We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helpful Staff/ Plesant stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown
Ranked #17 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
152 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Helpful Staff/ Plesant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

This hotel is located in the downtown area. It is also near the Medical Center area.
Hotel has 8 floors.
The parking is free also there is a shuttle
from the airport to the hotel. I stayed for a weekend. The front desk staff is very pleasant and most accommodating. The men at the front desk were patient and informative about the city and giving directions about events or sights in the city. Lobby is very inviting and begs to be used to relax in, there is bar area, I did not use it. A business center is located behind the elevator area. It has a computer and printer. My room was clean and nicely arranged. Bed comfortable. There is an internet connection in the room. Free breakfast is offered. Hotel rate was reasonable. This is a good alternate to the airport or pricier downtown hotels. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Lady_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a detailed review about your recent stay with us. I'm glad that the hotel, location and services provided by the staff met your expectations. We look forward to your return to our hotel on a future trip to Louisville. Thanks again for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    277
    113
    42
    21
See reviews for
261
188
56
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

I arrived at this hotel on the evening of May 18, 2012. At the time of reservation, I was not told that the hotel had resurfaced their parking lot that day. If I was told that, I would have picked a different facility. I checked it, and spent the night, but was unable to sleep well because of the strong odor from the fresh tar on the parking lot. I contacted this facility when I arrived home from my trip, and was offered a 25% discount off the cost of my stay. I questioned the refund because I checked Hampton Inn's website, and it states that if your not satisfied with your nights stay, there will be a 100% refund given without question. I feel that this hotel did not live up to the refund policy, and that I should have been told of the fresh tar outside at time of reservation, so I would be able to make my own decision wether to stay there or not. On top of this, my emails were returned by the assistant general manager, not even the general manager who they were directed to. I guess he did not find a customers unhappy experience important enough to reply back to me personally. I can not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Thank you for writing again about this experience at our hotel. I'm sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. Had we been made aware of this issue earlier during your stay or at checkout, we most certainly could have rectified it then. I'm glad that this has now been resolved and we look forward to having you as our guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthews, North Carolina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012 via mobile

Hate to say it that way, but it is just what they are everywhere. Very consistent, great value. Front desk folks were awesome. Great attitude and pushed the rating to very good.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Thanks for the feedback you provided from your recent stay with us. I'm glad that we provided the consistency of service and product you have come to expect from Hampton Inns. I will be sure and let the front desk team know of your positive interaction with them. I hope to see you again on a future trip to Louisville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason, OH
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

The hubby and I stayed at this hotel Memorial Day weekend. The full service Hilton was booked so we selected this hotel. The best part about this hotel is that it is in a great location downtown. You have easy access to the convention center and 4th st live within walking distance. They have a shuttle that will take you around the downtown area too. We needed directions to somewhere and the front desk printed out directions for us which we greatly appreciated.

The room was clean but very small. There were several NBA games on TV this weekend but our TV could kept loosing reception so we had to go to the lobby to watch the games. The good news was that Wayne the bartender was very nice and made a good drink but we would have preferred to watch from our room. The only other complaint I have is that the pillows were really small. Other than the above, we had enjoyed our stay and we would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SingleDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I apologize for the problem you experienced with the TV reception in your room that day---we have since corrected that issue. I'm glad that our central location, shuttle service and staff made your experience a positive one. I will be sure to share your feedback with the staff indicated in your comments. I hope you will keep us in mind if your travels take you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

Enjoyed the hot breakfast and the renovated hotel was nice midrange hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Thanks for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are also very pleased with the recent renovation and will be completing more projects in the next few months---the exercise room and exterior painting to mention a few. I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

This hotel is close to the hospitals downtown. It is very clean! The staff was very friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast and hotel shuttles are great. You have to book a shuttle time in advance because it fills up quickly.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Porsha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for writing the review following your recent stay at our hotel. I'm glad that the hotel, staff, and shuttle service worked out so well for you. We hope to be able to have you again as our guest in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville Centre, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights at this hotel for the Kentucky Derby weekend. The hospitality and friendliness of the staff was outstanding and some of the best we've seen in all the places we've visited. The hotel was very clean and uniquely designed. The Derby festivities were done in a very classy manner. We will be staying here, next year, for the Derby again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Thanks for the great review you posted about your KY Derby weekend experience with us. I'm glad that the hotel and staff provided the type of experience that was memorable. We look forward to seeing you again next year---or sooner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#10 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#9 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Louisville Downtown
Galt House Hotel
#27 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown
Address: 101 E Jefferson St, Louisville, KY 40202-1301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Louisville
#11 Business Hotel in Louisville
#15 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
So much history and activity swirl around the Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown. From the Louisville Slugger factory, an American tradition since 1884, to the Belle of Louisville, perhaps the most famous steamboat plying the water, you can see it all from the Hampton Inn in Downtown Louisville. Be sure to check out our hopping entertainment district, Fourth Street Live!, and the newest museum in town, the stunningly modern and cool Muhammad Ali Center. You might even see the champ there himself-he's a Louisville native! So come stay with us at our 173 room newly renovated hotel in Downtown Louisville. After a trip full of fun and adventure, we think you'll agree, we're located in the city for sports, culture and history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct and Expedia so you can book your Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville
Louisville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing