We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting and original”

Louisville Stoneware
Ranked #17 of 33 Tours in Louisville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the oldest stoneware manufacturers in the United States, Stoneware has been dedicated to the tradition and careful craftsmanship of transforming clay into enduring, functional art forms for the home, kitchen and garden since 1815. Located in Louisville, Kentucky the art factory in the Paristown Pointe neighborhood offers tours twice a day Monday through Friday and a paint your own pottery experience and retail store Monday through Saturday.
Reviewed 13 May 2014

If you need nice and origial souvenirs from Kentucky, this is a great place to go shopping and take the kids.

3  Thank seven321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy S, Public Relations Manager at Louisville Stoneware, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for visiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

Lots of construction dust since they are in the midst of remodeling. I always find something I like here. The patterns are unique. Even if you don't want to purchase it has the museum, and it's like visiting an art gallery.

1  Thank ccwriter16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy S, Public Relations Manager at Louisville Stoneware, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for visiting us!

The public is welcome to join us at 10 a.m. on Thursday, April 10 for our grand "reopening" and ribbon cutting event. I hope you'll join us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We purchased a tour and painting through groupon. My four children ages 10,7,5 and 9 months really enjoyed the tour. It was educational and fun. The children talked about it the rest of the day to anyone who would listen. As a mother I was very impressed at the companys use of local products and lack of use of chemicals. Louisville stoneware is a must do for all ages.

4  Thank KYmomoffour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy S, Public Relations Manager at Louisville Stoneware, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

We love hearing that "the children talked about it the rest of the day to anyone who would listen." That means they were engaged -- and those are the best kinds of tour attendees to have!

Please consider posting a picture of the pieces the kids painted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Arrived today to paint our own pottery. We used a Groupon otherwise regular prices are a bit expensive. They will mail our pottery to us for an additional fee. Fun for my 6 year old daughter.

3  Thank Mcigrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy S, Public Relations Manager at Louisville Stoneware, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for visiting Stoneware and bringing your kids in to paint. Hope one day you'll bring them back for the factory tour!

Glad you were able to take advantage of the Groupon. Please consider posting a picture of the pieces you painted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Louisville stoneware is a very interesting place to visit. They have a wide selection of stoneware items. You can see the pottery made, paint your own, and special order personalized pieces . They also have gift registry. My daughter had a bridal registry there and all was handled very professionally. Truly a special kentucky place to visit!

3  Thank duncan26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy S, Public Relations Manager at Louisville Stoneware, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you for visiting Stoneware, and for the nice TripAdvisor post.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Louisville Stoneware also viewed

 

Been to Louisville Stoneware? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing