We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Historic Home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Louisville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bashford Manor Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 20 Louisville B&B and Inns
LaGrange, IL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful Historic Home”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We were lucky to find the Jane Austen Library Suite available for our two night stay in Louisville. The room was perfect for three sisters to share - a queen bed and two very comfortable twin beds in a very spacious and elegant room. The bathroom is unique, with a whirlpool tub tucked in a space under the stairs. You need to climb down into it, but if this is a problem, there is a beautiful bathroom with a marble shower just down the hall. The inn is in a great location near Churchill Downs, fun restaurants on Bardstown Road and convenient to the highway. The owner was friendly and very informative about the history of this home, which was a great introduction on my first visit to Kentucky.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank designmstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    11
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
34
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Broadview Heights, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at Bashford Manor while visiting our daughter for the weekend. From the very beginning when we were booking our stay, the owner, Cynthia Cooke was very friendly and was more than accommodating. Upon arriving at Bashford Manor, we were very impressed with the characteristics of the property. Cynthia has done a great job of renovating this historic home to be a cozy and welcoming bed and breakfast. Each room is attractively decorated and has an in-suite bathroom. Cynthia’s attention to detail is very noticeable everywhere you look. We found the facilities to be very clean and well kept.

As for breakfast each morning, it was unbelievably AMAZING. The dining room is small, which provides a very intimate and quiet setting to start your day. The food that Cynthia prepared was something you would expect at a 5 star hotel. Everything was delicious and had such great flavor.

The uniqueness and historical aspects of this property makes it truly special. Partner that with the wonderful hospitality expressed and displayed by the owner, makes this a place I will definitely stay at when in Louisville and would highly recommend to others visiting Louisville.

Thank you, Cynthia, for such a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rawegryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Last weekend my wife and I were in Louisville. An historic house, the Bashford Manor B&B has been updated and was very comfortable. We particularly liked sitting on the big porch at the back of the house with a glass of wine in the late afternoon and having those quiet, focused conversations our busy lives so often interrupt. Our hostess, Cynthia Cooke, was both helpful and extremely pleasant. The breakfasts were sumptuous. The location was great, a few minutes drive from the great array of restaurants closer to downtown on Bardstown Road. We recommend the Bashford Manor and will stay there again when we're in town.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank GHSLDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia C, Owner at Bashford Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
We certainly enjoyed having you all here! And enjoyed learning about your research. Also glad that our convenient location and quiet country park ambience were useful. Hope you visit again with another opportunity to meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Whenever business or pleasure brings my husband and I to Louisville, we always book our stay at Bashford Manor B&B. This is a special place where one can relax amid natural beauty in an historically significant setting, yet enjoy modern conveniences. Whether staying in the main house, carriage house suite, or garden suite, each room provides its special charming ambience through planner and preservationist Cynthia Cooke's carefully chosen furnishings and considerate extra touches. Cynthia is a wealth of information about Louisville's exciting neighborhoods and lovely parks, places to bike, green energy, and healthy dining opportunities. The breakfasts at Bashford feature foods that are local and seasonal. The 3-acres include gardens, a walnut grove, a rainwater harvesting system, a pond with bridge, and many lovely spots to sit and read or write your novel!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia C, Owner at Bashford Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
It is one of the great pleasures of this National Historic Landmark to welcome our dear repeat guests... You help keep the doors open for 'time' travelers as we offer both past and present amenities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband and I stayed in one of the carriage house suites overlooking the gardens. A spacious and nicely decorated suite with a relaxing feel, a comfortable bed and a plate of cookies waiting for us when we arrived! Each morning we walked to the main house to the lovely dining room for a wonderfully prepared breakfast. Each breakfast consisted of yogurt parfait with fruit and nuts, Canadian ham and a warm dish. We enjoyed hearing about the history of the house, Louisville and Kentucky from Cynthia. She is a warm, courteous hostess! We enjoyed our trip to Kentucky and our stay at Bashford Manor. We highly recommend this B&B and hope to return someday! ENJOY!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corrales, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My husband, myself, and our two adult children shared the wonderfully spacious West Suite for three nights. The house is a pleasure to stay in. It’s historically significant, beautiful, and comfortable. Cynthia Cooke is a fine host and makes everything work. The excellent breakfast is served graciously, in a truly lovely room. The inn is located on a quiet street, just off Bardstown Road (excellent restaurants just a few minutes away) and near the Watterson Expressway, which gets you wherever you need to go. I grew up in Louisville but hadn’t been there in many years. Staying at the Bashford Manor B&B made my return visit even better. This is a great alternative to a conventional hotel or motel, and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Miss Cooke created a very warm and welcoming experience in her charming, historical home. Bashford Manor confirms why a B&B is preferred to a hotel. I look forward to coming back. Hats off to Miss Cooke for making history accessible.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#2 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,812 reviews
South Side
Red Roof Inn Louisville Fair And Expo
Fairgrounds
Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Louisville
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East
East Louisville
Breckinridge Inn
Breckinridge Inn
#62 of 95 in Louisville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bashford Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bashford Manor Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bashford Manor Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2227 Bashford Manor Ln, Louisville, KY 40218-1301
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > East Louisville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Louisville
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
National historic landmark with modern amenities, park setting, convenient and centrally located! Comfortable and classic. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing