We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting!”
Review of Breckinridge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Breckinridge Inn
Ranked #66 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Holland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disgusting!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This hotel is disgusting! We booked two nights of 17 rooms for our high school JROTC program which was competing at the Army Nationals. This was our third year booking rooms at this hotel so you would think the hotel would make sure our rooms were clean and ready upon our arrival. We arrived around 2:45 and some of our rooms were still being "cleaned" Upon entering our room we discovered the room smelled very musty, there was thick dust all over the furniture, the inside of the toilet and sink had clearly not been cleaned for some time. The parents in the room next to us discovered the same filth inside the toilet and sink and found nail clippings on the floor next to the bed. After speaking with the other parents, we discovered they had the same complaints.
We are now searching for another hotel for next year's trip.

Room Tip: Don't choose any! They are dirty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    135
    92
    48
    51
See reviews for
163
87
25
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Catskill, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Great place to stay. Our first time was 3 years ago and it is even better now. Comfortable, clean, reasonable, and near everything. Friendly service. Live music. Overall excellent. Check out the nearby Amish Furniture Store, about a block away. We bought two awesome bookcases there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dscannap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I stayed 4 nights at the end of March and was very pleased. The room with King bed was clean and comfortable. My room was near the end of the hallway so it was quite. I found the location very convenient being right off the highway and near St. Matthews which was plenty of small local restaurants and 2 large malls (one with a nice movie theater). The pool was large and the hot tub was clean and hot. It was attended by lifeguards as I believe they sell pool memberships to the community. On the down side, the breakfast was free but did not many healthy options and the health club is poor - old equipment and not maintained. Overall for the price I was very pleased and would stay there again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell-UP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We were going to Church nearby, so the location was excellent for us. The room was fine - but the live band in the lounge played pretty late into the night - It seems like most of the guests liked it. It worked out fine.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrmigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayfield, Kentucky, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

At first glance Breckinridge inn looks OK; but from the moment I checked inn it went downhill.
The person at the front desk acted as if I was interrupting something important when I checked in, a performance that was repeated throughout my stay (if you could find someone at the desk).
Next the room, for a person over 6ft tall it was easy to see they never dusted the tops of anything, and worse there was dried flem in the bathroom sink! The room felt crowded and uncomfortable, worse the internet did not work forcing me to go to a coffee shop to to send and recieve important e-mails.
I spent 2 days there then went to another hotel I stayed at previously that was cheaper with better sevice just no pool.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Louisville hotels

Milwaukee, WI
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We had a tight budget for our trip to Kentucky, so we wanted to spend less than $60 a night, but we were not sure what to expect for that price. We were pleasantly surprised. The room was nice, we had a King bed. I found the mattress a bit stiff, but I also like my mattresses softer than most people, and my husband did not have a problem with it. They have a flat screen tv with a good selection of cable channels, plus two HBO channels. They also have free wi-fi which seems rare these days. The only downside is that the walls seemed a bit thin, because we could hear everything going on in the hall and the room next door. It is possible we just had especially noisy neighbors, though, and the hallway noise could probably be avoided by asking for a room on the second floor.

My husband and I like to go lap swimming several times a week, so we were really glad that they have an indoor pool with lap lanes. It is just short of 25 meters, maybe 22? Half of the pool is for lap swimming and half is for leisure. The pool was quite warm, which is probably really nice if you are just floating and relaxing, but was a bit warm for lap swimming. We still appreciated having lap lanes, though. Be aware that people in the area can buy memberships, and so the pool can get a bit busy. If you come around 5pm, be prepared to wait for a lane, especially since it seems like some people reserve lanes for people who do not appear to be waiting, so it is hard to know when you will be able to use a lane. If you go in the middle of the day, though, you will probably not have to wait long if at all. They also have a nice hot tub there, and it is a good place to talk to people that live nearby to learn about the area.

The breakfast is okay, it is mainly cold items like bagels and cereal, but they do have hot biscuits with gravy, which my husband thought were good. Plus it is free so it is hard to complain.

The hotel is located about 15 minutes from downtown, but it is right off the freeway so it is easy to get there. There are a lot of good restaurants nearby, especially if you go into St. Matthews. You will find a good combination of chains and independent restaurants there, and a lot of ethnic food. There is also a bar in the hotel, which was nice. The bartenders were friendly and they had a good selection at a reasonable price. We were there on a weekday, but apparently if you go on weekend there is a cover and a 2 drink minimum, because they have live entertainment, so be aware of that.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mkenaturegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AL
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The stay at Breckinridge Inn was fraught with many difficulties that made for an unpleasant stay (having to make both beds after finding hairs in the sheets and duvet covers because housekeeping had gone for the day, and other things). After emailing the General Manager concerning my displeasure, she immediately replied and did the best she could to make the situation better. Quite grateful that she did make an effort, because I really did not want to post the pics I took of everything that was wrong.

Room Tip: Ask for the hotel room to be far from the live band, if you're looking to sleep at night. Band s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinherenthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
South Side
Red Roof Inn Louisville Fair And Expo
East Louisville
Best Western Louisville East
Best Western Louisville East
#40 of 97 in Louisville
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Louisville
Red Roof Inn Louisville East
Red Roof Inn Louisville East
#51 of 97 in Louisville
265 reviews
East Louisville
Wingate by Wyndham Louisville East
East Louisville
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breckinridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breckinridge Inn

Property: Breckinridge Inn
Address: 2800 Breckenridge Ln, Louisville, KY 40220-1498
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > East Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Breckinridge Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breckinridge Hotel offers 123 guest rooms. We are a non smoking hotel located just six miles from the Louisville International Airport, Kentucky Fair and Expo Center and Kentucky Kingdom. We are also conveniently located to many restaurants, shopping malls, golf courses and hospitals. Only ten minutes from Churchill Downs, Louisville Zoo, KFC Yum Center and Louisville Slugger Field just to name a few. Enjoy a night at Jerry Greens & Friends with live entertainment, swim in one of our two large pools, relax in the whirlpool or get a massage at Body Integrations located in our Health Club area. Whether its business or pleasure we have something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Breckinridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breckinridge Hotel Louisville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing