We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Hotel”
Review of Galt House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Galt House Hotel
Ranked #27 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Burlington, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible Hotel”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This hotel had everything. My family spent hours just walking around the hotel and grounds. We also thought that the rooms were amazing and even more so because the price was so reasonable. Entertainment was well within walking distance also.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Your experience is precisely the type we hope to provide to every single guest staying with us. Thank you very much for taking the time to sing our praises and look forward to hosting you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,356
    1,190
    687
    338
    210
See reviews for
723
814
140
1,413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (945)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morehead, KY
Level Contributor
199 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Even though it is an older property I found the suite in the east tower to be excellent. I had one problem with the hot water but it was corrected. Clean, spacious with every amenity. Convention facilities were excellent. Food service above average except for understaffing in lounge. Great riverfront location near everything. Would definitely stay there again in the east tower.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your review Steve! We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The suites were spacious but as others have mentioned, rather shabby and carpets in need of replacement and I can understand cause I do not think our carpets were vacuumed in the 5 days that we were there. Housekeeping was inconsistent, ,sometimes, knocking on your door early and wanting to clean and we were not ready to leave and pressing us for time, then the next day, we were gone all day and came back at 3:30 and room still not done. We ended up sitting in the Lobby waiting for the room to be cleaned. We were part of a very large group at the hotel that ended on Sunday morning and only 2 people were at the checkout desk, which caused long waits. The hotel was in a great location for walking to restaurants and museums. The food served at the various restaurants was very good. Café Magnolia was our favorite, good food, service and reasonable prices.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petunia66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor, we've noted the improvements we need to make and hope that you find it much improved upon your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Great location on the Ohio River and within easy walking distance to many restaurants, museums, Performing Arts Center, even the baseball stadium. Staff is very nice but not especially efficient. Had to ask for clean towels, friends had to ask (two different days) to have a top sheet put on their bed. Had a suite with plenty of room but cramped counter space in the bathroom, dark gloomy "living room", and NO plugs for recharging phones etc in the bedroom. No quick checkout means by phone or tv. Top floor revolving restaurant was very nice, excellent service. Magnolia Room Café was large with a bountiful buffet and large portions off the menu but food was ordinary. Watch out for the long wait for coffee at Thelma's in the large bar area, also a very slow toaster for the bagels (you do it yourself) The bar/coffee area is itself large and airy, a nice place to meet up with others.

Room Tip: The non-suite tower has better river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaW44_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Our best customers are the ones who offer us feedback that we can improve upon. Thank you for taking time to share about your stay at the Galt House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The Galt House is a first class hotel experience without the snobby attitude you find at other hotels in its class. The location is especially nice as it is located on the river front with fabulous views and is just down the street from the Louisville Slugger Museum, in the heart of downtown activities, and just a short drive to Churchill Downs (Kentucky Derby). Weven had the executive sweet and was very nice and spacious even for a family of four. Divided into three sections, bedroom, bath and vanity area and a spacious living area it more than met our families needs. The swimming pool over looking the river, the shops and the various restaurants made it very convenient for us during our stay. I would highly recommend this hotel and their more than friendly staff during your Louisville Kentucky visit.

Room Tip: The parking is a bit confusing at first but just enter into the attached parking garage on either to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Your experience is precisely the type we hope to provide to every single guest staying with us. Thank you very much for taking the time to sing our praises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
257 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This hotel was design in the 70’s and could be retro and trending by now, but nothing has ever been put back into the interior. A time warp that gets more abused by the year. The lobby check in is inconveniently located, you go through the bridge bar area to get to your rooms if in the other tower. The carpets are old, the bridge bar is old (has gold fish swimming in plastic). The rooms, even on the 24th floor (top floor) are tired, with beat up furniture and carpets either so dirty or so old that I would not dream of taking my socks off for even a second (slept in them in case I need to get up in the middle of the night).

Room Tip: The one thing this hotel has going for it our views. Ask for a high floor with a river view. We did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelloJoeOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
As a hotel we are constantly attempting to improve our property. The efforts are ongoing and we appreciate your review. Our views, as you mentioned, are outstanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Appeared dated to me - nothing special whatsoever. The rooms appeared to be worn and in need if refurbishment. Breakfast selection was very good - perhaps too much. When I ordered toast, I was asked: rye bread, wheat bread, white bread, brown bread etc. As for the eggs: sunny side up, sunny side down, over easy, etc - all too much for a simple Brit!!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AppleAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
We appreciate your feedback Adam and we do certainly go overboard on breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#10 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#2 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,812 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#12 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galt House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galt House Hotel

Property: Galt House Hotel
Address: 140 N 4th St, Louisville, KY 40202-2910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Louisville
#22 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galt House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galt House Hotel, the Heart of Louisville, boasts 1,290 guest rooms and suites, 128,000 square-feet of convention space and more than 50 meeting rooms. Galt House Hotel features six full-service restaurants and lounges, including RIVUE, a 25th floor revolving restaurant with amazing cuisine, as well as the Rooftop Garden and Terrace, Club 360° Fitness Center and the three-story Conservatory that connects the two towers over 4th Street. It is connected to the KFC Yum! Center and the Kentucky International Convention Center, and within walking distance of Fourth Street Live! entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, Kentucky Science Center, Kentucky Center for the Arts, Louisville Slugger Factory and Museum and Frazier History Museum. It is also within walking distance of unique shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galt House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galt House Hotel Louisville
Galt Hotel Louisville
Galt House Hotel And Suites
The Galt House Hotel
Galt House Louisville Ky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing