We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and interesting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cave Hill Cemetery

Cave Hill Cemetery
Ranked #6 of 168 things to do in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Huntington, Indiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful and interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

My mother and I enjoy visiting different cemeteries and it's intriguing how different they all are. Cavehill Cemetery is beautiful and has such history throughout. We loved reading the tributes left from loved ones. It has a Civil war area to present day set on 300 acres. Truly a beautiful place to visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    105
    13
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Easy to navigate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

A nice since of history; however, it is hard to get to. Easy to find; however finding a way in is a bit frustrating.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LorenG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, Bucks, England
Level Contributor
294 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“We came for the Colonel and left with a lot more - including sore feet!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We found out about Colonol Sanders resting place on www.roadsideamerica.com and even though I had the web page printed we should have followed their instructions to go straight there .... "Enter the cemetery from the Grinstead Drive entrance. Turn right immediately after you enter, and follow the weathered yellow line. It ends at the grave, on the right. " ... a road trip is not a road trip in our book without a bit of cemetery mooching!

Well for cemetery mooching this is the place to do it! Place is massive -- and we came through the main entrance on Baxter Drive and left the car near the gates - never sure how far you should drive into these places... well we walked and walked and walked .... and mooched and mooched - and no sign of the King of KFC ... we did see some fantastic stonework, monuments, statues, and other memorials --- some grandiose - some simple. Lovely landscapes and trees and a lake.

We finally found an office - an air -conditioned haven in the humid 90+F and asked the nice lady at the desk the way to the Colonel - and she gave us a map and highlighted the route. Only half way there .... and then we would have to walk all the way back to the car!! Pfft!!! It was advised we walk back to the car and drive back through - in our air-conditioned SUV .... what a smart plan!! So we did ..... all because we did not follow the instructions I had printed off - lesson learned. But with this lesson came the opportunity to see such a splendid cemetery - well looked after - vast in size and history.

We did make it to Harland Sanders' final resting place - and I am pleased to say not a Bargain Bucket was in site. My husband said a little prayer of thanks- to the food gods I think - for creating a man that made fried chicken so finger lickin' good!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charleygirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Grave art paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

I spent over 2 hours taking pictures of all the wonderful grave art here. Of course one of the reasons why I came here was for KFC Gen Sanders but I found so much more.
Be warned though, this place is HUGE. You really do need a map of the place. the office is somewhat in the middle of the cemetery. also this place closes early! Like at 445pm

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank kschatterbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldsmar, Florida
Level Contributor
1,071 reviews
395 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 430 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cemetary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

We stopped at the Cemetary as part of our City Taste Tours. This is a beautiful Cemetary with history, beautiful grounds, as well as well known people (Colonel Sanders). The history of the Cemetary and the sections for Northern and Southern soldiers is very touching.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mixaconsulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cave Hill Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing