We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Retreat”
Review of The Hill House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hill House
Ranked #1 of 1 Loretto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiet Retreat”
Reviewed 9 November 2011

My husband and I needed a quiet getaway from everything normal at home....and boy did we get it! It was so nice to be away from the hustle and bustle of the city and see real stars and the gorgeous trees!! The Hill House was beautiful to stay in -- wood-planked floors, a huge room, real furniture and a gigantic bathroom. We loved the decor, the small touches, how clean everything was and the peacefulness. Terri made us awesome breakfasts every morning, made sure wine and cheese were out each night, and sent us off with some brownies for our drive home. Loved it!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank singinghope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
69
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bardstown
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2011

My sisters and I took a "girls weekend" and stayed at the Hill House. Hostess was great - very accomodating, friendly and answered any question we had. Wine and cheese were ready for us after we came in for the evening. Breakfast buffet served the next morning. Accomodations were wonderful - very clean, beautifully decorated home. Would stay again and would recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Thorobred room on first floor. Wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carson City, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

The Hill House was a great B&B that we found during our Bourbon Trail trip. The house is nice and we couldn't have asked for better service. Our hostess provided wine and cheese shortly after we arrived, and recommended several local restaurants. After we got back from dinner we enjoyed sitting out on the back patio with our hosts. Breakfast was wonderful with great food that was presented in an excellent fashion. A great place to stay if your visiting the area or touring the Bourbon Trail.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadgeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberlin, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2011

My husband and I came into town for a wedding and spent one night at The Hill House. It was a fantastic experience! The house itself is beautiful, with gorgeous antique furnishings as well as many modern touches. As soon as we arrived, Lisa Marie showed us around the house, then laid out a very nice spread of wine and cheese for us to enjoy before we left to go to the wedding. We really appreciated this, as we had just spent about seven hours in the car! Our bed was very comfortable and the house was very quiet, so we had a great night of sleep. When we woke up in the morning, there was a delicious gourmet breakfast ready for us. Our hostesses could not have been more friendly or charming. This is a truly wonderful place to stay and I would recommend it to anyone. You will definitely enjoy staying at The Hill House!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aheilman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2011

The accommodations and amenities are beautiful and thoughtfully done with much attention to detail; the food wonderfully delicious and elegantly presented; the hostesses are charming, helpful and attentive.
Our stay at The Hill House was lovely and delightful. We recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellaf16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

The innkeeper, Pam, was superb! The room and the inn were spotless. The decorating and amenities were lovely! The breakfasts were lush, gourmet, delicious, and beautifully presented! Pam was very helpful on what to do, as well as in every other respect. This is one of the best B&Bs we have been to in 20 years of vacationing!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveAGreatBnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2010

I was so impressed by this place. It was wonderful. The hostess was so nice and accomadating. Breakfast was excellent. Comfortable room, clean and quite. What more can you ask for. We did the Maker's Mark tour the next day and it was a perfect place to spend the night for that.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ijcoadot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loretto
12.6 mi away
General Nelson Inn
General Nelson Inn
#2 of 8 in Bardstown
399 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Bardstown
Hampton Inn Bardstown
#1 of 8 in Bardstown
725 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lebanon
Hampton Inn Lebanon
#1 of 2 in Lebanon
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Old Bardstown Inn
Old Bardstown Inn
#4 of 8 in Bardstown
92 reviews
24.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Elizabethtown
Hampton Inn Elizabethtown
#1 of 18 in Elizabethtown
357 reviews
12.0 mi away
1851 Historic Maple Hill Manor Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hill House

Property: The Hill House
Address: 110 Holy Cross Rd, Loretto, KY 40037-8010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Loretto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Loretto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our gracious home was built circa 1863. We have maintained the old charm of the civil war era while providing you with all the luxuries and amenities of today. We're nestled right in the heart of "Bourbon Country" and this makes for a perfect base for your daily travels. Our breakfasts are not only plentiful, but as delicious to the eye as to the pallet! We know you will find that our reviews speak for themselves. You will feel right at home at The Hill House! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing