse parkbourbon trailoatmealshippingweddingjohnsonconferencebellman
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 830 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2017

The property and lobby are beautiful. Service and guest rooms leave something to be desired. We upgraded to a balcony room and never used it. Small and dingy. We arrived on Friday the 15th for a weeks stay. Keep in mind this is one of busiest weeks in Lexington with the Keeneland horse sale going on. We pulled up with 4 huge bags and no valet in site!! We waited for over 10 minutes and when he did come they offered no help with our bags so we hauled them up on our own. Not a good start. There were at least 3 other times we had to search for valet person. No excuse for that in a 4 star resort. JWs lounge was great. Ate and drank there often. JWs steakhouse for breakfast -food was good. Service was not. Sat for 10 min before anyone acknowledged us. Spa was nice. Also change $7-$14 a day for internet. No free Wifi anywhere!! When we checked out no one asked how our stay was and again offered no help with our 4 large bags. Waited outside 5 more minutes for valet. We have travelled many places and stayed at many "resorts" and this one left a lot to be desired. Very disappointed.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms not worth it.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Hello Leslie and on behalf of our entire team here at Griffin Gate, we wanted to first of all apologize for any and all disappointment during your visit with us. We also want to thank you for taking your time to post such a thorough review of your visit so that we may share all comments with our general manager. Feedback like yours, the good and bad, is always appreciated as it supports our mission in continually improving. We're very sorry for the lack of bell staff available during your arrival and departure and most of all, we apologize that our team was not more attentive in offering a dialogue about your stay. We're truly sorry and we do hope you'll visit us again and experience a more typical Griffin Gate experience. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

I stayed here for 2 nights on September 15-16, 2017 with my wife and two kids ages 9-13. I stayed here before but it was over a decade ago so I thought I would try it again. The hotel lobby is very nice and it looks okay but its just time for a refresh in the rooms. The rooms are very small and very outdated. I would guess the room size is under 300 square feet including the bathroom and there is just not enough room for a family of 4 with two queen beds in the room to stay comfortably. The linens, towels and pillows were fine but the rooms just need to be updated. Our room included breakfast and the restaurant was good. We are also Marriott Platinum rewards members so we had access to the concierge lounge which is nice for light snacks or continental breakfast. Word to the wise though if you book a room package and pay extra for a room that includes the concierge lounge you will waste your money because its only open in the morning on the weekends for continental breakfast only. This was a big disappointment. The pool area's both inside and outside are also in need of a refresh. All in all its not bad place but its just looking tired and needs some upgrades. There is much better in the area for the same or less money. The Residence Inn down the street is a perfect example.

Room Tip: Don't spend money for a room that includes use of the concierge lounge if your stay is on the weekends.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank caymankid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Hello again and thank you for posting about your visit with us as well. We do sincerely appreciate your feedback and we'll be sure to pass all comments directly to our general manager for her review. On behalf of our entire team at Griffin Gate, we apologize for the disappointment and we do hope you'll visit again in the future. Thank you for visiting Lexington!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

We frequently stay at the Griffin Gate while visiting the Kentucky Horse Park. After a long weekend at the resort, we returned home to discover we had left an article of clothing at the hotel. I called the hotel and the front desk staff could not have been more helpful. They found the item and sent it too me promptly. It is always a pleasure to stay there, the staff goes out of the way to make us feel comfortable.
I wouldn't stay anywhere else if your traveling to Kentucky.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbrownallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Greetings and on behalf of our entire team here at Griffin Gate, we'd like to thank you not only for staying with us so many times in the past, but also for taking your time to offer such a lovely review. We're happy to hear your article of clothing was promptly returned after your visit, and we'll be sure to pass your kind words along to our general manager. Thank you again and we appreciate you being a valued Marriott guest. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Room was OK. A little smallish in contrast to newer hotels.

Very clean and well-serviced everyday. Only stayed two nights and suffered with a tub that took hours to drain after showering.

Bar was well stocked, comfortable, and bar snacks were good.

After evaluating advice on different rooms I upgraded to a balcony room overlooking pool and part of the golf course. We did not use the balcony because it was grimy, full of leaves and other debris, and seating was sort of shabby.

Room Tip: Dont bother with grimy balconies - not worth it.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mwilaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Hello and thank you very much for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to the Bluegrass. While we appreciate the kind four star review, we did want to apologize for the disappointment with your balcony. We have shared your comments with our general manager and want to thank you for offering your feedback. Once again, we appreciate you staying with us and we do hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

The grounds and lobby are excellent. The rooms are not! I had hair on the ceiling in bathroom(the ceiling is low) and in the shower and toilet. The bed was good but all Marriott beds are good. And the TV was large and HD. The furnishings were outdated! Need an update and better cleaning to maintain 4 star status.

Stayed: September 2017
2  Thank April C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Hello April and on behalf of our entire team here at Griffin Gate, we wanted to apologize for any possible disappointment during your visit. Also, we thank you, sincerely, for taking the time to post about your stay and for offering such a thorough review. Please know that we have passed all comments directly to our general manager for sharing. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and we thank you very much for visiting Lexington.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews