We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Hampton Is Dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown
Ranked #15 of 96 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This Hampton Is Dated”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed 4 days and 4 nights. My room and the property were dated and should be renovated or at least brought up to the Hampton Inn standard. The furniture and especially my mattress were well worn. Ear plugs were a necessity since my room was next to the elevators which thumped and groaned while in use and the outside A/C units hummed loudly throughout the night. The breakfast area was easily overwhelmed with guests and ran out of food well before the breakfast hours ended 2 days out of the 4. On a positive note, the staff was very accommodating and pleasant. On my return trip to Louisville the following week, I elected to stay at a different downtown hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write following your stay with us. I'm sorry that your experience here did not meet your expectations and it certainly did not meet ours. I will follow up with my staff on the areas pointed out and correct those areas immediately. I hope you will give us another opportunity in the future and I would be happy to personally make your reservations to ensure a trouble free stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    296
    123
    44
    23
See reviews for
282
201
56
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Decent hotel, seems to be a little older but has been updated. Located right next to several chain restaurants, so it is convenient for dinner. A little more expensive than the usual Hampton, don't really know why.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for writing a review following your recent stay. We were glad that you chose to stay with us and found that our location to be convenient and our hotel updated. We hope you will keep us in mind if your travel plans take you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this Hampton. The location is great. Parking is free but that is basically all our car did after checking in was park. We were able to walk to all kinds of attraction (Louisville Slugger Museum, 4th Street Live, Convention Center) and restaurants. Rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. Wifi was decent. The staff was friendly, courteous and helpful offering restaurant suggestions and directions. Breakfast is your standard Hampton assortment. The pool was fun for my 12 year old. The fitness room was adequate with the standard treadmills, stationary bike and weights. If you stay on the north side (backside) of the hotel and there is a baseball game going, you might even get to see fireworks out your window like we did.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigEdMachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thanks for writing a review following your recent stay with us. I'm glad that our central location, service and hotel amenities (free parking, pool, breakfast, etc.) made for an enjoyable stay. We hope to see you again if your travels take you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale AZ
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My first alert is that this Hampton does not have refrigerators and microwaves. Dating back to 2002, I cannot remember the last time I stayed in a Hampton Inn without that amenity. Truth be told, it was a great disappointment to find these items missing.

Aside from that, this Hampton was just disappointing all around. We were there for a week for a competition with our entire team and all of experienced poor room service. Daily, we had to call for the basics, such as towels and shampoo. In addition, the front desk quite cheerfully denied almost any request made from late check out requests to room changes (but do please note, they were always pleasant about saying "no.")

On the plus side, the beds were comfortable and as long as your room isn't by the ice machine, rooms were quiet. Breakfast was the usual Hampton fare and changed daily for variety. The location of the hotel was also within walking distance to the convention center, as well as many other downtown attractions

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laul0005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
This same exact review was responded to below.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We always try to stay at a Hampton Inn so when I had a business trip to Louisville I selected Downtown Hampton Inn in Louisville. So glad we did. They were consistent as always and the breakfast served was superb. If we ever return to Louisville, we will certainly stay there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank joycep362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thanks for staying with us recently and for writing the great review about your experience. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and our complimentary breakfast. We hope to see you again real soon on your next trip to Louisville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a long weekend in Louisville, KY at the Hampton. Hotel is located walking distance to attractions like 4th Street Live, riverfront park and the Louisville Slugger Museum. Breakfast and 24/7 coffee in lobby was convenient and free parking and the shuttle bus were bonuses. But the real star here are the friendly and service oriented employees. Special recognition to Jason - I would be hard pressed to name a more helpful and professional employee. Zachary was also quite helpful. Highly recommend!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaStram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thanks for the great review about your experience at our hotel. I appreciate the feedback and am pleased that you felt everything was worthy of 5 stars! I will share your comments with Jason and Zach as well, they are two of our best associates. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My husband and I came to Louisville (3 nights) to celebrate my birthday, check out one of the Mint Julep Bourbon Tours, Urban Bourbon Tour, Churchill Downs Tour and Louisville Slugger Museum. It was very easy to get here from I-65. They had special parking out front for Hilton Diamond Members. Most important of all was how friendly and kind Aaron at the front desk was. He upgraded us to a very nice suite on the 8th floor without us even asking. The suite was huge and the spa tub also huge. We enjoyed relaxing in the living area after a busy morning/afternoon of tours. Yes, the hotel is showing a little age but it is maintained well.
The breakfast buffet was the best Hampton buffet we've ever had. The eggs were very fluffy, the breads/pastries were fresh, the fruit was fresh and the coffee hot and full. The fresh made waffles smelled excellent. The area was very clean, organized and the staff very friendly and helpful.
The bar at night was a nice touch. The bartender made an excellent Bloody Mary and my husband enjoyed his Manhattan very much. Friendly service and clean.
The location of the hotel is ok. It is not in the heart of downtown but on the edge. We walked to all of our downtown activities ...even at night. We walked as far as the Louisville Slugger Factory, the Brown Hotel and Past Doc Crows. We were safe ...but I could see how some may be intimidated by the area. There is a shuttle I heard that will drop you off and pick you up...
I would defiantly return to this Hampton. Great job Aaron and co-workers!!! They made us feel very special and appreciated!

Room Tip: 814 a very large Suite with King Bed, separate living are! Spa tub, microwave, Refrigerator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thanks for staying with us recently and for writing a review about your experiences. I appreciate the feedback and will be sure to share it with our team, especially Aaron. I'm glad that he and the rest of our staff made your stay memorable. We hope that if you are back in the area in the future that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Galt House Hotel
#27 of 96 in Louisville
3,896 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#10 of 96 in Louisville
1,341 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#2 of 96 in Louisville
1,884 reviews
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#13 of 96 in Louisville
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown
Address: 101 E Jefferson St, Louisville, KY 40202-1301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Louisville
#11 Business Hotel in Louisville
#15 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
So much history and activity swirl around the Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown. From the Louisville Slugger factory, an American tradition since 1884, to the Belle of Louisville, perhaps the most famous steamboat plying the water, you can see it all from the Hampton Inn in Downtown Louisville. Be sure to check out our hopping entertainment district, Fourth Street Live!, and the newest museum in town, the stunningly modern and cool Muhammad Ali Center. You might even see the champ there himself-he's a Louisville native! So come stay with us at our 173 room newly renovated hotel in Downtown Louisville. After a trip full of fun and adventure, we think you'll agree, we're located in the city for sports, culture and history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville
Louisville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing