We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Victorian Section of Louisville, Kentucky”
Review of Old Louisville

Old Louisville
Ranked #15 of 179 things to do in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Smyrna, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Old Victorian Section of Louisville, Kentucky”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is a rather interesting time travel in
Louisville Kentucky. Old Louisville contains many fantastic Old Victorian homes as well as some elaborate old mansions. If only they could speek..... Anybody who was somebody back in the early days of Louisville lived in this area. It is rich in history and architecture.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank RLW306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    134
    26
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Walking historic area”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This is an area that has many historic homes to enjoy by simply walking by them - often called the million dollar tour! They are huge, stately, very detailed mansions, many of them built pre-civil war, that are personal residences or B & B's and a few museums. We totally enjoyed just doing a walking tour and viewing the details at our leisure.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1steinmetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great architecture”
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

I have been to Louisville a number of times and finally got to see this historic area of Louisville. There is also a visitor center in the area where you can get more information. There are houses of a variety of styles. You can drive the area or walk part of it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Found by accident...Lots of Historic Victorian era houses”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

In driving up 4th street toward The Brown Hotel, we discovered and area with numerous Victorian type houses. Blocks and blocks of them! We later found out it was Old Louisville which is the third largest such district in the United States. It was cold and rainy the day we drove around, but we are definitely coming back in the spring to walk it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank marsuesams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Be alert when driving in this area.”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Like what i've mentioned just be alert when driving in this area. Roads are much smaller a lot of hidden corners. Kids riding their bikes everywhere. Houses are side by side closed to each other. Like the old mobster neighborhood that you see in the movies. ts a working class area, blood sweat and tears.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AikenJoshAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Old Louisville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing