We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE PLACE TO STAY WHEN ATTENDING EXPO EVENTS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center
Ranked #42 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Big Bear Lake, California
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“THE PLACE TO STAY WHEN ATTENDING EXPO EVENTS”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

For at least ten years now, I've stayed at the Crown Plaza (formerly the Executive Inn West) in connection with the Show of Shows militaria show at the Expo Center. We have usually had a room with two king size beds, which is very spacious and more than adequate to the needs of two persons for $100-110 per night double occupancy. There's free Wi-Fi, so none of the BS fees that so-called prestigious hotels and those in Vegas are somehow able to get away with charging. The restaurant is adequate, but better dining is only available by traveling downtown or elsewhere. The evening buffet is way over priced at $27, although I've had the breakfast buffet and I recall it being more moderately priced. Service, however, at the restaurant is usually friendly and attentive even at the busiest of times. Access to the Expo Center is easy, with shuttles running "on demand" throughout the day. On a nice weather day, it's even possible to walk back to the hotel in about ten minutes. The convenience store in the hotel is small and carries most "necessaries" needed by guests. There's also a small "snack bar" adjacent to the restaurant for those not wanting a full-blown meal in the restaurant. The hotel usually distributes USA Today to each room, but those wanting a quality newspaper will have to have the shuttle take them to the airport, where there is a newsstand just inside the doors with a full selection of major newspapers, such as the Wall street Journal. Lastly, the business center available to guests enables them to print out e-mails, boarding passes, etc. during their stay. The hotel is only minutes from the airport and the shuttle will make pickups with a simple call. The proximity of the airport, while a virtue, is also a downside due to the noise of the jets taking off. However, a set of earplugs can eliminate that noise and annoyance for most sleepers. All-in-all a convenient and satisfactory place to stay while at Expo Center events. I'll be back in fact in June for another convention at the Expo Center.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's a distance form the elevators, which are loud and obnoxious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nona826, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you so much for the great review, we are so pleased that you found everything you needed in our hotel or nearby, we look forward to your return,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    206
    120
    65
    48
See reviews for
152
89
21
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heflin AL
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here while we were attending the Louisville Gun Show and the hotel was full. But our stay was great from check-in with Adam till check-out. We were not bothered with airplane noises as we expected. The amenities were very nice and the bed was comfortable. We had a king suite and we really enjoyed the way the room was laid out. The room was spotlessly clean and we could have not asked for more. Don't hesitate to stay here! We will be back!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank yarmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nona826, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you so much for your great review of the Crowne Plaza Louisville, we are so pleased that you had a great experience from check in (with Adam) to check out and that you enjoyed the comfortable bed and the amenities available. We do look forward to you returning,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The hotel is decorated well and the outside area by the pool provides a nice place to relax. The front desk staff was really nice and helpful (thanks for the suggestion to order Bearno's Pizza). I stayed on the 5th floor and it was quiet. I thought I might hear planes since the hotel is by the airport but I didn't hear a thing. The room was spacious, comfortable beds and awesome hot water in the shower. I recommend getting coffee from the lobby deli- great taste and reasonable prices. I hope to stay there again next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kswalston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nona826, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear kswalston
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments regarding the Crowne Plaza Louisville, we are so glad you were able to relax by our pool and found us to be well decorated and your room to be spacious and comfortable, we do hope that you will return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Several of us from work have stayed here on a regular basis. They seem to consistently keep things upgraded. Nice rooms. Occasionally, this place fills with large groups using meeting rooms or fairgrounds. Bar has good food. Grab and go counter with food and drinks. Breakfast can be spotty/slow -- sometimes they have a buffet and sometimes not. Very convenient from airport. Exits from highway are a bit confusing, though, with fairgrounds, airport, and interstates all coming together there.

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor. Small windows on 1st floor make rooms feel a bit dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichmondCav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nona826, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
RichmondCav thank you so much for choosing the Crowne Plaza Louisville for your stay. We are very excited about our newest upgrades in our rooms and hope that you enjoy them during your next visit, i have passed on your comments to our Chef and of Food & Beverage Director, we are always happy to get the good comments and those that tell us where we need to focus our attention. Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to you returning,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Great hotel for the price and so convenient for the expo, you can actually walk to it across the street or take their free shuttle. Has a good restaurant as well. The rooms are very clean and quiet. The staff is very helpful although somewhat overwhelmed at times as it is so busy.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BolasdeMadera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nona826, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Louisville for your recent stay and for sending out the great review, we do hope that you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vine Grove, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed in a suite and loved how large it was. Beds were very comfortable. Staff very friendly everywhere we went including the restaurant. Pool even had a lifeguard on duty. We didn't need one, but still a rare sight to see. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 698AnnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nona826, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you so much for your great review of the Crowne Plaza Louisville, we are so glad you found our team to be friendly in all the departments you encountered and that you loved the suite! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Grove, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Hotwired for 90$. Normal price with all the taxes is about 150$. No problems. Just a very nice hotel very easy to access the interstate 65 ,expo center is 10 min walk.check in check out very easy,fast. Updated ,nice rooms.I have almost become a Hotwire customer for hotel stays exclusively,as long as I can check smoke free rooms.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nona826, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for your great review of the Crowne Plaza Louisville, we are so happy that Hotwire reservation brought you our way, we do hope that you will be able to return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
South Side
Courtyard Louisville Airport
Courtyard Louisville Airport
#44 of 97 in Louisville
251 reviews
Fairgrounds
Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Airport
Fairgrounds
Residence Inn Louisville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairgrounds
SpringHill Suites Louisville Airport
Fairgrounds
Hampton Inn Louisville Airport
Fairgrounds
Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center
Address: 830 Phillips Ln, Louisville, KY 40209-1330
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Fairgrounds , South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Louisville
#24 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#40 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 588
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of old-fashioned Southern hospitality at Crowne Plaza Louisville. We re located in the heart of Louisville, just minutes from the Louisville International Airport and major attractions like Six Flags Kentucky Kingdom, the Louisville Zoo, and the Kentucky Exposition Center. Take advantage of complimentary shuttle service. In true Southern style, we provide all guests with free rides to the airport and any destinations located within a three-mile radius of the hotel. Experience the difference a little extra space can make in our stylish guest rooms or magnificent suites. Featuring amenities like free high-speed wired and wireless Internet, well-lit, generously-sized work desks, flat-screen televisions, in-room movies, and coffeemakers, they're the perfect place to work or relax. With 28 meeting rooms and an incredible 55,000 square feet of flexible space, Crowne Plaza truly is The Place to Meet. Hold business conferences, wedding receptions, and social events in our world-class facilities. Cool off in the indoor/outdoor pool, or work out in our fitness center. Take care of tasks quickly by visiting the on site business center. Visit the Blue Horse to sip a night cap or have a hearty meal. Get a good night s sleep, get to Louisville s favorites hot spots, and get some assistance from your meetings director to make that on site business or social event a success all at Crowne Plaza Louisville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport Ky Expo Louisville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing