We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Suite Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galt House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Galt House Hotel
Ranked #27 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Suite Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

The Galt House is in the heart of downtown Louisville and is connected to the Yum Center. We stayed in the suite facing the river..it was a beautiful room with a beautiful view. My boyfriend smokes and nowadays smoking is prohibited in most hotels, but with the private balcony he was able to smoke without going all the way down to the street. We had a wonderful experience at the Galt House and i would recommend it to anyone wanting the downtown Louisville experience.

Room Tip: if you smoke.. i would get a room with a private balcony.. there are two towers .. one of the towers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,318
    1,163
    668
    327
    204
See reviews for
700
786
137
1,390
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (915)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

I recently stayed at the Galt House Hotel for a conference. I booked at the last minute and was very pleasantly surprised at the quoted AAA rate for a regular hotel room with 2 double beds - $104 per night. Upon check-in they offered to upgrade to a suite for another $30, but I decided to keep the rate since I didn't plan to spend much time in my room. The room was in a tower across the street from the reception lobby, though access was easy through a walkway on the 3rd level.

This is an old-school historic hotel with doormen in uniforms and lots of smiling faces and helpful attitudes. The hotel was beautifully decorated for the holidays. My room was spacious and spotless with a gorgeous view overlooking the river. The towels were soft and fluffy, the bathroom was clean and roomy, the beds comfortable - though not extravagant. Overall, I was very happy with the experience and pleasantly surprised - a great value for the money I spent. One note - self parking in the attached garage is a reasonable $9 per night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river and on a higher floor - the views are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lebanon, KY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

Had a great time with my family...Great value with the Groupon deal. Kaleidoscope was a memorable experience for the kiddos. Awesome location in downtown Louisville...close to everything! We'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boohoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midwest
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

Stayed there on SUnday, Nov. 27 for one night. I noticed after arriving home...a few days later I had a rash on my left arm. Then little red bumps appeared on my legs, thighs, lower back. After researching on Mayo Clinic's site unfortunately my symptoms/red blood spots were identical to their photos on line. Yes, I'm upset. What I know for sure...I had no bites or symptoms prior to my stay. I have not reported as I doubt they would confirm if there have been previous reports of bed bug infestation in their establishment.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank solotraveler42302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

Clean, modern rooms and helpful staff. Great location with room views of the river. My first choice whenever traveling to Louisville.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jotterson01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississippi
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

We stayed at the Galt from Wednesday through Saturday of Thanksgiving week and were very pleased with our stay. The rate was excellent (2 for 1), the hotel was tastefully and seasonally decorated, the suite was large and comfortable, the view from the room of the river was delightful, the staff were friendly and helpful, there were plenty of onsite restaurants and bars, the parking and access were easy and reasonable, and the wi-fi was free. I hope we can return. Nothing to fear booking at the Galt Hotel and Suites.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

Everything was outstanding, from the doormen to the restaurant staff. It is a great hotel located right in the middle of Louisville downtown ambiance.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joediaz911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#19 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Aloft Louisville Downtown
Aloft Louisville Downtown
#26 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#10 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galt House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galt House Hotel

Property: Galt House Hotel
Address: 140 North Fourth Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Louisville
#22 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galt House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galt House Hotel, the Heart of Louisville, boasts 1,290 guest rooms and suites, 128,000 square-feet of convention space and more than 50 meeting rooms. Galt House Hotel features six full-service restaurants and lounges, including RIVUE, a 25th floor revolving restaurant with amazing cuisine, as well as the Rooftop Garden and Terrace, Club 360° Fitness Center and the three-story Conservatory that connects the two towers over 4th Street. It is connected to the KFC Yum! Center and the Kentucky International Convention Center, and within walking distance of Fourth Street Live! entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, Kentucky Science Center, Kentucky Center for the Arts, Louisville Slugger Factory and Museum and Frazier History Museum. It is also within walking distance of unique shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Galt House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galt House Hotel Louisville
Galt Hotel Louisville
Galt House Hotel And Suites
The Galt House Hotel
Galt House Louisville Ky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing