We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hill House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hill House
Ranked #1 of 1 Loretto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Relaxing, wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Exceptionally clean, all the comforts of home. Lisa Marie was a wonderful hostess - Made sure all guests were comfortable, great tips for sight seeing and places to dine, breakfasts were delicious and kept you full all day. Excellent location - 10 min to Makers Mark, 20 min to Heaven Hill, numerous other local distilleries less then 30 min away. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Stayed in the Oak Room. Seemed one of the biggest, very comfortable with tv, WiFi, large tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
66
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sylvan Springs, AL
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Just returned from a long birthday weekend stay at the Hill House B&B. Lisa Marie was a delightful owner/innkeeper. The accommodations were excellent as were the breakfast meals. Lisa Marie was so helpful in sharing her knowledge of the area. It was a great help in planning our adventures! We will stay there again.

Lynn Carmichael and Chuck Ferguson

Room Tip: stayed in the Thoroughbred room on the ground floor. Excellent choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

I stayed in the Valentine Room. It was beautiful and nicely decorated. Lisa Marie is the perfect hostess! Breakfast was delicious. The Inn was very charming, spacious, and clean. Lisa Marie's southern hospitality makes you feel like you are home during your stay. It is close to bourbon trail. I would recommend staying at this B&B.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CinK0804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

This is was our first bed and breakfast experience. To say the least, it was phenomenal. The Hill House does everything they can to accommodate their guests' needs and more. Five minutes from the Makers distillery makes for a great location as well. Look forward to coming back already.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magheetah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

My friend and I took two days before a conference in Louisville to visit as many distilleries as we could. I selected Hill House for its location and description on the web site. Lisa Marie, the inn keeper, took over the job from her mother, who started the business. Lisa Marie suggested a dinner spot for us to stop on the way from the airport in Louisville, and it was wonderful. We arrived around 9 p.m. on election night, and curled up in the living room with our first taste of Kentucky bourbon to watch the election results. The next morning we were up early, to Lisa Marie's all home-made breakfast, which held us until dinner that night, another great suggestion! The 2nd night the inn was filled (all 4 rooms), and we had a delightful breakfast with others who were following the bourbon trail. We left early to work our way back to Louisville by late afternoon. I hope to visit again and bring my wife!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard_Temple_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at The Hill House for one night while touring the Bourbon Trail. We stayed in the Thoroughbed room. It was clean, nicely decorated, and spacious. The host was pleasant, funny, and very hospitable. The Hill House is less than a block from two restaurants/bars. We ate dinner at Hawk's Place and then hung out with the locals at The Cozy Corner Tavern. The next morning the host prepared us a delicious and filling breakfast. The entire experiance was truely wonderful and I can say without a doubt that we will be staying at The Hill House again soon.
P.S. The Hill House is only 3 miles from the Maker's Mark Distillery. The tour like the Hill House is a must do!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YanceyTuscaloosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

The Hill House was a great stay. The hospitality of the person that runs the b and b is genuine and generous. We stayed in the Thoroughbred Room which was perfect. Breakfast was delicious! The house is in close proximity to Heavenly Hill and Makers Distilleries. Perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjbaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loretto
13.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Bardstown
Hampton Inn Bardstown
#1 of 8 in Bardstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
12.6 mi away
General Nelson Inn
General Nelson Inn
#2 of 8 in Bardstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lebanon
Hampton Inn Lebanon
#1 of 2 in Lebanon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 8 in Bardstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
12.1 mi away
Old Bardstown Inn
Old Bardstown Inn
#4 of 8 in Bardstown
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
24.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Elizabethtown
Hampton Inn Elizabethtown
#1 of 17 in Elizabethtown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hill House

Property: The Hill House
Address: 110 Holy Cross Rd, Loretto, KY 40037-8010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Loretto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Loretto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our gracious home was built circa 1863. We have maintained the old charm of the civil war era while providing you with all the luxuries and amenities of today. We're nestled right in the heart of "Bourbon Country" and this makes for a perfect base for your daily travels. Our breakfasts are not only plentiful, but as delicious to the eye as to the pallet! We know you will find that our reviews speak for themselves. You will feel right at home at The Hill House! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing