We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,524)
Filter reviews
4,524 results
Traveller rating
1,588
1,347
840
442
307
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,588
1,347
840
442
307
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrivue towerohio riversuite towercafe magnoliarivue restaurantfish tankview of the riveryum centerdowntown louisvillebourbon barlarge hotelconvention centerthird floorfourth street liveconferenceconservatoryskywalk
Filter
Updating list...
3,057 - 3,062 of 4,524 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The Galt House is a first class hotel experience without the snobby attitude you find at other hotels in its class. The location is especially nice as it is located on the river front with fabulous views and is just down the street from the Louisville Slugger Museum, in the heart of downtown activities, and just a short drive to Churchill Downs (Kentucky Derby). Weven had the executive sweet and was very nice and spacious even for a family of four. Divided into three sections, bedroom, bath and vanity area and a spacious living area it more than met our families needs. The swimming pool over looking the river, the shops and the various restaurants made it very convenient for us during our stay. I would highly recommend this hotel and their more than friendly staff during your Louisville Kentucky visit.

Room Tip: The parking is a bit confusing at first but just enter into the attached parking garage on either tower and when you are issued a room key it will serve as your pass to and from the hotel. Their is an additional charge for parking.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Lawrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Public Relations Manager at The Galt House, a Trademark Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Your experience is precisely the type we hope to provide to every single guest staying with us. Thank you very much for taking the time to sing our praises.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This hotel was design in the 70’s and could be retro and trending by now, but nothing has ever been put back into the interior. A time warp that gets more abused by the year. The lobby check in is inconveniently located, you go through the bridge bar area to get to your rooms if in the other tower. The carpets are old, the bridge bar is old (has gold fish swimming in plastic). The rooms, even on the 24th floor (top floor) are tired, with beat up furniture and carpets either so dirty or so old that I would not dream of taking my socks off for even a second (slept in them in case I need to get up in the middle of the night).

Room Tip: The one thing this hotel has going for it our views. Ask for a high floor with a river view. We did and got the top floor (24) with no price change.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelloJoeOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Public Relations Manager at The Galt House, a Trademark Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

As a hotel we are constantly attempting to improve our property. The efforts are ongoing and we appreciate your review. Our views, as you mentioned, are outstanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Appeared dated to me - nothing special whatsoever. The rooms appeared to be worn and in need if refurbishment. Breakfast selection was very good - perhaps too much. When I ordered toast, I was asked: rye bread, wheat bread, white bread, brown bread etc. As for the eggs: sunny side up, sunny side down, over easy, etc - all too much for a simple Brit!!

Stayed: August 2013
2  Thank AppleAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Public Relations Manager at The Galt House, a Trademark Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

We appreciate your feedback Adam and we do certainly go overboard on breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Hotel seems safe, decent value. Hotel is very old in look and smell. Hotel badly needs remodeled and new carpets throughout ASAP. The toilet had a dokie waiting for me in it when I entered the room. Not cool. As a business traveler I will not stay there again.

Staff was fast and friendly.

Room Tip: Wifi is slow, room is furnished with all furniture. The alarm clock was from the mid 80s.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Public Relations Manager at The Galt House, a Trademark Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

We appreciate your candid feedback and will take steps to be more appealing next time you arrive.....should we be fortunate enough to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

My room (1br suite w/balcony) was a bit tired. Ceiling over a /c unit was falling apart. Doors slam loud. Abandoned swim trunks behind a chair. Staff were all pleasant and helpful which would encourage my return. Probably wouldn't pay extra for a suite though.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IMH O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Public Relations Manager at The Galt House, a Trademark Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for your review! We've taken note of the issues you encountered and we are always striving for improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews