We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect weekend getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hill House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hill House
Ranked #1 of 1 Loretto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
MidWest
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

Stayed at the B&B for one night, Saturday to Sunday while visiting distilleries on the bourbon trail. Would agree with the majority of the reviewers - excellent place to stay. The host called us to confirm check-in time on the day of arrival to make sure she would be around and ready for us. She was super friendly, showed us around the house and gave us suggestions for dinner (Hawk's Place, just a short walk down the hill, very laid back and casual, the steak and ribs are excellent!). When we came back, there was wine and plates with cheese / snacks waiting for us. It was nice and quiet, we spent the evening sitting outside on the patio with our friends. There was another couple staying that night. The house is absolutely spotless, they must clean it all the time. And even though it's a 100 years old, you could never tell - they completely remodeled everything. Kitchen is amazing and you can store your perishables and drinks in their gigantic fridge. The breakfast was great - beacon, hash browns, eggs, fruit (coffee and juice). The location is also perfect if you are doing the bourbon trail, Makers' Mark is only 15 min away.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the street side, but there is hardly any traffic so it's never noisy. Oak and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OlgasTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
67
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Schaumburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

The Hill House is located in the epicenter of Kentucky's famous Bourbon Trail, which makes visiting the distilleries easy. The rooms are lovingly designed and combine historical charm with modern amenities. Each room features a queen size bed, private bath, cable TV and a Wi-Fi connection. The formal dining room looks as if it’s right out of the Good Housekeeping Magazine, and the kitchen beautifully merges stainless steel appliances with country style. Not a speck of dust anywhere and our towels were replaced daily!

Terri Farmer is the ideal Kentucky innkeeper. Her Southern hospitality made us feel at home and her breakfast meals rival some of the best restaurants in the area. She charms visitors with her love of family, town history and home cooking.

This was our first bed-and-breakfast experience. After staying at The Hill House, it won't be our last!

The weekend experience is a memory to cherish

Room Tip: You can't go wrong. Every room is spotless, beautiful, and charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

My husband and I needed a quiet getaway from everything normal at home....and boy did we get it! It was so nice to be away from the hustle and bustle of the city and see real stars and the gorgeous trees!! The Hill House was beautiful to stay in -- wood-planked floors, a huge room, real furniture and a gigantic bathroom. We loved the decor, the small touches, how clean everything was and the peacefulness. Terri made us awesome breakfasts every morning, made sure wine and cheese were out each night, and sent us off with some brownies for our drive home. Loved it!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank singinghope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bardstown
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

My sisters and I took a "girls weekend" and stayed at the Hill House. Hostess was great - very accomodating, friendly and answered any question we had. Wine and cheese were ready for us after we came in for the evening. Breakfast buffet served the next morning. Accomodations were wonderful - very clean, beautifully decorated home. Would stay again and would recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Thorobred room on first floor. Wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
107 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

The Hill House was a great B&B that we found during our Bourbon Trail trip. The house is nice and we couldn't have asked for better service. Our hostess provided wine and cheese shortly after we arrived, and recommended several local restaurants. After we got back from dinner we enjoyed sitting out on the back patio with our hosts. Breakfast was wonderful with great food that was presented in an excellent fashion. A great place to stay if your visiting the area or touring the Bourbon Trail.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadgeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberlin, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

My husband and I came into town for a wedding and spent one night at The Hill House. It was a fantastic experience! The house itself is beautiful, with gorgeous antique furnishings as well as many modern touches. As soon as we arrived, Lisa Marie showed us around the house, then laid out a very nice spread of wine and cheese for us to enjoy before we left to go to the wedding. We really appreciated this, as we had just spent about seven hours in the car! Our bed was very comfortable and the house was very quiet, so we had a great night of sleep. When we woke up in the morning, there was a delicious gourmet breakfast ready for us. Our hostesses could not have been more friendly or charming. This is a truly wonderful place to stay and I would recommend it to anyone. You will definitely enjoy staying at The Hill House!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aheilman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

The accommodations and amenities are beautiful and thoughtfully done with much attention to detail; the food wonderfully delicious and elegantly presented; the hostesses are charming, helpful and attentive.
Our stay at The Hill House was lovely and delightful. We recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellaf16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loretto
13.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Bardstown
Hampton Inn Bardstown
#1 of 8 in Bardstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
12.6 mi away
General Nelson Inn
General Nelson Inn
#2 of 8 in Bardstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lebanon
Hampton Inn Lebanon
#1 of 2 in Lebanon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 8 in Bardstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
12.1 mi away
Old Bardstown Inn
Old Bardstown Inn
#4 of 8 in Bardstown
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
24.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Elizabethtown
Hampton Inn Elizabethtown
#1 of 17 in Elizabethtown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hill House

Property: The Hill House
Address: 110 Holy Cross Rd, Loretto, KY 40037-8010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Loretto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Loretto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our gracious home was built circa 1863. We have maintained the old charm of the civil war era while providing you with all the luxuries and amenities of today. We're nestled right in the heart of "Bourbon Country" and this makes for a perfect base for your daily travels. Our breakfasts are not only plentiful, but as delicious to the eye as to the pallet! We know you will find that our reviews speak for themselves. You will feel right at home at The Hill House! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your The Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing