We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, the Galt House is a very wonderful place to stay!”
Review of Galt House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Galt House Hotel
Ranked #30 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The Hotel is an updated older Hotel which means it has a lot of charm which I appreciate. The reservation gal was rather curt and a few staff were not very friendly. But many staff members were exceptionally nice which made all the difference. I enjoyed the unique shops and ate at several of the restaurants. Overall, we enjoyed the Galt House and will hopefully be able to return in the near future.

Room Tip: Escalators lead to the second floor which was my room floor preference since I do not do elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joylovepeace7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We appreciate your feedback. I'd like to show our gratitude, would you please email me directly at abrauer@ajshotels.com. Thank you, Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,093)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,748 - 2,754 of 4,093 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

The Galt House provided us with very nice accommodations convent to downtown Louisville. It is close to the convention center.
Our room in the east wing was very large, a suite. The placement of the bedroom away from the hallway allowed for very quiet nights.
The furnishings and fixtures were modern and new. The linens were clean and in good shape. The bathroom was very large. The room had a refrigerator and safe. There were two TV's, one in the bedroom and one in the sitting room. In-room wireless worked we'll and was free.
The things that kept me from rating the Galt House excellent are 1) they charge to use the exercise facilities and 2) their reception and checkout really got choked-up when our conference attendees arrived and left, leading to very long waits.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank swj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again next time you're in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stay for four days at this hotel while in Louisville for business. Aside from one or two people, I was incredibly under-whelmed with the customer service. The staff at the deli in the atrium made me often feel like I was interrupting their personal conversations to make a purchase and the front desk was downright rude when I asked for simple things like where to get a band-aid or if I could have more then THREE hangers in my room.

Rooms themselves were large and clean. Room service food options were limited.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

We are sorry that your stay did not meet expectations. We will pass your feedback on to the proper managers. I'd like to offer you a token of gratitude for you staying with us. Would you please email me directly at abrauer@ajshotels.com. Thank you, Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Great hotel. Old and nostalgic. Very clean, and rooms are spacious. Location was beautiful with lots to walk to and enjoy. The front desk personnel were great and the bell personnel were well trained and very friendly. Overall this hotel was an excellent and experience and i would highly recommend.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank amymarie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We hope you had a fantastic Derby experience and picked the winning horse! In order to show our appreciation, would you please email me directly at abrauer@ajshotels.com. Thanks, Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed here as a couples get-away. The location is great for downtown attractions. The property was nice, although we felt the West tower was showing some age, maybe reminiscent of southern decorating motifs of the late 70s or early 80s. We wondered what the rooms in the East tower were like????

The room was unusually large, and the workout facility was great - lots of equipment, plenty of space, and great views while exercising.

Room Tip: The pool is outdoors - so don't even think you are going swimming if it is winter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank WI87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again next time you're in Louisville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The hotel was very nice, clean, and the attendants were helpful and friendly. Check-in was not adequately staffed, so it took 30-45 min. for me to get checked in with our large conference group. Also, the number of elevators (for the capacity of the hotel) could not keep up with the need during busy times. I took to the stairs a few times, and it was not uncommon to wait 15 or more minutes to get on the elevators. There were a number of eating locations in the hotel, but many were $$$. Economical food options were limited, but Thelma's Deli at the Conservatory had some. The enclosed skyway was a great option for getting to the convention center, and it felt safe.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Perfy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I recently spent four days at the Galt Hotel in Louisville, KY. Not only was the ambience relaxed and elegant, the staff on all levels were excellent.

The rooms were large and spacious, clean and beautiful. The food was excellent in the restaurant.

Concierge and bell staff as well as those at the reservation desk were helpful, courteous and informed.

I look forward to my next visit to the city and the Galt House.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank president2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaltCustomerCare, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate your feedback. We'd like to show you our gratitude for your shining review. Would you please email me directly at abrauer@ajshotels.com. Thank you, Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 98 in Louisville
1,424 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 98 in Louisville
1,748 reviews
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 98 in Louisville
1,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#15 of 98 in Louisville
894 reviews
Central Business District
Aloft Louisville Downtown
Aloft Louisville Downtown
#23 of 98 in Louisville
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galt House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galt House Hotel

Address: 140 N 4th St, Louisville, KY 40202-2910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Louisville
#22 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range: £116 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galt House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galt House Hotel, Louisville's Waterfront Hotel®, boasts 1,314 guest rooms and suites, 130,000 square-feet of convention space and more than 50 meeting rooms. Galt House Hotel features six full-service restaurants and lounges, including RIVUE, a 25th floor revolving restaurant with head-spinning cuisine, as well as the Rooftop Garden and Terrace, Club 360° Fitness Center and the third-story Conservatory that connects the two towers over 4th Street. The Galt House Hotel is connected to the KFC Yum! Center and the Kentucky International Convention Center, and within walking distance of Fourth Street Live! entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, Kentucky Science Center, Kentucky Center for the Arts, Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory, and Frazier History Museum. It is also within walking distance of unique shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galt House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galt House Hotel Louisville
Galt Hotel Louisville
Galt House Hotel And Suites
The Galt House Hotel
Galt House Louisville Ky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing