We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service/accomodations”
Review of Galt House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Galt House Hotel
Ranked #28 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Glasgow, Kentucky
1 review
“excellent service/accomodations”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

very nice pool area, and pool bar. great added value for a downtown hotel, and overlooking the river. the restaurant on top of the hotel was an added attraction, and has a great bourbon bar to experience the taste of kentucky

Room Tip: great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for the great review! We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,385
    1,199
    701
    346
    217
See reviews for
741
837
140
1,424
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (961)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here for a lacrosse tournament. We booked through that tournament and were pleasantly surprised at how nice, enjoyable and comfortable this hotel was. There were plenty of areas to get together with othe people for a drink or dinner, and our kids were able to order pizza for themselves from Thelma's. The rooms were some of the nicest I've stayed in, without being pretentious.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Naomi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay with us, we look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I was there June 7-21, 2014 for a conference. Everything very very good. Housekeeping and conference-meal (and resturant), wait-staff awesome, friendly, helpful. Don't know how much regular rates are.

Room Tip: I stayed in suite-tower; very nice. I read about noise from other rooms, but I didn't hear any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kadinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for the review! We look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a big hotel so it can be loud in the public spaces. But it is a great location, and for its size the staff really keeps things clicking along. The rooms are a good size, very comfortable and fairly quite!

Room Tip: Had to adjust the AC vent to keep it from blowing directly on me as I slept but otherwise it was jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for your review! Our employees really are the heartbeat of this hotel. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Louis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

hotel was clean and most staff were friendly, one was quite rude to our bus driver in front of our guests. Furnishings and accomodations were nothing spectacular. Quite run down over all. Location was fine, but there are other hotels in the area that seem to be closer to the action and reputable brands. Unless you can get a good cost, nothing unique or special about this stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor, we've noted the improvements we need to make and hope that you find it much improved upon your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I was looking for a hotel with more charm then the typical chain hotels we usually stay at on the road. This hotel was perfect. It was right in the center of downtown Louisville. Within walking distance to restaurants and sites. The hotel had many wonderful features like a rooftop pool and a lounge. The beds were so comfortable. Really cool hotel that I'd like to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vanessa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Your experience is precisely the type we hope to provide to every single guest staying with us. We are very proud of the charm our hotel has and appreciate when guests see that as an added bonus. Thank you very much for taking the time to sing our praises and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Clean and welcoming. Ask for a room with a view of the river. Short walk to several tourist attractions. Horse and buggy ride was available in the front for those wishing to tour this way. Wi fi connections available.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
hank you for staying with us and taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We hope we get the opportunity to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#2 of 95 in Louisville
1,847 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#10 of 95 in Louisville
1,317 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#19 of 95 in Louisville
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#13 of 95 in Louisville
865 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galt House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galt House Hotel

Property: Galt House Hotel
Address: 140 N 4th St, Louisville, KY 40202-2910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Louisville
#22 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galt House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galt House Hotel, the Heart of Louisville, boasts 1,290 guest rooms and suites, 128,000 square-feet of convention space and more than 50 meeting rooms. Galt House Hotel features six full-service restaurants and lounges, including RIVUE, a 25th floor revolving restaurant with amazing cuisine, as well as the Rooftop Garden and Terrace, Club 360° Fitness Center and the three-story Conservatory that connects the two towers over 4th Street. It is connected to the KFC Yum! Center and the Kentucky International Convention Center, and within walking distance of Fourth Street Live! entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, Kentucky Science Center, Kentucky Center for the Arts, Louisville Slugger Factory and Museum and Frazier History Museum. It is also within walking distance of unique shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Galt House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galt House Hotel Louisville
Galt Hotel Louisville
Galt House Hotel And Suites
The Galt House Hotel
Galt House Louisville Ky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing