We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel but long waits”
Review of Galt House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Galt House Hotel
Ranked #30 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The hotel was very nice, clean, and the attendants were helpful and friendly. Check-in was not adequately staffed, so it took 30-45 min. for me to get checked in with our large conference group. Also, the number of elevators (for the capacity of the hotel) could not keep up with the need during busy times. I took to the stairs a few times, and it was not uncommon to wait 15 or more minutes to get on the elevators. There were a number of eating locations in the hotel, but many were $$$. Economical food options were limited, but Thelma's Deli at the Conservatory had some. The enclosed skyway was a great option for getting to the convention center, and it felt safe.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Perfy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,825 - 2,831 of 4,165 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

I recently spent four days at the Galt Hotel in Louisville, KY. Not only was the ambience relaxed and elegant, the staff on all levels were excellent.

The rooms were large and spacious, clean and beautiful. The food was excellent in the restaurant.

Concierge and bell staff as well as those at the reservation desk were helpful, courteous and informed.

I look forward to my next visit to the city and the Galt House.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank president2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate your feedback. We'd like to show you our gratitude for your shining review. Would you please email me directly at abrauer@ajshotels.com. Thank you, Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Three of us from our church attended a Assembly there in Louisville,Ky. We stayed at the Galt House and was able to walk to the convention center. I have never seen staff so friendly & nice as they were. I would love to go back to stay there again and experice the beauty of the hotel and the nice, friendly, helpful staff.The room was also made us feel like we were in heaven.

Room Tip: The room was very quiet and a beautiful view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you so much for your feedback! We appreciate you staying with us. Would you please email me directly at abrauer@ajshotels.com. I'd like to give you a token of our appreciation. Thank you, Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed in the suite for a large meeting. It had lots of space and was very comfortable. Wish it had a microwave. The frig was nice. Our large convention backlogged the elevator and hotel eateries so a microwave would have been a nice addition. I would definitely stay there again though. It also had breathtaking views of the city and the river.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19Nana61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again next time you're in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I was blessed to spend one great night at the Galt House on Fourth Street in Louisville, Kentucky. I had a wonderful night of rest and found the hotel to be superb. I was able to catch the bus system from the airport and the driver put me off just one block from the Galt. The check in was great and everything went very well during my entire stay. I was sorry that I was not able to stay longer because all the rooms were taken because of the Kentucky Derby week. I would indeed love to stay at the Galt House again.

Room Tip: You must book early if you hope to get a place in this great hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you next time you're in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Our Executive King room was Beautiful and roomy. The bed was very comfortable and everything so clean. The only somewhat negative comment is, all of the pillows were very high and we prefer a less smaller pillow and prefer down. There wasn't a choice in the room, but next time we will just take our down pillows from home with us. The view is very nice all around the hotel and it's a nice stroll down to 4th street Live. Great Place, you won't be disappointed, and the restaurant "The Rivue" on the 25th floor has Amazing food and an Amazing dining experience with rotating floor.

Room Tip: The Executive King room is very large. View was nice from any area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PD C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate all your feedback. Would you please email me directly at abrauer@ajshotels.com so that we may give you a token of our appreciation. Thanks, Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

very nice hotel! great suite with lots of room! staff was very nice and helpful. very close to all of downtown Louisville and the start of the marathon! appreciated the help from the staff in finding my way around town and to the race!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for staying with us! We hope your race went well and that we'll see you next time you're in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 98 in Louisville
1,476 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 98 in Louisville
1,772 reviews
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 98 in Louisville
2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Aloft Louisville Downtown
Aloft Louisville Downtown
#20 of 98 in Louisville
184 reviews
Central Business District
SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galt House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galt House Hotel

Address: 140 N 4th St, Louisville, KY 40202-2910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Louisville
#22 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range: £113 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galt House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galt House Hotel, Louisville's Waterfront Hotel®, boasts 1,314 guest rooms and suites, 130,000 square-feet of convention space and more than 50 meeting rooms. Galt House Hotel features six full-service restaurants and lounges, including RIVUE, a 25th floor revolving restaurant with head-spinning cuisine, as well as the Rooftop Garden and Terrace, Club 360° Fitness Center and the third-story Conservatory that connects the two towers over 4th Street. The Galt House Hotel is connected to the KFC Yum! Center and the Kentucky International Convention Center, and within walking distance of Fourth Street Live! entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, Kentucky Science Center, Kentucky Center for the Arts, Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory, and Frazier History Museum. It is also within walking distance of unique shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Galt House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galt House Hotel Louisville
Galt Hotel Louisville
Galt House Hotel And Suites
The Galt House Hotel
Galt House Louisville Ky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing