We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience but RUSHED”

Louisville Stoneware
Ranked #17 of 33 Tours in Louisville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the oldest stoneware manufacturers in the United States, Stoneware has been dedicated to the tradition and careful craftsmanship of transforming clay into enduring, functional art forms for the home, kitchen and garden since 1815. Located in Louisville, Kentucky the art factory in the Paristown Pointe neighborhood offers tours twice a day Monday through Friday and a paint your own pottery experience and retail store Monday through Saturday.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good experience but RUSHED”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

I was here with a group to take a tour and decorate a piece of stoneware. We were told that they were heavily booked with many groups, and we had 30 minutes to select a design, choose colors, and paint our piece - not nearly enough to go a good job. Not much explanation or guidance. Many skipped the tour just to finish painting. No time to shop or visit exhibit. :-( Disappointing since I like Louisville Stoneware.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank 56Fiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    14
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fun, beautiful and unique”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We played hometown tourist with our 8 year old granddaughter and had a great time. We had a groupon for pottery painting. Our granddaughter had a terrific time painting her own mug and we did Christmas ornaments for friends. This is a MUST see if in Louisville. Tour is free and fascinating for all ages. We bought an original piece from one of the artists. We own lots of pieces and will surely return. Great gifts for your friends and yourself!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy S, Public Relations Manager at Louisville Stoneware, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Judy, thanks for coming down to see us. Hope you'll visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
587 reviews
225 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Worth a visit to see beautiful stoneware pottery”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

While visiting Louisville a friend took me to the store as I had complimented her on her stoneware at her home; the shop offered many tempting styles as well as affordable pieces to take home for souvenirs. We happened by for a Thursday night open house where we were served local red wine paired with delicious chocolate. Certainly a highlight of my trip to Louisville.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank QueenBee0301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy S, Public Relations Manager at Louisville Stoneware, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thanks for stopping by!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Expensive”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

The facility is very attractive. I enjoyed the little pottery museum. I lived the solid colored modern place settings and the bird houses, but even the items in the discounted section were expensive. Nice to look at but didn't purchase!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy S, Public Relations Manager at Louisville Stoneware, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thanks for visiting Stoneware. Our pottery is definitely not inexpensive. Everything we produce is handmade and hand painted on-site and touched by nearly 20 artists during the process. On your next visit I'd like to host you for a factory tour. Please let me know the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Interesting and original”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

If you need nice and origial souvenirs from Kentucky, this is a great place to go shopping and take the kids.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank seven321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy S, Public Relations Manager at Louisville Stoneware, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for visiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Louisville Stoneware also viewed

 

Been to Louisville Stoneware? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing