We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rainy day activity”

Louisville Mega Cavern
Ranked #1 of 185 things to do in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: While visiting Louisville, Kentucky, you won't want to miss MEGA ZIPS; "The World's ONLY FULLY Underground Zip Lines & Adventure Tour" featuring 6 Ziplines and 2 challenge bridges up to 2 hours of adrenaline or MEGA QUEST the ONLY FULLY underground ropes challenge course in the world! Mega QUEST is one of only twenty courses of its kind in the USA. Aerial challenge and ropes courses are the hottest new extreme sport in Europe where thousands of courses are located. For those wanting a lesser thrill, be sure to check out the MEGA TRAM a Historic Tour: Ride and never walk through a part of 17 miles of underground passageways beneath the city of Louisville. Learn about the geology, history, mining techniques, recycling, and green business technology. See where 50,000 people would have been invited to stay during the Cold War Era. The historic tram tour operates mid-January through October. If you are visiting us during the holiday season, be sure to check out Lights Under Louisville: The World's Only FULLY Underground Holiday Light Show. Drive through 1.2 miles of underground passageways beneath the city of Louisville, Kentucky as you see and hear the sights and sounds of the holiday season. Offered seasonally mid-November through December. The cavern is transformed into an underground holiday light show with more than 750 lit characters.
Reviewed 3 September 2014 via mobile

Great way to spend three hours. We did the ropes courses and had a great time. You really get a workout on the course and even get to do a little zip lining without doing the zip lining course. Three hours really tired my son out. All the instructors were really great with instruction and on safety. If you got stuck any where on the course some one was there to help. Food and beverages were available for purchase and they had tables to sit and rest at. Wear lit weight clothing cause it can get pretty warm on the course.

1  Thank babs1269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer Q, Social Media Manager at Louisville Mega Cavern, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thanks for the detailed review! Happy to hear that you and your son enjoyed our Mega Quest course!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,461 - 6,465 of 8,450 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2014

Great fun, worth every penny. great tour guides. certainly a big highlight on any Louisville vacation.

1  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer Q, Social Media Manager at Louisville Mega Cavern, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Glad you loved it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We took our 4 grandkids, ages 2-6, and their parents. Everyone had a good time and learned some interesting things. The grand kids have already asked when we can go back.

1  Thank Lynn-MikeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer Q, Social Media Manager at Louisville Mega Cavern, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Great! We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

I had the best time on these zip lines. Zip guides were very knowledgeable and helpful. This is a 2.5 hour tour. I had never been zip lining and had no problem completing all 6 or 7 zip lines and 2 awesome rope bridges.

Thank MIgirlinKYworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer Q, Social Media Manager at Louisville Mega Cavern, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Happy to hear that you had a great Mega Zip tour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

I really enjoyed the outing with my sons and their wives. We did the zipline. The guide was great, and it helped making us feel at ease. It was fun looking at the cavern from different angles. Hopefully next time we are together we can do the quest. We recommend you visit the MEGA cavern at least once. We also took the grandchildren during the Christmas lights and they had a great time. It is great to see the lights through the eyes of the children. Wear long sleeves, or layer your clothing. It is cool. I recommend MEGA cavern. It is fun!

1  Thank italiana51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer Q, Social Media Manager at Louisville Mega Cavern, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for the recommendation!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Louisville Mega Cavern also viewed

 

Been to Louisville Mega Cavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing