We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sheets” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galt House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Galt House Hotel
Ranked #27 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sheets”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

The sheets on our King Size bed were obviously not the right size. Flat sheet on the bottom did not cover the mattress and top sheet inadequate as well. No mattress cover on the mattress. Sheets were probably queen size flat sheets. Unacceptable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewardess1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
We are sorry about the issues with the sheets. We will forward this information to our housekeeping department so that the issue may be addressed and corrected. Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,317
    1,163
    668
    327
    204
See reviews for
700
786
137
1,389
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (914)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Came to Louisville for business. Stayed at the historic Galt House next to the river. Outstanding. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The elevators are fast. The employees I encountered were all service oriented and very friendly--they must take happy pills to be in such good moods. Definitely coming back.

Room Tip: Ask for the river/city view on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredMilitary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us and for your feedback. We are so pleased to hear you had a great visit. I'd like to show you our gratitude, would you please send me an email directly at abrauer@ajshotels.com so I may send you a token of appreciation. Thank you, Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh PA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Really struggled with a 3 or a 4 star here. Stayed here for a conference and had a very good time. We had a suite with 2 "queen" beds but I think they may have been full size.

Positives:
-Everyone we met was incredibly friendly and helpful
-Bed was very comfortable
-Bathroom was spacious and laid out well
-Separate living room with lots of space to work and spread out
-WiFi worked really well
-Really cool bourbon bar in the hotel
-For being right in downtown, parking was very affordable
-Great location for a conference, nice meeting rooms, easy to get around, UPS store right in the hotel
-Location is really easy to get to and semi-convenient (Louie Links, an indoor walkway that runs all the way down to 4th street live, is awesome in the winter. But it's still a 10 minute walk to most of the good restaurants)

Cons:
-For being down on the river, the view was just OK. The hotel is perpendicular to the river, not parallel, so you don't get great views of the river. We were just looking at the Yum Center
-The fridge was so big it didn't fit in its assigned space (good and bad I guess)
-No Starbucks in the hotel! (You can walk to one in the convention center via Louie Links though. The coffee at the local coffee shop was not good, even though the service was very good.
-The "convenience" store in the hotel closed pretty early in the day.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jfranco77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

I have grabbed this place on priceline a couple of times when places by airport are full. This hotel is huge with two towers. Cool bar in between the two. Relatively easy to access if you hit the right exit. You will find that interstates and downtown Louisville somehow don't mix well--you can't get there from here! Good, basic hotel I have used for 1 night on a couple of occasions.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichmondCav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Excellent business hotel but would also be good for a weekend getaway. Though it's not old, it has a sense of style. Friendly bar in the atrium with a decent wine selection. Several restaurants plus a bourbon bar. Large, nicely appointed rooms, good WiFi. Outstanding fitness center with panoramic views. No pool though. Negative: two towers. If you're in one tower and want to get to the other (say, to go to the gym), it's a long schlep. Good value. Previous night I stayed in a suburban Hyatt for close to the same price, and the Galt House had a much better vibe.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Seitchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tompkinsville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Everything about our 3 day stay at the Galt was excellent. Parking was easy, check-in, check-out, room service, cleaning service. Not one negative thing to say. I dont understand why the reviews are not better than they are. I was a little leary at first about staying because some of the negative reviews but we were with a group so we didnt have much choice. Glad they chose the Galt! Had a great time. Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnfusmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay with us, we look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upton, Kentucky
Level Contributor
87 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Just stayed at the Galt House for a school related event. I was impressed with the rooms. We stayed in the suite rooms which were very roomy and comfortable. Bathrooms were large and very clean. Beds were comfortable and i loved the bedding which was thick and looked expensive.
All of the hotel staff we had contact with were helpful and courteous. They were polite even though they were dealing with 4000 students, teachers and chaperones who had endless requests.
We ate at Cafe Magnolia for lunch. Food was very good and our service was quick.
Overall it was a great experience and can't wait to stay there again

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We strive to provide excellent customer service to all our guest. Cafe Magnolia is delicious and we're glad you enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#10 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#19 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Aloft Louisville Downtown
Aloft Louisville Downtown
#26 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#9 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galt House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galt House Hotel

Property: Galt House Hotel
Address: 140 North Fourth Street, Louisville, KY 40202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Louisville
#22 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galt House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galt House Hotel, the Heart of Louisville, boasts 1,290 guest rooms and suites, 128,000 square-feet of convention space and more than 50 meeting rooms. Galt House Hotel features six full-service restaurants and lounges, including RIVUE, a 25th floor revolving restaurant with amazing cuisine, as well as the Rooftop Garden and Terrace, Club 360° Fitness Center and the three-story Conservatory that connects the two towers over 4th Street. It is connected to the KFC Yum! Center and the Kentucky International Convention Center, and within walking distance of Fourth Street Live! entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, Kentucky Science Center, Kentucky Center for the Arts, Louisville Slugger Factory and Museum and Frazier History Museum. It is also within walking distance of unique shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Galt House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galt House Hotel Louisville
Galt Hotel Louisville
Galt House Hotel And Suites
The Galt House Hotel
Galt House Louisville Ky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing