We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Galt House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Galt House Hotel
Ranked #26 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Convenient Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We spent a week at Galt House for a national convention. We did venture out for some meals and found several great eateries walking distance from the hotel. The Louisville Slugger factory & museum, along with Flame Run Glass Blowing Studio & shop, as well as several interesting museums are within walking distance as well. The hotel is really conveniently located to the Ohio River, central Downtown, The Historic District, and even Churchill Downs. We stayed in a dbl queen Suite and the room was spacious and comfortable. The hotel is actually 2 towers hooked together by a covered walkway, Atrium style which contains a nice bar, small cafe, and several cozy seating areas for gathering and chatting or just watching the river activity. We definitely enjoyed our stay and would stay there again. The in house salon/spa was adequate. John the masseuse was above average. The "bourbon" scrub manicure was quite nice and smelled fantastic. We ate at the Magnolia Cafe for three of our 7 days stay and the food and service were very good - nice when you are attending meetings &/seminars and don't have time to leave the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PattyMacSanDiego_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for the review! We are so glad to hear that your stay with us was wonderful. Our location and restaurants are superb. We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,338
    1,173
    675
    332
    205
See reviews for
709
799
139
1,405
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (928)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roswell
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Overuse of fragrances, don't know what they were trying to cover-up. A definite no for anyone with allergies. Worn facility & inattentive staff. Only bright spot was the Rivue Restaurant with great service, food & view.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
We're sorry for the overabundance of fragrances. As a hotel we are constantly attempting to improve our property. The efforts are ongoing and we appreciate your review. RIVUE, as you mentioned, is outstanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

The Galt House is a long standing traditional property in Louisville. Even with on going renovations it's showing age. Given this, it is still a quality property. When you stay at the Galt House you know what you will get. Consistent service and consistent quality. Great location in downtown Louisville.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank realfan112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you so much for the review. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Located on Ohio river; most people I knew staying at the convention had a nice room with a view.

The suites were very nice; I had a base room in rivue tower and it was nice.

Parking garage is very low clearance. There is another garage slightly taller; our f-150 would not fit in first garage.

Rooms appeared clean. Elevators worked even at full capacity.

Food we had through hotel was good.

Walking distance to all sorts of fun on 4th street.

Give the galt house a try!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank wingslogo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay with us, we look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed in the suite tower on the 6th floor. Room was very nice but you could hear the interstate traffic noise so I recommend staying higher up if that would bother you. Beautiful river and pool view. Room was clean and service was very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debdean59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

First of all, on the website it says that you have to pay for wi-fi but that is false, there is free wi-fi for hotel guests. There are 6 restaurants in the hotel and there is a skywalk going through most of Downtown Louisville!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad you had a nice stay with us and look forward to the opportunity to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Louis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

The hotel appears to be clean and well kept, however, we had roached crawling the wall of our room, and also found them in the extra blanket in the closet. The room service food was terrible, the breakfast they delivered included an orange slice, jus for garnish, but it was moldy. I left the hotel feeling dirty and was worried I would find bugs in my bag when unpacking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Traci E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Public Relations Manager at Galt House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
We appreciate your review and have noted the criticism. Our best customers tell us how we can improve. Please accept our apologies for the terrible service and bugs. Do you mind reaching out to us directly (alambert@ajshotels.com) to let us know what room you stayed in? We want to ensure this doesn't happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#2 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#10 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galt House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galt House Hotel

Property: Galt House Hotel
Address: 140 N 4th St, Louisville, KY 40202-2910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Louisville
#22 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galt House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galt House Hotel, the Heart of Louisville, boasts 1,290 guest rooms and suites, 128,000 square-feet of convention space and more than 50 meeting rooms. Galt House Hotel features six full-service restaurants and lounges, including RIVUE, a 25th floor revolving restaurant with amazing cuisine, as well as the Rooftop Garden and Terrace, Club 360° Fitness Center and the three-story Conservatory that connects the two towers over 4th Street. It is connected to the KFC Yum! Center and the Kentucky International Convention Center, and within walking distance of Fourth Street Live! entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, Kentucky Science Center, Kentucky Center for the Arts, Louisville Slugger Factory and Museum and Frazier History Museum. It is also within walking distance of unique shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galt House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galt House Hotel Louisville
Galt Hotel Louisville
Galt House Hotel And Suites
The Galt House Hotel
Galt House Louisville Ky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing