We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to sleep, but not much else” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Louisville Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Roof Inn Louisville Airport
Ranked #65 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Oakland City, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good place to sleep, but not much else”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

If you need a place to get sleep and don't expect any other frills, this hotel is decent for the price. It is located very close to the airport and I-65 exit ramps. Noise from airport isn't too bad, but some is to be expected. The rooms themselves are nice looking for this old fashioned type of hotel(rooms with doors leading to outside). The first room we checked into had the AC off. We turned on it as the room was almost 90 degree and went to dinner. 2 hours later we returned and the temp was still 80. We got swapped to a different room, and the AC unit worked a bit better. It never dropped below 70 though until late at night.

Our second night we had asked for 1 extra set of towels and an extra pillow as there were 3 of us in staying in the room. The front desk told us it would be there when we returned later that day. Upon returning, the room had been cleaned but no extra towels or pillows. I called the desk a total of 3 more times and was repeatedly promised they were on their way. We never got them and upon checking out the staff didn't bother to ask how our stay was.

The hotel was ok for the price, but spending 5 or 10 dollars more will get you a better room and better service. None of the rooms had microwaves, coffee makers, or irons. The 'free wifi' was horribly slow and disconnected a lot.

Good hotel for just catching a nap and back on the road, but not much else!

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage, ask for a 1st floor room if available. The rooms all face out toward...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank srembe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jharris62, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Louisville Airport, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
First let me say how sorry I 'am for not meeting your expectations during your stay. We dropped the ball on the service and i will be sharing this with my team. Please this is not the way Red Roof Inn does business, and please don't let this stop you from staying with us again. Thank You so much.


Jamie Harris--GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    50
    36
    25
    33
See reviews for
57
43
33
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

First of all, the facility was clean. Because it has installed new hardwood floors, there existed no unpleasant orders or obvious dirt. Flat scree tv and free wifi also enhanced the stay. I would definitely recommend this facility to my family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jharris62, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Louisville Airport, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you for letting us know how we did . I'm glad you like the new rooms , andi will pass this along to my team. We too are glad for the carpet to be gone , the new wood floors are great. We hop to see you again.


Jamie Harris--GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

This hotel is clean , well located, staff friendly ,staff printed addresses to nearby shopping malls . Your best option is to get the upgrade for microwave and refrigerator . Only draw back for me, which a personal issue ,I have a mobility problem and the 24 inch bathroom door difficult in negotiating .

Room Tip: only coffee served for breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kwest446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jharris62, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Louisville Airport, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you for the nice review the team here tries hard to make each guest feel like they are welcomed. We hope that you come back and see us again your next trip to Louisville. I will share with the team.

Thank You,

Jamie Harris--GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prospect Heights,
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

I have stayed at the Red Roof Inn Louisville Airport on several occasions. I love going down for the Kentucky Derby and this time I stayed 3 weeks. The location is ideal as it is close to the airport, and right off of I-65. I have always found the staff to be very pleasant, and the newly remodeled rooms are an imorovement. I do have one complaint which never seems to get corrected --- the WIFI. It is extremely slow and something needs to be done to improve it.

Room Tip: I would suggest staying on the east side of the building if possible, which has the even numbered ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jharris62, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Louisville Airport, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you for the nice review and i'm sorry for the WI-FI issue , our home office is making every effort to correct this issue. But we are glad that everything else was good for you . We will be looking for you to stay with us again. Thank You



Jamie Harris--GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

From when I first walked in the service was excellent and for a small hotel it was extremely clean and well staffed. The room itself was ready early and was clean and tidy and when I needed some extra towels they were brought quickly with no fuss. For the value this hotel is definitely one I will using again especially during the big events like the Kentucky Derby!! If anyone is visiting Louisville for any reason I would seriously recommend this Red Roof Inn because it was staffed and run like a big resort hotel, but for much better value!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jharris62, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Louisville Airport, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words, I will be sure to let the staff know. They do try to make everyone feel like this is there home away from home. Please come and see us again.



Jamie Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Stayed there for the kentucky derby great and excellent service. Rooms were in great condition friendly staff to help with any needs. Will visit again and always will stay there. Great location and easy access to anywhere in the town. Close to the airport which was a plus. Highly approve and will recommend the Red Roof INN to anyone who visit Louisville. Great city and GO CARDS

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jharris62, Owner at Red Roof Inn Louisville Airport, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you for the kind words i will share them with the staff. We are taking reservations for next years derby. I'm glad the rooms were good. and the staff all try hard to make each person feel like they are at home.

Jamie Harris
p.s. The cards did do a great job this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foster City, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

We came to Kentucky for the Derby and were looking up hotels when we found the Red Roof Inn for a great price. Upon booking, we found that there was some kind of computer glitch which only booked our room for 2 nights instead of the 4 we wanted. I worked with Jamie at the Red Roof Inn and she was super kind and responsive. Even though the deal we got wasn't the price that the room was supposed to be, she worked with management to grant us the deal that was booked.

When we checked in, we were honestly a bit nervous that something would go wrong and that we would end up finding out the rooms were only booked for 2 nights or something. However, everything went really really smoothly and we didn't have to change rooms or anything. The staff is very friendly and were also very helpful with getting us transportation to the Oaks and Derby. The rooms don't have ironing boards or hairdryers, which made me really nervous at first, but then all you need to do is ask for it at the front desk and they will provide you with what you need.

Overall, it was a comfortable stay and the rooms were really clean as well. We'd never stayed at a Red Roof Inn before so we weren't sure what to expect, but we were pleasantly surprised to find that it was neat and tidy and we didn't find any stray hairs or anything gross that we sometimes find with other inns. The beds were comfortable, shower was clean, and they had a nice updated flat screen TV.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenTang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jharris62, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Louisville Airport, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Ms. Tang i'm very glad we provided you with a great stay for you first expirence at a Red Roof Inn. I hope that you had a good time at the Kentucky Derby and that you had a few winners. I will let my staff know how your stay was, they try to make each guest feel like they are home. We hope to see you next year.

Jamie Harris --GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
South Side
Red Roof Inn Louisville Fair And Expo
East Louisville
Red Roof Inn Louisville East
Red Roof Inn Louisville East
#44 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
South Side
Econo Lodge Airport
Econo Lodge Airport
#87 of 95 in Louisville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairgrounds
Hampton Inn Louisville Airport
South Side
Sleep Inn Louisville Airport & Expo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Louisville Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Louisville Airport

Property: Red Roof Inn Louisville Airport
Address: 4704 Preston Hwy, Louisville, KY 40213-2148
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Louisville Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanks for checking us out! We are located very close to downtown Louisville, the Fairgrounds and Expo Center, Churchill Downs and adjacent to Louisville Aiport. We invite you to see our rooms complete with new flat screen TVs, and hardwood floors. We are a family friendly facility & we welcome/accept travelers with pets at no charge! We cater to those attending exhibitions at the Fair and Expo complex. We hope you will consider us for your travel needs, and we all look forward to seeing you soon! - Jamie Harris, General Manager of Red Roof Inn Louisville Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Louisville Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Louisville
Louisville Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing