We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beer, great bartenders.”
Review of Against the Grain

Against the Grain
Ranked #23 of 1,785 Restaurants in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$14
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Against The Grain Brewery and Smokehouse is Louisville's first brewer-owned brewery and, like most worthwhile undertakings, the product of dissatisfaction with the status quo. The Louisville area has had a number of quality brewpubs for some time now, but still there was simply not enough beer! Against the Grain is an effort to help solve this problem. We maintain a diverse array of beers covering all of the major categories of beer flavor while generating an endless stream of innovative new brews. In short, everything is "specialty" and boredom will be extremely difficult. At Against the Grain, we have thrown out the traditional mode of thought and shifted our attention to producing amazing beer consistently, which can be any given style or have any twist on it. we hang our hats on quality and want you to know there are a world of options out there and we make them! AtG is committed to providing the highest quality beers, ranging from classical styles, to a variety of innovative ales and lagers. Our smokehouse fare coupled with our fresh and local approach, will satisfy both carnivores and herbivores alike. Think you wanna give us a try? Come on down to Slugger Field and move Against the Grain!!
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good beer, great bartenders.”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We like to check out local beer when traveling, and we liked the variety of options here. The bartenders were very friendly and answered a bunch of questions from us, both about the beer and the brewery. If you want to do a brewery tour, you'll need to make arrangements in advance though. So we didn't get to do a tour, but that isn't uncommon when dealing with a small craft brewery operation.
Its walkable from the downtown hotel we were staying at.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    167
    48
    20
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Another Good Experience in Louisville”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Louisville seems to have more than it's share of good places to eat. I live in Ann Arbor,MI, which prides itself on good restaurants, but we do not have anything like Against the Grain that I am aware of.

Against the Grain is located Downtown, right next to the baseball stadium. On our recent visit, we arrived on a game day, at a time slightly before the game, yet we still found parking on the street fairly easy. We were seated in the restaurant after a brief wait.

This establishment is a brewery that also serves food. We had the sample platter of six different brews (cost $7). The beer was tasty and interesting but we really came here for food.

The most interesting thing that we had was an order of nachos. These nachos were definitely against the grain because they were kettle chips loaded with items not usually found on nachos--such as BBQ sauce, red onions and feta cheese. A different twist to be sure, but we relished them never the less. Everyone in our party had a different meal and all enjoyed their food. See attached photos. Service was excellent. I would certainly return here if I lived in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flipper029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in the baseball stadium”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This place is really great, especially if you like to try different kinds of craft beers. Start with the sampler and then get a glass of your favorite beer to have with some appetizers or one of their terrific entrees. They have a number of vegetarian options as well as smoked/BBQ options which are awesome (esp. Beer Can Chicken and Carnitas tacos). It seems they rotate beers frequently but always have a featured beer in each category (my favorite is Smoke).

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great beers in funky environment”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Enjoyed the variety of home crafted beers. If you like beer, this is a treat. The environment is very casual with music in the evening

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank GWade91302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Food Wise - the highlight of our trip!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

This was definitely the highlight of our trip down south. Coming back from Florida we stayed in Louisville.

After taking in some of the tourist sites, we stopped here for dinner. The patio was smoking so we opted to eat indoors as were non smokers.

The restaurant is spacious and the staff was friendly. We were seated promptly and because it was our first time here we were given lots of info about the place and what it does. It really helped you to connect to the place which added to the experience.

They had some crazy blends of beer I've never heard of before which was awesome and she even helped my husband decide on two he was debating on by giving him a small sample of the two. He opted for their Applewood Smoked Beer and he really enjoyed it!

You can seriously smell this place from a block away and that's because we found out they smoke all their meats in house. You can definitely taste the quality in the meats and the smokey flavour with every bite.

I enjoyed the Root Beer BBQ chicken wings which were the biggest wings I've ever had in my life and were unbelievable in taste and quality. My husband had the gator sausage with their kettle chips and he was also happy with his selection. I found it cute how they decorated such an ugly animal like a gator with editable flowers. His meal looked more like a pretty garden. You'd have no idea a gator was hiding under it haha! Seems fitting too.

The prices were extremely reasonable. Food this good in Toronto would be crazy, so we were pleasantly surprised!

Will definitely be coming back again!!! That's a guarantee!

Helpful?
Thank ihatesushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Against the Grain also viewed

 

Been to Against the Grain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing