We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings”
Review of Galt House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Galt House Hotel
Ranked #27 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Evansville, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mixed Feelings”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Loved the hotel itself, had a few issues over the 4 days I was there that just sort of wore away the fun. If your fortunate enough to get a walk-in shower, I hope your back doesn't hurt because there is NO where besides the floor of the shower to set anything, the small soap dispenser wouldn't even accommodate my razor. The convention halls were freezing, and it's possible it was by design, but there was not one day I didn't freeze, by the last day I looked ridiculous because I was walking around with my outside coat on, but I wasn't the only one dressed like that either. And I opted for a room with a refrigerator...the microwaves are literally 20feet off the lobby so everyone gets to watch you heat up your food, talk about awkward. But the tv's do have HDMI hooks ups so I was able to watch stuff off my tablet on the big tv's in the evenings which was nice. I would stay here again if the convention was in this hotel but I would definelty bring warm sweaters and maybe some leggings.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,361
    1,192
    689
    338
    212
See reviews for
729
816
140
1,414
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (947)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ky.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The hotel is huge,but the room was no bigger than other places.The bed was super comfortable.The room was clean.No free breakfast,but the rate in the hotel for breakfast was reasonable.we were attending a game at the Yum Center,which was right next door,which was nice.There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gooddayb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I always request a view of the river and I'm never disappointed by the reservation. Although nearby traffic noise during peak times can be bothersome, the boats, lights and general ambience of the riverview overrules that. The rooms are topnotch for comfort and style and cleanliness is not a concern. The Skywalk connection provides easy access to the major meeting spots downtown and I feel completely safe when traveling alone. Try the Rivue restaurant for a unique experience--twin rotating dining rooms give you yet another unique view of the Ohio River. For a less pricing option, the Galt House offers a convenience store-like spot, bars and a café. Parking fees are nominal and easily accessed from the hotel for those traveling by car. Every time I visit Louisville, I stay at the Galt House.

Room Tip: Request the Rivue Tower for a great view. The Suite Tower is exactly that for those needing a sittin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IllianaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This is like two big hotels in one! It took awhile to learn our way around.
Our room was large and comfortable--nice bedding! I felt the staff had done a good job keeping things clean. The street noise became an issue, but was resolved when I turned the A/C unit on. We had a nice walk along the river, breakfast in Magnolia Cafe, dinner at
Jeff Ruby's and all was very good. A fun trip to a great city! I would stay here again.

Room Tip: West side has prettiest view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
225 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Let me start with the good. My room had a nice river view, the hotel's downtown location was good, and my room was spacious and nicely furnished. On the flip side, the hotel was huge and impersonal, the front desk staff were arrogant and unhelpful, there was a lot of road noise from a nearby freeway, and the beds were uncomfortable. And don't be fooled by the room rate-- if you want to park your car or use the Internet, there are hefty fees to do either of those.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Rams1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We had a question about our bill that took 3 months to resolve. We dealt with a dozen different people and kept getting passed from person to person. They wouldn't refund my deposit and I had to finally dispute charges with my bank. Would not return.

Location was convenient, but that is the best thing I can say.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kildare
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This is a tip top hotel, we stayed in the suites and my oh my the size of them is amazing. we had a lovely visit, everything was so comportable within the apartment. we had 2 large bedrooms, full mega sized lounge area. lovely kitchen/dining area. spotless clean. staff very helpful, housekeeping came in every day. full size service room with washing machine dryer. ironing etc.we had our balcony though traffic was very loud when that door was open. fully ac in apartment. we were on the th fllooor i think and the view was lovely. wonderful for entertaining

Room Tip: all suites excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#2 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#13 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galt House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galt House Hotel

Property: Galt House Hotel
Address: 140 N 4th St, Louisville, KY 40202-2910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Louisville
#22 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galt House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galt House Hotel, the Heart of Louisville, boasts 1,290 guest rooms and suites, 128,000 square-feet of convention space and more than 50 meeting rooms. Galt House Hotel features six full-service restaurants and lounges, including RIVUE, a 25th floor revolving restaurant with amazing cuisine, as well as the Rooftop Garden and Terrace, Club 360° Fitness Center and the three-story Conservatory that connects the two towers over 4th Street. It is connected to the KFC Yum! Center and the Kentucky International Convention Center, and within walking distance of Fourth Street Live! entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, Kentucky Science Center, Kentucky Center for the Arts, Louisville Slugger Factory and Museum and Frazier History Museum. It is also within walking distance of unique shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galt House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galt House Hotel Louisville
Galt Hotel Louisville
Galt House Hotel And Suites
The Galt House Hotel
Galt House Louisville Ky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing