We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Louisville Fair And Expo
Ranked #24 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Surprisingly pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

When I pulled into the parking lot, I have to admit, I was a little concerned about the area, especially as a woman staying here alone. I was expecting to be right next to the Fair & Expo Center, but that isn't really the case (my fault for not looking at the map). It's actually a couple of miles down the highway. But my stay ended up being very pleasant. The room was comfortable, clean, and quiet - that's all I needed. It was obvious the description about the recently renovated rooms was accurate. The refrigerator makes a bit too much noise when it's cycling, but I didn't hear the highway nearby, nor the other guests, which all seemed to be construction workers and truckers. Everyone I encountered at the front desk was very nice and helpful, and they offer free coffee in the lobby as well as a coffee maker in the "deluxe" rooms. Again, the neighborhood may put you off at first sight, but it turned out to be convenient, with a gas station and restaurants right next door and down the street, and easy access to the highway. For the price, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRG1957, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Louisville Fair And Expo, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for the very nice review. As a woman traveling alone I know that feeling comfortable in your surroundings is very important. I have worked here for over 25 years and I always feel safe and comfortable. It is good to know that my staff was very friendly and made you feel at ease. You are right we are not next door to the fairgrounds but an easy commute of less than 2.5 miles. I hope you were able to enjoy some of the great restaurants and attractions that Louisville has to offer. Spring is a great time to be in Louisville. The spring meet at Churchill Downs begins on April 28th and The Kentucky Derby is May 3rd this year. We are only 6 miles from the track. You should come back and see us soon.

Debbie Glasgow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    131
    45
    12
    10
See reviews for
102
111
54
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay! Large very clean rooms. Our king room came with microwave, refrigerator, coffee pot, blow dryer, ironing board and iron. Plus it had a nice size area with an L shaped computer desk. I was amazed at how clean and comfortable the room was. Front desk workers were very friendly and helpful... especially Kimberly L. She assisted us with all of our directions, told us about local events and generally made our stay pleasant!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank wspanic1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRG1957, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Louisville Fair And Expo, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you so much for the very nice review. I will be sure to tell Kimberle that you appreciated her service. I hope she directed you to some fun activities like the underground zip line or Fourth Street live. We have some pretty awesome restaurants too. One of my favorites is Ramsi's.

Our Superior King rooms are very nice and well equipped with every amenity that you mentioned at a reasonable rates. The housekeeping and maintenance staff take pride in keeping the property clean and well maintained.

I hope to see you soon!

Debbie Glasgow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
333 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

I stay here every year when I attend the largest military antique show in the USA....the Show Of Shows. The rooms are great....they are clean, comfortable....and the rates are great! The staff are really friendly. My pet rabbits love it here too! I'm looking forward to my stay next year when I am again in Louisville. You should stay here too! Two rabbit ears up!!
(\ (\
( -.-)
o_(")(")

Room Tip: No ice machine on every floor.....ask at front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRG1957, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Louisville Fair And Expo, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
It is always a pleasure to welcome you and your bunny home for the antique military show. It is always nice to hear when our guest enjoy their stay and like the service that we provide. I hope you were able to go out and enjoy some of the sights that the city has to offer like The Kentucky Derby Museum or The Frazier Historical Arms Museum. When you come back you might want to try the new barbeque restaurant out from. I am looking forward to seeing you soon.

Debbie Glasgow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

It was great nice clean rooms friendly people good location like all upgrades wood floors new beds and linen big screen TV love the non smoking great staff Kelli Rebecca Kim deb. When asked for good locations to visit they were able to give me information on unic places in Louisville.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berle62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRG1957, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Louisville Fair And Expo, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you so much for writing the very nice review. We take pride in the cleanliness of the hotel. I will be sure to tell Rebecca, Kelli and Kimberle that you appreciate their service. I hope they recommended the underground zip lines and the Louisville Slugger Museum. Both are great places to visit. The next time you come to Louisville you may want to try Kentucky Kingdom Amusement park. It opens May 24th and we are only 2.5 miles from the park. I hope to see you soon.

Debbie Glasgow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

My husband and i chose to visit this Red Roof in for the second time because the friendly staff member named kelli gordan and she continues to rise the bar of execellence. She was kind enough to point out some fun attractions and wonderful dining spots. Our valentines day was superb, thanks Kelli we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingmomma2346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRG1957, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Louisville Fair And Expo, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review. I will be sure to tell Kelli that you thought her service was excellent. Louisville is a great city to visit. We have all of the amenities of a big city with the feel of a small town. We always recommend that our guest visit the Louisville Slugger Museum, The Muhammad Ali Center, The Kentucky Derby Museum and the Louisville Zoo. We have some of the best local restaurants. The next time you are in town try Ramsi's or De Galla Rosa. We love both. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Debbie Glasgow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

I was very impressed the weekend I had to take my daughter to a competition while most families were staying downtown and paid three times more for very similar accommodations. We had a great room with both a microwave and a small refrigerator, which was perfect for us. The room was clean and the new decor is ideal. So grateful for a room that met our needs.

Room Tip: Third floor is worth the walk. Heat is controlled on wall Air conditioning near door
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRG1957, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Louisville Fair And Expo, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We have two room types with a microfridge, our deluxe doubles and our superior king room. I am glad that you enjoyed the extra amenity. We are only 6 miles from downtown and very conveniently located. If you are looking for a clean, comfortable room then you are right we are the best value. Please come back and see us soon.

Debbie Glasgow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, ME
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

I had previously never stayed at a Red Roof Inn before but I decided to give it a try after seeing some other reviews. The pictures on their web site looked great. Sure enough my room is just what the pictures say. Beds are very comfortable and clean Their staff is very friendly (Rebecca has been a god-send). King superior rooms come with microwave and fridge and coffe maker. It is close to just about everything in Louisville.

Nice Job Red Roof Inn Louisvill, I would definatly recommend to others.

Room Tip: King superior rooms come with microwave and fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRG1957, Manager at Red Roof Inn Louisville Fair And Expo, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you so much for the very nice review. I will be sure to tell Rebecca that you thought she was a Godsend. We think she is the greatest. I am glad you enjoyed the superior king room with the 37 inch flat screen TV and the microfridge. Come back and see us soon.

Debbie Glasgow
General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
East Louisville
Red Roof Inn Louisville East
Red Roof Inn Louisville East
#42 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Candlewood Suites Louisville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Louisville Fair And Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Louisville Fair And Expo

Property: Red Roof Inn Louisville Fair And Expo
Address: 3322 Red Roof Inn Pl, Louisville, KY 40218-4557 (Formerly Red Roof Inn - Louisville SE - Fairgrounds)
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > South Side
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Louisville
#8 Business Hotel in Louisville
#16 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#16 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Louisville Fair And Expo 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn Louisville Fair and Expo is 100% Smoke-Free with Newly Renovated Rooms. The hotel is located 6 miles southeast of downtown Louisville and with easy access to the airport. Red Roof Inn Louisville Fair and Expo are within 5 miles from Bellarmine University, General Electric, Kentucky Fair and Expo Center, and the Louisville Zoo! Churchill Downs, the University of Louisville, Louisville Slugger Museum, KFC YUM! Center, Louisville Science Center, the Kentucky Derby Museum, Louisville Mega Cavern (featuring zip lines and an underground bike park), Derby City Antique Mall and Fourth Street are all within 10 minutes of this hotel. Other nearby attractions include Mohammed Ali Center, Kentucky Bourbon Trail, Kentucky Kingdom, UPS, Ford Motor Company, Kentucky Center for the Arts, Actors Theater and many other museums. Special rates are available for Bellarmine, Sullivan, and U of Louisville. Red Roof Louisville Fair and Expo is 100% Smoke-Free with Newly Renovated Rooms including flat screen TVs and free WiFi. All rooms feature new, comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, new modern design flooring, comfortable new seating and a large, flat-screen TV. Experience our free coffeehouse-style coffee and tea in the lobby. The hotel offers coin laundry facility, elevator, and "On Command Video" with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, and movies, as well as music and games. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Louisville Fair And Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn - Louisville Se - Fairgrounds Hotel Louisville
Louisville Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing