We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not fault this Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kingsford Homestead
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Could not fault this Hotel”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

From the moment you arrive you are looked after. The bedrooms are large and very elegantly designed with spacious up to the minute bathrooms. The Hotel is set in stunning grounds with beautiful acacia trees and a bush bath for those who wish to get away from the Hotel and have a bath in a secluded part of the grounds overlooking the lake - definitely a must for romantics.

There is a homely sitting room with a help yourself bar, everything is included. We dined in the cellar and the food was seriously delicious and good and they have a excellent selection of wines to choose from. Breakfast was first class too.

The new swimming pool was just about to be finished when we stayed. There are some lovely walks around the grounds as long as you keep to the paths to avoid any snakes. This Hotel definitely on my tick list.

Room Tip: All rooms have an excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judy011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    2
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
41
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We finished out 2 week (Melbourne to Adelaide) holiday here and could not have chosen better. Kath and John are warm and genuine hosts. "Bubbles" in the lounge could definitely become a part of a permanent lifestyle. The house has been restored very well - the owners attachment to the property shows. All the rooms are different and good. The food is 5 star level and we were able to be separated into different rooms to eat - if we wished. There is the cellar... well I want one!, the dining room and outside on the terrace.
Will definitely try to come back! The pool is new and very relaxing after a hard day wine tasting.
It is expensive - but the Barossa is a foodies paradise - and you will find yourself spending much more $ by eating out at a restaurant.

Room Tip: Just take the name that suits you best. We did Stephen King - on the west side of the building. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kghk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We were lucky enough to be the only guests in residence, so we were spoiled rotten! The homestead is a real treat, a relaxing home from home. Kath and John were brilliant hosts, helping with advice on where to go and what to do .. as well as spending time simply chatting and sharing stories.The food was lovely - expect to put on a few pounds! A fabulous place to spend a romantic weekend.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, with the cottage adding a little extra privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coates2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Kingsford Homestead is a beautiful place to visit. We were taken on a tour of the property when we arrived and then left to relax and do what ever we wanted. The bush bath was lovely, laying in a bath with birds flying around, surrounded by nature and the sounds of the creek babbling was fantastic. The food, WOW so much and so good. I loved dinner in the stone cellar with tealight candles flickering all around us and the wines matched to each course. The rooms were elegant and very comfortable and beds were turned down every night. Our host were lovely and could not do enough for us. Its a must do if you love great food and wine.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janinewool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We were part of a group of 12 guest celebrating Jeannette's Birthday Party.
It could not be more perfect! Great Private Location. Great Rooms. Great Food. Great Hospitality.
Great Guests? All together a Great Long Weekend.
Do not know the Value as we were guests!

Room Tip: All rooms seems to be Great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miranda D, Manager at Kingsford Homestead, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you for staying with us! We so enjoyed hosting you all Petter, and we hope to welcome you back to Kingsford Homestead in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Kingsford Homestead is an amazing lifetime experience you won't want to miss. The accommodation is outstanding and Leanne and her team excel in providing exceptional service. The rooms are breathtaking with modern bathroom amenities. The dining is truly delicious and dinner in the cellar is a must. The gardens and scenery is picturesque, once you arrive you certainly do not want to leave.

What an amazing South Australian experience

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miranda D, Manager at Kingsford Homestead, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Leanne thoroughly enjoyed hosting you all too. Thank you for your kind words and we hope to welcome you all back to Kingsford Homestead and the beautiful Barossa Valley soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Truly an exceptional experience - beautiful accommodations in an historic setting, outstanding food, wine and service. So glad we had the opportunity of staying here and enjoying the surrounding scenery.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Watsonsgotravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingsford
7.3 mi away
Novotel Barossa Valley Resort
9.0 mi away
The Louise
The Louise
#1 of 2 in Marananga
297 reviews
8.6 mi away
Stonewell Cottages & Vineyards
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Lanzerac Country Estate
Lanzerac Country Estate
#1 of 14 in Tanunda
355 reviews
4.6 mi away
Barossa Pavilions
Barossa Pavilions
#1 of 5 in Lyndoch
146 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Paddocks
The Paddocks
#1 of 1 in Nuriootpa
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsford Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsford Homestead

Property: Kingsford Homestead
Address: Kingsford Road | Barossa Valley, Kingsford, South Australia 5118, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Kingsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Kingsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kingsford Homestead 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsford Homestead is an award winning, luxury country retreat - offering a boutique Bed and Breakfast package. We additionally offer an Exclusive Use package - all-inclusive food, wine and accommodation (14 guests). Located on the edge of the iconic Barossa Valley in South Australia, the picturesque 225 acre property is nestled amongst rolling hills on the banks of the North Para River. Just 45 minutes from Adelaide and yet you feel a million miles away. Sit under the veranda of the heritage homestead 'circa 1856' and enjoy outstanding wines handmade in the Barossa. Famous wineries such as Peter Lehmann, Yalumba, Rockford, Hentley Farm and Penfolds are a short drive from the property (10-15 minutes). Indulge yourself and experience one of the world's most beautiful award-winning al fresco baths, set in a secluded corner of the property. Take a picnic on the river. Take a balloon flight over the vines. Take your time. Gather beside a roaring fire and raise a ruby Shiraz to a diamond night sky. In summer, plunge into our opulent resort style swimming pool. Kingsford Homestead can accommodate up to fourteen guests in seven luxurious and individually decorated suites. It has been the home to a wealthy nineteenth-century pastoralist. It has been the television home of McLeod's Daughters. And now...it is yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Kingsford Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing