We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay.”
Review of Eighth Pole Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eighth Pole Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Lexington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eastlake, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay.”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This is our second year staying at the Swann's Nest. Although they are in the middle of renovations, the place still looks as good as it did the first year we stayed there. I can't wait for our stay next year and all the wonderful new things yet to come for Swann's Nest!

The rooms are very comfortable. The staff made us feel like we were family. There was nothing that my husband and I could have done to not feel welcomed. We were able to help ourselves to anything we wanted and the staff was readily available whenever there was a need. The breakfasts were wonderful and very filing. You did not walk away hungry. The staff and owners know the best places to eat and are willing to make reservations for you too.

My husband and I would highly recommend Swann's Nest if you are looking for a place to stay in the Commonwealth of Lexington. Plus, it is just in the backyard of Keeneland and a stones throw away from Kentucky Horse Park.

Room Tip: The prices for the rooms range differently depending on the size of the rooms, but they are all comp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    18
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
99
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Webster, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We drove down from Minnesota to Kentucky to visit the horse farms. Before leaving we had discovered Swanns Nest on line and once we arrived we were very happy with our choice. Everyone there was so welcoming and very hospitable. They made us feel like family. We just loved it! Wished we could have stayed for a week. Would highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast. Excellent breakfast and beautifully decorated rooms with comfortable bed and surroundings.
Looking forward to going back hopefully next April.
Huge plus: A stones throw away from Keeneland Race track. Peaceful, serene setting.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lee26123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Rooms kept unlocked, no key provided. Breakfast was eggs and bacon cooked by the horse trainer. Furnace malfunctioned, room was under 60 degrees. No employee available Saturday afternoon through our departure Sunday. No breakfast or coffee provided. We were promised a fire Saturday eve, but no one was available to make one. Snacks were a package of oreos, tootsie rolls and a container of gum. The complimentary bourbon was nice. Grounds are beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TessaHDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Enjoyed our time in Lexington, especially staying at Swann's Nest! The location is the best in the Commonwealth to go to Keeneland. It is also close to many of the other area attractions. The owners know where the best places to eat and will gladly make reservations for you. All in all, we go at least twice a year as well others times just to have a relaxing weekend. Thank you rosalie and jason for your hospitality!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icarus1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The house is on a great spot, not more than a couple miles (at most) from the back gate of Keeneland, so you can get in and out with no traffic. Easy to get to Lexington and the Bourbon Trail.

This isn't a pampering kind of B&B, but it's comfortable. it reminds me more of traditional B&Bs, being a working horse farm. Breakfast is fine, but not gourmet. Rooms are comfortable, and part of the house, not hotel rooms. That's what B&Bs are.

The main reason to stay here is to get to Keeneland and the surrounding area. Jason is a great host, and does a good job of welcoming people. If you want to know something about thoroughbreds, he obviously loves them and can probably answer your question.

This is the kind of b&b where you'll likely meet and talk to the other guests, enjoy a drink at the end of the day, and feel like you're visiting at a friend's house. If you don't like that, go somewhere else. If you have been to working farms that are b&bs, you'll like Swann's Nest.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmcadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

While this a great location for Keeneland Race Course, and we had a pleasant enough two night stay, we felt overall underwhelmed! On arrival we learnt that Rosalie who is glowingly mentioned on the website, is no longer there. Misleading, if that has influenced your decision to stay! Rooms are spacious and clean, however we were very aware of noise from neighbouring room and stairs on other side of our room. Breakfast was a very laid back affair, very much help yourself. Offerings were very standard, certainly no stand apart offering. Host mixed with guests, very easygoing and laid back, a real people person, perhaps more so than being big on detail. Common areas were open to all, including the resident dog, which some guests may or may not like. We felt the attention to detail promoted on the website with write up and photos fell short of the actual. In considering this option, please read other trip advisor comments and make the call, depending on personal preferences.

Room Tip: If neighbouring noise is an issue for you, avoid the room near the stairs, or what could be an inter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosemary040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Village
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We have been enjoying The Swann's Nest at Cygnet Farm for over a decade and don't hesitate for a moment recommending it to others. To be able to stay at a B&B on a thoroughbred horse farm just 5 minutes from the renowned Keeneland Race Course is priceless. In addition, the short drive to the track is on back roads totally surrounded by horse farms!

Rosalie Swann,the founder of the B&B, has just retired. We miss her dearly but she has passed management into very capable hands. Jason has been with The Swann's Nest for many years and has learned the business from top to bottom. He has brought about many wonderful changes. The house is now smoke free. He cooks a hot breakfast as well as offering a continental breakfast. The rooms and house are continually being improved and we believe you will enjoy a stay there as much as we have.

Swann's Nest has always felt like a "home away from home", and this atmosphere remains evident under Jason's strong management!

He is extremely knowledgeable on anything to do with Lexington, horses and horse racing. He is a licensed Thoroughbred owner.
If you want to make arrangements to visit a horse farm, he's the one to go to. He can tell you the best local restaurants and the area's greatest attractions.

All in all Lexington has the most beautiful horse country and the Swann's Nest at Cygnet Farm is the place to stay!

Karen & Hill.
Bay Village,OHWe have been enjoying The Swann's Nest at Cygnet Farm for over a decade and don't hesitate for a moment recommending it to others. To be able to stay at a B&B on a thoroughbred horse farm just 5 minutes from the renowned Keeneland Race Course is priceless. In addition, the short drive to the track is on back roads totally surrounded by horse farms!

Rosalie Swann,the founder of the B&B, has just retired. We miss her dearly but she has passed management into very capable hands. Jason has been with The Swann's Nest for many years and has learned the business from top to bottom. He has brought about many wonderful changes. The house is now smoke free. He cooks a hot breakfast as well as offering a continental breakfast. The rooms and house are continually being improved and we believe you will enjoy a stay there as much as we have.

Swann's Nest has always felt like a "home away from home", and this atmosphere remains evident under Jason's strong management!

He is extremely knowledgeable on anything to do with Lexington, horses and horse racing. He is a licensed Thoroughbred owner.
If you want to make arrangements to visit a horse farm, he's the one to go to. He can tell you the best local restaurants and the area's greatest attractions.

All in all Lexington has the most beautiful horse country and the Swann's Nest at Cygnet Farm is the place to stay!

Karen & Hill
Bay Village, OH

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Clark_Racing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lexington hotels
5.7 mi away
The Campbell House
The Campbell House
#18 of 71 in Lexington
653 reviews
7.0 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
#4 of 71 in Lexington
252 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Lexington
6.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Hyatt Regency Lexington
#8 of 71 in Lexington
968 reviews
5.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Lexington
Staybridge Suites Lexington
#27 of 71 in Lexington
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eighth Pole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eighth Pole Inn

Property: Eighth Pole Inn
Address: 3463 Rosalie Rd, Lexington, KY 40510-9738 (Formerly Swann's Nest Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Swann`s Nest b&b
Swann`s Nest Hotel Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing