We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was my 3rd stay at the Galt House and I continue to love the place..”
Review of Galt House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Galt House Hotel
Ranked #30 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I've stay at the Galt House at least 3 other times. Even though the fire alarm sounding was a big disruption to my sleep. I would stay here again, I love the rooms and the staff is always great. The beds are absolutely wonderful.

Room Tip: The river view is awesome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Audrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,852 - 2,858 of 4,100 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

It's 4:00 AM right now at the hotel, just wanted to rant my displeasure.
The room is spacious, but no microwave, no mini-fridge. One day my toothbrush and toothpaste disappeared. Tonight (or this morning) I was waken up by siren in the room. When calling the front desk, it was very rude. Also feel very cold in the room.

I am here on business trip. Just wished I did not book for next week.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here in an executive suite with the New Year's Eve package. The hotel made accommodations for us to be next door to another couple we were going with. The rooms were large and beds were comfortable. They had many things on site to keep us entertained. We were not able to reserve brunch till 3:00 the next day because we had booked so late, which we ended up skipping to get home to the kids. It was an expensive package for one night, but one time a year it is nice to live a little!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Extended business travel brought me to this splendid hotel in the heart of Louisville on the Ohio River. My suit was spacious, clean, and comfortable. Many choices of restaurants within the hotel, I mostly choose Café Magnolia, where the staff quickly knew me by name and had a special table for me.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The galt house in Louisville, Kentucky offers one of the best NYE parties, anywhere. You can purchase ale carte or all inclusive packages with one or two night stays in a suite, late 3pm NY day check out, includes parking, food-2 buffets, and plenty of finger foods/snacks, and with a 50.00 VIP ticket/per person-drink all you want from 3pm to 2am NYE, champaign, party favors. The down side is, the mattresses are too hard for a bad back, and if you have a complaint, there is no one who will respond, not even the CEO. The band for the main NYE party is the same every year. Although they do have 3 other parties going on at the same time....if you like Jazz.

Room Tip: inquire about the mattress...i have stayed at this hotel many times and i know that not all beds are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhea29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is an upscale hotel that primarily caters to business travelers/conventions, but it truly is enjoyable by everyone. Almost all the upper-floor rooms have a great view of either the city skyline or the river, and even its least expensive rooms are quite luxurious. It has two restaurants, two bars, and a 24/7 snack bar. You have to pay for parking but the garages are adjacent to the hotel so you don't have to walk very far. It has just about any amenity you could want, except I did not see an indoor pool. The price for this hotel is usually suprisingly reasonable given its upscale features. We've stayed there 6 or 7 times and never had a bad experience.

Room Tip: Since the hotel caters mainly to business travelers, we have twice stayed during holiday periods whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lloyd w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

I went to The Galt House for the Kaledoscope Christmas which was Great except that it was so hot in the auditorium but the rest was comfortable we had a Executive suite which was big and nice but had refrigerator but no microwave or bathtub in a this nice suite that had a living room dining area but small but nice Bathroom but no bathtub and the bedroom very nice but bed uncomfortable still very nice room staff nice just wish they had a microwave but not a deal breaker and look forward to going next Christmas

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andypandaNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 98 in Louisville
1,429 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 98 in Louisville
1,750 reviews
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 98 in Louisville
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#14 of 98 in Louisville
895 reviews
Central Business District
Aloft Louisville Downtown
Aloft Louisville Downtown
#23 of 98 in Louisville
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galt House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galt House Hotel

Address: 140 N 4th St, Louisville, KY 40202-2910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Louisville
#22 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range: £117 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galt House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galt House Hotel, Louisville's Waterfront Hotel®, boasts 1,314 guest rooms and suites, 130,000 square-feet of convention space and more than 50 meeting rooms. Galt House Hotel features six full-service restaurants and lounges, including RIVUE, a 25th floor revolving restaurant with head-spinning cuisine, as well as the Rooftop Garden and Terrace, Club 360° Fitness Center and the third-story Conservatory that connects the two towers over 4th Street. The Galt House Hotel is connected to the KFC Yum! Center and the Kentucky International Convention Center, and within walking distance of Fourth Street Live! entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, Kentucky Science Center, Kentucky Center for the Arts, Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory, and Frazier History Museum. It is also within walking distance of unique shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galt House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galt House Hotel Louisville
Galt Hotel Louisville
Galt House Hotel And Suites
The Galt House Hotel
Galt House Louisville Ky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing