We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Hotel”
Review of Galt House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Galt House Hotel
Ranked #31 of 102 Hotels in Louisville
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Very crowded!! Staff had no idea where anything was and not knowledgeable. Parking is a disaster and way overpriced! The hotel is way too big and there are no signs as to where things are located. Guaranteed to get lost. Waiting for an elevator takes at least 10 minutes because there are so many people. You are then stuffed into a hot, stuffy, tiny elevator that has 20 something floors so hope that you are on a lower floor

Room Tip: The beds were very uncomfortable. Good luck sleeping! Random circus music blasts throughout the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Our best customers are the ones who offer us feedback that we can improve upon and we've noted your suggestions. Thank you for taking time to share about your stay at the Galt House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,783 - 2,789 of 4,234 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

The room we had was small but nice. The motel itself is exceptional on the inside. The staff and location is great. We price lined the room and get it for a very cheap price. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Price line
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry6004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you for your review of your stay with us, we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

If you want to enjoy your stay in Louisville, please stay at the Galt House. It is a very clean, beautiful hotel with easy access to downtown restaurants and attractions. The views from the hotel rooms overlooking the Ohio River are beautiful. The staff is very friendly, the food is delicious with a wide range of choices, and the prices are very reasonable. The down comforters are exquisite.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Suzanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thank you for staying with the Galt House Hotel. We appreciate your wonderful feedback and hope you'll visit us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The large rooms with wet bar and fridge in the separate living area make this the perfect place to stay when traveling for business or pleasure in Louisville. The rooms on the suite side are bright, well maintained and HuGE! The rooms and lobby on the West side are starting to show their age a little but still a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Stay on the suite side. For the few extra dollars it is the perfect place when traveling on business...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tommy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thank you for your review of your stay with us, we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Needs a facelift. I like staying there in the past because the singers from the national quartet convention stay there, but that's about it. Some of it is really old and dated. Some of the rooms have nice views of the ohio river.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TideFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

As a hotel we are constantly attempting to improve our property. The efforts are ongoing and we appreciate your review. Our views, as you mentioned, are outstanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Staying at the Galt Hotel in Louisville, KY was the perfect answer to the questions, "where can we stay that has a scenic view of the Ohio River, is within walking distance to major attractions, and will allow us to feel like pampered guests?", all with a more that reasonable fee for the quality of the service and the comfort of the room.

Room Tip: Our room had a great panoramic view of the Ohio River which added that Wow-factor to our trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeepjeepIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Your experience is precisely the type we hope to provide to every single guest staying with us. Thank you very much for taking the time to sing our praises.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel has been built into the Louisville infrastructure with a major road running through it and a riverside location.
One feels like one is in a bit of time warp. Strange features like aviaries and a bar with a fish tank in the counter add to the incongruity of the experience.
I stayed for business because the conference was at the same hotel. It's huge and the conference facilities are OK. The food was OK. The service was.... OK
The rooms were huge but fittings poor and had a rather unnatural smell.
I will not return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

As a hotel we are constantly attempting to improve our property. The efforts are ongoing and we appreciate your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 102 in Louisville
1,515 reviews
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 102 in Louisville
2,067 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#20 of 102 in Louisville
1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
#4 of 102 in Louisville
1,374 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Aloft Louisville Downtown
Aloft Louisville Downtown
#14 of 102 in Louisville
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galt House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galt House Hotel

Address: 140 N 4th St, Louisville, KY 40202-2910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Louisville
#22 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range: £98 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galt House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galt House Hotel, Louisville's Waterfront Hotel®, boasts 1,314 guest rooms and suites, 130,000 square-feet of convention space and more than 50 meeting rooms. Galt House Hotel features six full-service restaurants and lounges, including RIVUE, a 25th floor revolving restaurant with head-spinning cuisine, as well as the Rooftop Garden and Terrace, Club 360° Fitness Center and the third-story Conservatory that connects the two towers over 4th Street. The Galt House Hotel is connected to the KFC Yum! Center and the Kentucky International Convention Center, and within walking distance of Fourth Street Live! entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, Kentucky Science Center, Kentucky Center for the Arts, Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory, and Frazier History Museum. It is also within walking distance of unique shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Galt House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galt House Hotel Louisville
Galt Hotel Louisville
Galt House Hotel And Suites
The Galt House Hotel
Galt House Louisville Ky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing