We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fine for what we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center
Ranked #55 of 96 Hotels in Louisville
Southern IL
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Just fine for what we needed”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My daughter and I stayed here one night while attending the state fair. My friend had reserved this room at a non-refundable rate and then could not use it. the hotel management graciously allowed me to take over her reservation. The hotel and grounds were spotless, front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was spotless but had an odd odor. Refrigerator and microwave in the room but the lighting was awful! There is a small table with chairs but no light anywhere near. Beds and bedding were wonderful! We felt safe in the well lit parking lot, but to get to the fairgrounds advertised as "across the street" you have to cross the parking lot and cut through a fence to the Arby's parking lot, which made me uncomfortable. Also, the Freedom Hall is quite a hike from the hotel and I felt very unsafe walking alone with my daughter after dark back from the fair. They have a shuttle for the airport, I wished the had made it available to fair goers. While we didn't use the pool we did check it out. At first we thought it was a large hot tub, but it is just a very small pool...perhaps six people before it seemed crowded. I would stay here again but would probably drive to the fairgrounds rather than walk. Also, we travel frequently and this was one of the quietest rooms I have ever stayed in. We heard absolutely nothing from the hallway or adjoining rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgal143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSDF, General Manager at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Travel Gal,

Thank you for visitng us while you were here for the Fair. I am happy to hear that you found our hotel peaceful and spotless. Please stop by and see us the next time you are in town. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    55
    27
    8
    14
See reviews for
42
33
10
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Stayed 1 night lately for business. Day staff front desk don't understand what they do.

Night staff was the worst that I saw during the last 5 years. Didn't know how to print a statement, not available at the counter (was outside in her car), what shame for an holiday inn hotel.... I am a current Holiday Inn customer across North America but their quality accommodation is going down. I have to find another chain to meet my expectation, if you have any recommendation ?

Room Tip: Better hotel than that
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSDF, General Manager at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Michel R,

I apologize for the quality of service you received while staying with us. I would love the opportunity to speak with you regarding these issues, please call the hotel at 502.637.4500. Thank you.

Jeff Parrish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This holiday inn was nice on the inside. The staff, especially Jessica, were really good. But we did not feel safe with the parking lot.

We checked out and went to Comfort Suites and had a ball...

I'd advise those with a family or female companion, move past this spot until they get outside security for their parking lot.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Mark S,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berea, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I travel for business and stay and Holiday Inn frequently. This Holiday Inn is top-notch. New design, well maintained, great lobby and bar. Rooms are well decorated and clean. Bathrooms are very nice. A little tricky to get into the parking lot - access from Crittenden Drive near the Arby's. Didn't eat breakfast at location so unable to review.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KYMountainman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSDF, General Manager at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
KY MountainMan,

Thank you for recognizing our wonderful hotel and friendly staff. We will have a nice cold drink waiting for you the next time you are in Louisville. Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Hotel is reasonably new but not exciting: it's in a bit out of the way area though close to the airport 1.5 miles or so; you MUST have a car if you want to get to the next McDonalds, Denny's, etc. - nothing within walking distance aside the hotel's own restaurant...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank navratil46140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSDF, General Manager at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you for your high marks on our cleanliness and sleep quality. Next time you visit Louisville please give us the opportunity to earn your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
587 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The motel was picked for its location, but the welcome by the front desk was less than desirable; the man was not welcoming, abruptly answered by questions and did not thank me for booking a room. Hotel is relatively new; room was clean; but airplane arrivals were a little noisy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenBee0301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSDF, General Manager at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Queen Bee,

I am happy to hear that you liked the convenience and cleanliness of our hotel. I will also take your feedback back to my staff for training. Thank you for your buisness!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

I will definitely stay here again. Nice, clean rooms. Good service. Convenient to much of Louisville, especially the airport. You have to look for it from Crittenden Drive because another hotel sits between the hotel and the street.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiverRunner99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSDF, General Manager at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
River Runner,

Thank you for the feeback from your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and our convenient location. Please stop in and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Fairgrounds
Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Airport
Fairgrounds
Four Points by Sheraton Louisville Airport
South Side
Courtyard Louisville Airport
Courtyard Louisville Airport
#44 of 96 in Louisville
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairgrounds
Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center
Fairgrounds
Residence Inn Louisville Airport
Fairgrounds
Hampton Inn Louisville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center

Property: Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center
Address: 447 Farmington Ave, Louisville, KY 40209-1133
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Fairgrounds , South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to One of the Best of Louisville Airport Hotels! Set in the heart of Louisville's convention, sports and airport districts, the newly built, smoke free Holiday Inn Hotel at Louisville Airport - Fair / Expo has an ideal location. We're less than a mile from the Louisville International Airport (SDF) and near the attractions and businesses of Louisville, KY. Our hotel is a few miles from attractions like Six Flags Kentucky Kingdom and the world-famous Churchill Downs & Kentucky Derby Museum. You can spend the day cheering for the University of Louisville's Cardinals at Papa John's Cardinal Stadium or visiting Freedom Hall at the Kentucky Fair & Expo Center across the street from our hotel. The Louisville Zoo and local parks are just a few miles away. Business travelers benefit from our hotel's location near the Kentucky Fair & Expo Center, UPS, Ford, Brown & Williams, Louisville Naval Ordnance Station, the University of Louisville and other businesses in Louisville. Lodging here gives you access to our 1,892 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space and a 24-hour business center. Our exceptional hotel in Louisville features Kem's Cafe & Lounge, an indoor, heated pool and a 24-hour fitness center. For a well-appointed room with free high-speed Internet access, triple-sheeted bedding, a 32-inch LCD HDTV, a large work area, a microwave and a refrigerator, call our Louisville, KY hotel today to reserve a room for your next stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Hotel Louisville
Holiday Inn Airport And Fair/Expo Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing