We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty shower, poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Louisville East - Hurstbourne
Ranked #32 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The room smelled bad, the shower was dirty, the window shade had many small holes that let light in, and the tv remote battery was dead and the hotel didn't have any more. Teenage boys were running up and down the halls and playing on the elevator. Typically we receive a complimentary snack on arrival and we did not.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1faircritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Louisville East - Hurstbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding our hotel.

From what you've said you were not happy with the condition of your particular room.
That was possibly in our original wing of the building and I apologize.
I inspect a large number of rooms on a daily basis and will re-educate my room inspectors also.

Cleanliness and upkeep is foremost on my mind since I have been given the task of maintaining our facility as the new hotel manager until IHG approves our architectural drawings for renovations of the main building.

The teenage boys during that weekend in question were noted and our consensus is that unless any group can behave appropriately they will not be asked back to the hotel. There is no excuse for children being unsupervised away from home.

Please forgive us and hopefully you return soon.

Scott A Robinson
Hotel Manager
502-426-2600
srobinson@hihurstbourne.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Louisville East - Hurstbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel was reasonably priced and located in a good part of the city that isn't too crowded but is easily drivable to major attractions. Room was clean and check in was fast. Indoor pool was OK. Hot tub jets were broken which annoyed me. Kids ate for free at breakfast in the hotel restaurant too so it was basically a free meal for the family. Good option for Louisville trip. Would stay here again if I visited.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank jkram727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Louisville East - Hurstbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your compliments and comments,

The gold standard for Holiday Inn has been for years "Kids Eat Free" and we are happy to honor this value since we all know kids are born hungry.

I was unaware of the hot tub jets being inoperable, but that is no excuse. I will immediately get my chief engineer investigating at once.

Please come see us again when you are in the area and look at our upcoming changes.

Regards,
Scott A Robinson
Hotel Manager 502-426-2600
srobinson@hihurstbourne.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

the room is comfortable with basic amenities, near to highway, has a good restaurant in the facility. has a decent jacuzzi and pool. internet is free. Plenty of parking space.
there is smoking in the patio, which can be annoying. The breakfast is not included, and without voucher it is about 10 dollars which can be expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heartforu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Louisville East - Hurstbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your review of our property.

As a former smoker for over a year, I understand completely about smoking. Especially when someone else does not.
Please come see us again when you're in the area.

Regards,
Scott A Robinson
Hotel Manager
502-426-2600
srobinson@hihurstbourne.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel has a beautiful atrium but that's it.When you go to the elevator located in the rear of the hotel the truth comes out.It needs to have a face lift, it s old and out dated,this chain has made its fortune on average people and it's a shame that they have forgotten their humble beginnings. The hotel being of old decor gave me a sense of unclean therefore I did not rest well feeling that when the lights went out uninvited guess would crawl and creep. On the up side it was quiet and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juaquar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Louisville East - Hurstbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding our property,

You are correct the décor is still from an earlier time period. We are finishing up the planning stages to bring our hotel into more of the 21st century soon. Behind the scenes start in three weeks, however, our rooms in the tower should be more to your liking by the end of the year.

Please feel free to stop by in the future to seen our progress.

Regards,
Scott A Robinson
Hotel Manager
502-426-2600

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We book this room through Hotwire and we use that site frequently. This is the first time I felt like the hotel did NOT match the star rating. This hotel was advertised as a 3-star. It definitely is not.

My check-in was speedy and friendly. Lobby looked nice. My room was in a wing with rooms that had both interior and exterior doors. For me, exterior room doors is an automatic star deduction. The door into that wing had a key swipe pad that was non-functioning the entire we were there. Nice to know that anyone can enter that wing right from the parking lot out of view of the front desk. The room had a a lamp with a broken switch on the base that was visible without even trying to use it. The tub had a hair on it and the bathroom had visible dirt around the toilet and a pop can pull tab stuck in it.

My biggest gripe was with room cleaning. We left for the day at 8:30 and returned at 4:10. Our room still had not been clean! At 4:20, they knocked and wanted to clean, but we were in the room getting ready to go out to dinner, so we had to just take towels and go without a cleaning. We travel a lot and I have NEVER had housekeeping arrive so late!

I'd say that the price we paid was fair for the room. It just wasn't the bargain I thought given the star rating that was advertised. We won't be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amishamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Louisville East - Hurstbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your candid review of our property.

You are correct that the older section has issues and that is why we are scheduling its decommissioning soon. The cleaning is always foremost on my mind since we are a non-renovated property with older furniture. The condition always makes it seem we are not clean, however, I can assure you I personally inspect rooms every day.

Please stay with us again before or after our upcoming renovations.

Regards,
Scott A Robinson
Hotel Manager
502-426-2600

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I was in the Louisville area for a few days on business and was guided to the area due to the local areas for shopping and restaurants. The hotel staff was great, I needed to send some urgent faxes (yes who still used them!) and they were great to ensure they were sent and the send reports provided to me. The breakfast was very good and quickly served. Parking was convenient and free. I will definitely return.

Room Tip: Get something away from the street and elevators.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Louisville East - Hurstbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your stay and we appreciate all our guests, truly.
For without you, we would not have been in business for all these years.
Please stay with us again even before our location gets the upgrades.

Regards,
Scott A Robinson
Hotel Manager
502-426-2600

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stayed here in a king room for a short night due to business. I found all employees to be very friendly during my late check-in. The room was a large king bed and it was very clean and comfortable. The only critical item I can think of, and this is very minor, is the shower curtain is a tad too short and allowed a lot of water to get on the bathroom floor.

For those not aware this is a Holiday Inn and not a Holiday Inn Express so there is not a free continental breakfast. They did have a very nice breakfast buffet for only $10.55 including tax and drinks. There was a very good selection with three meats, biscuits and gravy, cereal with assorted toppings, and a chef cooking made-to-order eggs and omelets. Both the hostess and the chef were extremely friendly and helpful.

Combined with an all around friendly staff, comfortable room, and a nice breakfast buffet it was a pleasant stop during a hectic two days of business.

This hotel is located on Hurstbourne Pkwy where there are a lot of fast food and full service dining establishments along with shopping (Wal-Mart is close).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Louisville East - Hurstbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your kind remarks regarding our property. You are correct that we are not a Holiday Inn Express and no breakfast is provided. Our Chef and his 10 plus staff try very hard to make every meal a banquet for all our guests.
Please stay with us again soon!

Scott A Robinson
Hotel Manager
502-426-2600

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Hurstbourne
Courtyard Louisville East
Courtyard Louisville East
#64 of 97 in Louisville
164 reviews
East Louisville
Best Western Louisville East
Best Western Louisville East
#40 of 97 in Louisville
477 reviews
East Louisville
Hyatt Place Louisville-East
Hyatt Place Louisville-East
#22 of 97 in Louisville
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Louisville
Hampton Inn Louisville East/Hurstbourne
East Louisville
Red Roof Inn Louisville East
Red Roof Inn Louisville East
#55 of 97 in Louisville
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Louisville East - Hurstbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Louisville East - Hurstbourne

Address: 1325 S Hurstbourne Pkwy, Ky, Louisville, KY 40222-5707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range: £80 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Louisville East - Hurstbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated The Holiday Inn Hurstbourne I-64 East is located in the heart of Louisville's East End, just blocks away from shopping, several restaurants as well as business & industrial parks. Our hotel is 10 miles northeast of Louisville International Airport, the Churchill Downs/KY Derby Museum. The Holiday Inn Hurstbourne, I-64 East, offers full conference facilities for up to 800 people with 13 function rooms available. Catering and audio/visual offices are onsite to help with your function. Enjoy our Winner's Circle Restaurant & Lounge, featuring a menu laced with Kentucky fare. Special rates for RVIA, National Farm Machinery Show, Mid-America Truck Show, KY Derby, the Abbey Road Music Fest & National Street Rods! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Louisville East - Hurstbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing