We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with Charm in the City”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Galt House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Galt House Hotel
Ranked #26 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Milwaukee
1 review
“Hotel with Charm in the City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I was looking for a hotel with more charm then the typical chain hotels we usually stay at on the road. This hotel was perfect. It was right in the center of downtown Louisville. Within walking distance to restaurants and sites. The hotel had many wonderful features like a rooftop pool and a lounge. The beds were so comfortable. Really cool hotel that I'd like to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vanessa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Your experience is precisely the type we hope to provide to every single guest staying with us. We are very proud of the charm our hotel has and appreciate when guests see that as an added bonus. Thank you very much for taking the time to sing our praises and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,337
    1,173
    675
    332
    205
See reviews for
709
799
139
1,404
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (928)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Clean and welcoming. Ask for a room with a view of the river. Short walk to several tourist attractions. Horse and buggy ride was available in the front for those wishing to tour this way. Wi fi connections available.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
hank you for staying with us and taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We hope we get the opportunity to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Bluff, Tennessee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

The staff was nice but the conservatory was a joke very very tiny and the fish tank was nothing much to see. The rooms were very clean but the advertised gueen bed was the smallest gueen I had ever slept in and not very confortable The hallways were hot. and Everything was overpriced. Now I did visit the restuartant on the roof and while expensive it was worth it cause it was special .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kd5d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Our best customers are the ones who offer us feedback that we can improve upon. Thank you for taking time to share about your stay at the Galt House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I was here for a convention. The hotel was lovely and the staff helpful and pleasant. The view of the Ohio river from my 17th story room was beautiful. The enclosed walkway connecting the hotel and the convention center was a big plus on rainy mornings and warm afternoons.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I checked 5, but it would probably be 4.5. We had a few problems with Housekeeping (they forgot to provide a spare toilet tissue, did not replace glassware once, etc.), but in fairness to the hotel, whenever I called, they responded immediately and brought several times what we requested (extra toilet tissue, more glassware than we needed). I have stayed at the Galt House several times for the AP (Advanced Placement) Reading and am thrilled to be provided with such fine accommodations. My roommate and I were lucky enough to have a two-room suite providing us plenty of space. The beds were very comfortable--something we appreciated after our long days reading student essays. The views of the river are great and Al J's bar connecting the two towers of the hotel is wonderful. It's such a fun place. I am a bit disappointed that there is an extra charge for the health club (exercise facilities), but the hotel is so close to the river (beautiful!) that I just took walks instead. I noticed new sofas and chairs this year, too, and hope the somewhat run-down carpeting is next on the agenda. It's a great place to stay and right in the heart of Louisville.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tresvivace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor. As a hotel we are constantly attempting to improve our property. The efforts are ongoing and hope that you find it much improved upon your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gedera, Israel
Level Contributor
149 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Excellent downtown, riverfront location, 1300 spacious and well fitted rooms, comfortable beds and seating arrangements, slight touch of grandeur, ample parking (Valet costs 18 per day), great 25th floor revolving restaurant and very ample breakfast.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a view on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baruch M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for the great review! We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayfield
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

The Galt House Suites is amazingly comfortable, check in was effortless and the staff is helpful and friendly. Our room was bright, clean and very comfortable. I enjoyed the pizza at Thelma's Deli and lunch and Dinner at Cafe Magnolia. I had their fish sandwich and fries for lunch and an Asian chicken dish for diner, both were extremely well prepared, hot when brought to me and very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay with us. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and our restaurants! We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#2 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#10 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galt House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galt House Hotel

Property: Galt House Hotel
Address: 140 N 4th St, Louisville, KY 40202-2910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Louisville
#22 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galt House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galt House Hotel, the Heart of Louisville, boasts 1,290 guest rooms and suites, 128,000 square-feet of convention space and more than 50 meeting rooms. Galt House Hotel features six full-service restaurants and lounges, including RIVUE, a 25th floor revolving restaurant with amazing cuisine, as well as the Rooftop Garden and Terrace, Club 360° Fitness Center and the three-story Conservatory that connects the two towers over 4th Street. It is connected to the KFC Yum! Center and the Kentucky International Convention Center, and within walking distance of Fourth Street Live! entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, Kentucky Science Center, Kentucky Center for the Arts, Louisville Slugger Factory and Museum and Frazier History Museum. It is also within walking distance of unique shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galt House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galt House Hotel Louisville
Galt Hotel Louisville
Galt House Hotel And Suites
The Galt House Hotel
Galt House Louisville Ky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing