We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel for families in Suburban Louisville”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East
Ranked #8 of 96 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Akron, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel for families in Suburban Louisville”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend while in Louisville for a friend's baby shower. We had previously never stayed at a Hawthon and were pleasantly suprised by the service and quality. Overall the decor of the rooms is a bit dated, but the quiet location in St. Matthews, free breakfast, and the overall size of the rooms - Slept 5 in our room thanks to the couch - made this hotel a pretty good place for a family. Also the pool area was very spacious for a suburban hotel of this size.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelgmckeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger_F39604, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East, responded to this review, 24 February 2016
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    188
    76
    17
    7
See reviews for
354
82
40
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We stayed for 12 nights as part of a family event. The hotel gets high praise on numerous dimensions:
Large, clean, suite-style rooms, with essentially full kitchens if you request
Good bed, pillows, linens, etc
An outstanding health club with free access (across the street) - - truly a top-tier workout facility
Quiet location (the flip side being that you need to drive places, but that's true almost everywhere in Louisville)
Incredibly friendly and accommodating staff

The few "cons" would be: only one elevator that occasionally gets peak-time delays (but we took the stairs anyway); and an average breakfast (although it is large and free, and certainly good enough).

I've stayed in Aman Resorts and I've slept in hostels, and seen a lot of hotels in between. This one goes to the top of the list in terms of value and pleasantness of stay.

Room Tip: Rooms range from microwave / coffeemakers, to half kitchens, to full kitchens. If you need a full k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfoges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger_F39604, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East, responded to this review, 26 February 2016
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY area
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

While our daughter was attending a conference in Louisville, Kentucky we came along to stay with our grand daughter. We could not have asked for a better hotel to stay in. We had a suite with a nice size living area, apartment size kitchen with full fridge, dishwasher, dishes, glasses and everything one would need for an extended stay. The bedroom was large with a nice size closet. The bathroom was also a good size. All was clean and we felt right at home. The ride into downtown Louisville took about 15 minutes. Even with the traffic during rush hour was not bad. If "hanging out" like we were there are two malls with in two miles.
The staff were all very nice. The pool was great as was the breakfast each morning. They offered an hors d'oeuvres hour from 5-7PM. I must say that was sad, but not enough to deter us from this place. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rather than booking online, I called a spoke to the front desk and asked for the best rate I could g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vlcnmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger_F39604, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East, responded to this review, 26 February 2016
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

I stayed here multiple nights per week over a couple of months. The hotel is not fancy, but it is clean, and it is super-convenient to where I was working. It is located in one of the better suburbs of Louisville, and as such there is a large mall, plus multiple restaurants (chain and not-chain) within a couple mile radius. I stayed in a king suite. There are widescreen tv's in both the living area and the bedroom. There are two closets in the suite, plus a small kitchen area with small fridge, sink, microwave, and dishes/silverware. Wi-fi reception is good in the rooms. The fitness area is not worth mentioning, but there is an excellent fitness center across the driveway, and hotel guests are entitled to a free pass to use it. I felt very safe in the hotel. Only a few dislikes: the hot food in the buffet is really not good at all. I advise that you skip it and stick to the cereal/instant oatmeal options; and I was sort of turned off by the "social hour hostess" - when I returned to the hotel from the office each night, I would see her standing right outside the front door with some of the rougher hotel guests, smoking up a storm. Just kind of yucky to have to walk through a veil of smoke to get into the hotel, in my opinion. There is an outdoor seating area to the side of the hotel. Maybe the hotel management would consider designating that the smoking area for social hour, especially during the warmer months? Other than that, I think this hotel is a good value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger_F39604, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East, responded to this review, 24 February 2016
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2010

this was the most expensive rooms we booked on our holiday at £65 gbp per night, we booked for 4 nights and checked out after 3 nights, we couldnt take it any longer. there is an element of extended stay/student rooms with lots of guests drinking beer cans and being quite loud. the room itself was large and spacious and clean, the staff were unfriendly on the desk, we needed our 2 rooms close together as one of the travellers was older and they put her on the next floor. the location was bad, no good for the city, there was a mall up the road 5 minutes in car but no restaurants within walking distance. the hotel is behind a porsche garage and difficult to locate even with sat nav, the pool was closed, we were offered alternative over the road but not good enough really. breakast wasnt bad some hot cooked items were available. not recommended for closeness to city centre and need a car for everything

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coe71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger_F39604, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East, responded to this review, 24 February 2016
Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2009

We stayed in a 1 bedroom king suite. The layout of the hotel and rooms is similar to other suite hotels in this class. The room was spacious and had a full living room, a hallway with a kitchen (full fridge, stovetop, microwave) on one side and the bathroom on the other, and a bedroom at the end of the hall separated by its own door. The furnishings were not as plush as Homewood or Staybridge suites, but were clean and adequate. One minor complaint was that the bathroom had only 2 bath towels, which seemed inadequate for a room that could potentially house four persons. The hotel was a very good value ($30/night cheaper than the Louisville Homewood and Staybridge suites). The room had 2 TVs and a DVD player.

The hotel was quiet and clean. It is also an all non-smoking hotel and both the reception clerk and signs in the room warned of $250 fines for smoking in the rooms. I appreciated the lack of smoke smell anywhere in the hotel, but it is something that smokers should be aware of before they book the hotel. The staff wasn't extremely friendly, but wasn't rude either. There was an evening reception with drinks, and hot and cold snacks, and a hot breakfast bar in the morning. The food wasn't amazing, but wasn't bad either.

A great feature of this hotel is that they give complimentary passes to a fitness center located right next door to the hotel. This fitness center is really well-equipped and immaculate.

Overall, I felt that the hotel was a great value for the price and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midwtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger_F39604, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East, responded to this review, 24 February 2016
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Hill, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2009

We chose this hotel because of the rooms to accomodate 3 adults and 1 child. Reservations were made a month in advance to our arrival. Upon our arrival, we were assigned to our room and found our room very clean and welcoming. Our first night was uneventful and very peaceful. However our second night was horrible. After returning from a long day, we could do anything but relax. When we pulled into the parking lot we noticed that there were 2 school buses. We were a little concerned, but had hoped that the hotel would remain quite. Almost immediately after getting settled in our room for the evening, doors started slamming in the room next to us. Kids were running back and forth through the halls and into different rooms. I'm not for sure what time they were made to stay in their rooms, but you could hear them carrying on in the room well after 2 am. We also know that we were between 2 rooms occupied by kids, because they had tape on the doors so that when the chaprones checked the rooms they would be able to tell if the kids had left the room. I know how kids will be and place the blame entirely on the hotel staff that was responsible in assigning our room to us. Surely the hotel had to know that when we checked in that this group of kids was going to be staying at the hotel on Saturday evening. I feel the clerk should have given us a room that was not going to be between 2 rooms that were occupied with kids only. Not for sure the reason behind this, but hopefully the hotel staff will pay closer attention when assigning rooms or at least notify the occupants in rooms that are surrounded by groups of kids and possibly give you the option of getting a new room or moving to a different hotel. Needless to say, it was a long drive back to Kansas City Sunday, and we're still trying to recoup from such a restless night. I did speak with the front desk and let them know of what was going on, and she was very apologetic. She assured me that she would let the General Manager know of our experience. In speaking with Lee on Monday morning, she was aware of our experience and was looking into the matter.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilyPlatteCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger_F39604, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East, responded to this review, 24 February 2016
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
East Louisville
Homewood Suites Louisville East
East Louisville
Wingate by Wyndham Louisville East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Louisville
Drury Inn & Suites Louisville North
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#2 of 96 in Louisville
1,892 reviews
Louisville Marriott East
#3 of 96 in Louisville
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East
Address: 751 Cypress Station Dr, Louisville, KY 40207-5153
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > East Louisville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Louisville
#8 Best Value Hotel in Louisville
#10 Business Hotel in Louisville
#13 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Louisville East Hotel Louisville
Hawthorn Suites Louisville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing