We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed a few hours at the zoo”
Review of Louisville Zoo

Louisville Zoo
Ranked #13 of 176 things to do in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh,NC
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Enjoyed a few hours at the zoo”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My family has a membership at another center so we only had to pay half price to get into the zoo. The layout of the zoo is really nice. There is lots of shade for those hot summer days. We got there right about when it opened so it would be cooler as we went in late August. We loved the set up for the bears. So much fun to watch them walk over us. We had lunch at the safari cafe and it was decent. All the staff members we met were very nice. The splash park for little kids was closed. I don't know why a zoo would have a mini water area for kids. My daughter is 9 so we would have skipped that anyway. We loved the wax figures you could make as you walked through the park. Best $1s we spent. Fun treats for the kids to take home. Definitely worth a few hours of your day if you are looking for something to do in Louisville.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    543
    401
    145
    42
    31
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brazil, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Kids enjoyed the zoo a lot!”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Interesting stop while we were in Louisville. We made almost a day of it. Had a good time and learned a lot! Who ever thought elephants were trained like horses.....

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Number1Advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A great small zoo”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My mother, husband and I visited the Louisville Zoo for the first time this past August while in the city for a family gathering. This is a wonderful place. It is a small zoo, but beautifully and intelligently laid out so that it does not seem small, but at the same time you are not walking too much. (My Mom is 73 and very active, but still . . .) The variety of the attractions and the obvious good health and happiness of the animals is to be commended. Two small complaints. The penguin exhibit smells dreadful. (Now, I know penguin guano stinks, so don't point that out.) But this is an indoor exhibit, and I know that a better air filtration system would seriously lessen the stench. Second complaint, there is a small cemetery in the center of the zoo, well preserved, obviously honored. But there is a serious lack of explanation as to why it was there beyond a small plaque saying who it MIGHT be in the plots. Very odd.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One of the best zoos!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This has always been one of our favorite zoos. It's easy to navigate and you never miss seeing an exhibit because they are all on the map's path. We were there on the day that they were opening their Halloween attractions, so they closed a bit early, but the Halloween decorations were awesome! Restrooms were very clean. The kids enjoyed this very much! I had heard that food prices were high, so we packed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pamky53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockport, Indiana, United States
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A wonderful zoo!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We really have enjoyed the times that we have went to this zoo! It's not to far from home, yet its far enough away to make a nice day trip! We have a zoo membership that allows us to get in free to a lot of zoos.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BeckyH55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Louisville Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Louisville Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing