We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service to Churchill Downs” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center
Ranked #59 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Central Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Service to Churchill Downs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

We spent one night at the Holiday Inn. It was fantastic, the staff was so helpful in restaurant suggestions, activities, and general promotion of Louisville. They shuttled us to Churchill Downs and then picked us up hours later. Nice clean rooms and friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelcoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSDF, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Travelcoug,

Thank you for your recent reveiw about the Holiday Inn Louisville Airport Fair/Expo Center. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass along your good comments to our staff. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Louisville. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    50
    25
    8
    13
See reviews for
39
32
10
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Proctorville, Ohio
Level Contributor
116 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed here only one night before flying out early the next morning. My only disappointment was that we were in a room with 'queen' beds. We had requested a king but weren't able to get it. The room was very spacious and clean on the plus side! I have no complaints as it was clean, big and had all the regular Holiday perks. It was very close to the airport and had complimentary transportation if you needed. There were a few restaurants within walking distance which made it easy to access!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caseynicole79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viareggio, Toscana, Italy
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Unable to retrieve my reservation although I have All the papers and numbers with me. Because of that they got me waiting for 40 minutes or more instead of giving me the room and do whatever they need to fix their problems.
Plenty of hotels near by. Do not go to them and being treated like that

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank CarmineLosco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear CarmineLosco,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns.

I am sorry to hear the troubles you had during your stay. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had with your reservation and deeply regret the poor service you received from our staff.

Your experience is definitely not reflective of the high standards that we usually pride ourselves with, as such your comments will be forwarded to the hotel's management and will be used to consider improvements where possible. We hope that you will still give us a chance and allow us to redeem your faith in our products and services.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel was in a great location. We were close to Churchill, Megacaverns and Wagners (our Louisville, Kentucky favorites). Parking was a little tough in early evening. Rooms were clean, pool was very small, but I would still recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brig1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSDF, General Manager at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Brig 1973,

I am happy to hear that our great location worked out well for you on your recent stay. I will be sure to share with our housekeeping staff that you appreciated their hard work. Please stop in and see us again on your way to Churchill Downs. Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tellico Plains, Tn
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed here one night for business. Hotel is situated between papa johns stadium and Fairgrounds/expo center. Very convenient if going to one of them places. Hotel is just off the main road that goes by there. Very easy to miss the turn, because it sits behind another hotel and you can't see it very well. Check in was excellent, staff was very friendly and helpful. Hotel and room was clean and comfortable. Downstairs there is a restaurant / lounge which looked very nice. Breakfast had a nice assortment, eggs, bacon, sausage and all the other stuff too. Didn't eat breakfast, I just went down there to get a milk. I was charged $3.50 for what looked like less than a pint of milk. So I could only imagine what the whole breakfast would of run me. My suggestion if staying here, bring your own food and drinks or go out. Other than that, hotel is very nice and would stay again when in area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vendetta_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSDF, General Manager at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Vendetta_75,

Thank you for letting the world know how your stay was with us. Just FYI our full hot breakfast buffet is only $9.95 so please join us for a meal the next time you visit Louisville. Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern IL
Level Contributor
130 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

My daughter and I stayed here one night while attending the state fair. My friend had reserved this room at a non-refundable rate and then could not use it. the hotel management graciously allowed me to take over her reservation. The hotel and grounds were spotless, front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was spotless but had an odd odor. Refrigerator and microwave in the room but the lighting was awful! There is a small table with chairs but no light anywhere near. Beds and bedding were wonderful! We felt safe in the well lit parking lot, but to get to the fairgrounds advertised as "across the street" you have to cross the parking lot and cut through a fence to the Arby's parking lot, which made me uncomfortable. Also, the Freedom Hall is quite a hike from the hotel and I felt very unsafe walking alone with my daughter after dark back from the fair. They have a shuttle for the airport, I wished the had made it available to fair goers. While we didn't use the pool we did check it out. At first we thought it was a large hot tub, but it is just a very small pool...perhaps six people before it seemed crowded. I would stay here again but would probably drive to the fairgrounds rather than walk. Also, we travel frequently and this was one of the quietest rooms I have ever stayed in. We heard absolutely nothing from the hallway or adjoining rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgal143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSDF, General Manager at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Travel Gal,

Thank you for visitng us while you were here for the Fair. I am happy to hear that you found our hotel peaceful and spotless. Please stop by and see us the next time you are in town. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Stayed 1 night lately for business. Day staff front desk don't understand what they do.

Night staff was the worst that I saw during the last 5 years. Didn't know how to print a statement, not available at the counter (was outside in her car), what shame for an holiday inn hotel.... I am a current Holiday Inn customer across North America but their quality accommodation is going down. I have to find another chain to meet my expectation, if you have any recommendation ?

Room Tip: Better hotel than that
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnSDF, General Manager at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Michel R,

I apologize for the quality of service you received while staying with us. I would love the opportunity to speak with you regarding these issues, please call the hotel at 502.637.4500. Thank you.

Jeff Parrish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Fairgrounds
Four Points by Sheraton Louisville Airport
Fairgrounds
Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Airport
Ramada Louisville Expo Center
#64 of 95 in Louisville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairgrounds
SpringHill Suites Louisville Airport
South Side
Courtyard Louisville Airport
Courtyard Louisville Airport
#43 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Fairgrounds
Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center

Property: Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center
Address: 447 Farmington Ave, Louisville, KY 40209
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Fairgrounds , South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to One of the Best of Louisville Airport Hotels! Set in the heart of Louisville's convention, sports and airport districts, the newly built, smoke free Holiday Inn Hotel at Louisville Airport - Fair / Expo has an ideal location. We're less than a mile from the Louisville International Airport (SDF) and near the attractions and businesses of Louisville, KY. Our hotel is a few miles from attractions like Six Flags Kentucky Kingdom and the world-famous Churchill Downs & Kentucky Derby Museum. You can spend the day cheering for the University of Louisville's Cardinals at Papa John's Cardinal Stadium or visiting Freedom Hall at the Kentucky Fair & Expo Center across the street from our hotel. The Louisville Zoo and local parks are just a few miles away. Business travelers benefit from our hotel's location near the Kentucky Fair & Expo Center, UPS, Ford, Brown & Williams, Louisville Naval Ordnance Station, the University of Louisville and other businesses in Louisville. Lodging here gives you access to our 1,892 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space and a 24-hour business center. Our exceptional hotel in Louisville features Kem's Cafe & Lounge, an indoor, heated pool and a 24-hour fitness center. For a well-appointed room with free high-speed Internet access, triple-sheeted bedding, a 32-inch LCD HDTV, a large work area, a microwave and a refrigerator, call our Louisville, KY hotel today to reserve a room for your next stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Hotel Louisville
Holiday Inn Airport And Fair/Expo Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing