We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Derby at it's Best” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Louisville Stoneware

Louisville Stoneware
Ranked #12 of 32 Tours in Louisville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the oldest stoneware manufacturers in the United States, Stoneware has been dedicated to the tradition and careful craftsmanship of transforming clay into enduring, functional art forms for the home, kitchen and garden since 1815. Located in Louisville, Kentucky the art factory in the Paristown Pointe neighborhood offers tours twice a day Monday through Friday and a paint your own pottery experience and retail store Monday through Saturday.
Cincinnati, oh
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Derby at it's Best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Love this pottery. Free. You can watch them make the pottery, order custom pottery, buy from there shop, or head back to the seconds pottery. We headed to the seconds, all

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy S, Public Relations Manager at Louisville Stoneware, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for visiting Stoneware, and for the nice TripAdvisor post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    14
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Iconic Louisville attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our visit here so much. We even did the paint-your-own pottery activity and it was a blast -- we use the coffee mugs that we painted all of the time and they always bring back a great memory. The stoneware for sale is beautiful. Highly enjoyable experience!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank zekebamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy S, Public Relations Manager at Louisville Stoneware, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for visiting Stoneware, and for the nice TripAdvisor post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fun time creating your own pottery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Bought Groupon tickets with a bunch of friends and had a ball! Many pieces of pottery to choose from. The staff was very helpful and informative. Be sure to take the tour of the factory...very interesting.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sassymae1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy S, Public Relations Manager at Louisville Stoneware, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for visiting Stoneware, and for the nice TripAdvisor post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corbin, Kentucky
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We purchased Groupons for the paint-your-own pottery as a day activity for a friend's bachelorette party and had a blast. The staff was very friendly and happy to accept our groupn deal. There was a nice selection of pottery to choose from. Paint colors were limited, but there were plenty enough to choose from that it really wasn't an issue. They also had a good number of stencils for those of us who needed a little aid or inspiration. They let us bring our own wine and snacks to enjoy while we painted. By using the Groupon this was a great value and so much fun. I would absolutly do this again, even paying full price.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank abfarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy S, Public Relations Manager at Louisville Stoneware, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for visiting Stoneware, and for the nice TripAdvisor post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fun Activity for the Ladies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

Had a great time with the gal pals painting pottery. Friendly service, simple activity and not super expensive. Pick your piece, pick your colors, paint and leave the mess for the LS folks to clean up - you can't beat that! Recommend this as a fun afternoon for the ladies or family. Oh, and the store part is filled with treasures that beg to be purchased. Hint: Check out the seconds table, there are some treasures hidden there as well.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wadd003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy S, Public Relations Manager at Louisville Stoneware, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for visiting Stoneware, and for the nice TripAdvisor post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Louisville Stoneware also viewed

 

Been to Louisville Stoneware? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing