We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, poor room assignment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East
Ranked #8 of 96 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Sugar Hill, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great hotel, poor room assignment”
Reviewed 10 November 2009

We chose this hotel because of the rooms to accomodate 3 adults and 1 child. Reservations were made a month in advance to our arrival. Upon our arrival, we were assigned to our room and found our room very clean and welcoming. Our first night was uneventful and very peaceful. However our second night was horrible. After returning from a long day, we could do anything but relax. When we pulled into the parking lot we noticed that there were 2 school buses. We were a little concerned, but had hoped that the hotel would remain quite. Almost immediately after getting settled in our room for the evening, doors started slamming in the room next to us. Kids were running back and forth through the halls and into different rooms. I'm not for sure what time they were made to stay in their rooms, but you could hear them carrying on in the room well after 2 am. We also know that we were between 2 rooms occupied by kids, because they had tape on the doors so that when the chaprones checked the rooms they would be able to tell if the kids had left the room. I know how kids will be and place the blame entirely on the hotel staff that was responsible in assigning our room to us. Surely the hotel had to know that when we checked in that this group of kids was going to be staying at the hotel on Saturday evening. I feel the clerk should have given us a room that was not going to be between 2 rooms that were occupied with kids only. Not for sure the reason behind this, but hopefully the hotel staff will pay closer attention when assigning rooms or at least notify the occupants in rooms that are surrounded by groups of kids and possibly give you the option of getting a new room or moving to a different hotel. Needless to say, it was a long drive back to Kansas City Sunday, and we're still trying to recoup from such a restless night. I did speak with the front desk and let them know of what was going on, and she was very apologetic. She assured me that she would let the General Manager know of our experience. In speaking with Lee on Monday morning, she was aware of our experience and was looking into the matter.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilyPlatteCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger_F39604, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East, responded to this review, 24 February 2016
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    188
    76
    17
    7
See reviews for
354
82
40
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

We stopped by for one night on our way south. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the pool. The staff was nice. We enjoyed the evening appetizers and morning breakfast. Very enjoyable stay after driving all day. THE MOST IMPORTANT reason I liked this place is when my daughter left her purse in the lobby. It was kept by the staff until we realized it was missing 2 hours later. Her vacation money and orthodontic retainers ($800) along with all her belongings were still in her purse. That could have been a significant loss to us otherwise. Thanks again to the staff for a nice stay! I will try other Hawthorn Suites when traveling.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mom1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger_F39604, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East, responded to this review, 24 February 2016
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review!

Roger Fultz
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midwest
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Our room was a spacious 2 queen/sleeper-sofa suite. It was very clean! It had double hung windows which opened wide for fresh air if desired. The breakfast was good with lots of choices presented very nicely. The indoor pool was very nice, too, with extreme vaulted ceilings and custom large round top windows surrounding the pool area. It brings in the outdoors and sun. :)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRandSIX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger_F39604, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East, responded to this review, 24 February 2016
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisville, ky
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2009

We spent the night here for my daughter's 11th birthday slumber party. Great experience all-around -- pool and hot tub were clean and perfect temperature, plenty of towels, rooms were spacious and equipped with everything we needed to feed six kids and two adults. Extra pillows arrived within 5 minutes of our phone call. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EG1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger_F39604, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East, responded to this review, 26 February 2016
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MI
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2009

Hotel staff will claim it and keep it! Hotel agreed to leave pool unlocked for our young children to swim -pool closes at 10pm. We left told clerk he could lock the door at 10:15, the next morning at 9am realized we had left a child's Speedo swim vest behind, pool was still locked, saw through window that towels had been restocked and pool area cleaned, asked front desk clerk for vest, were told did not have it, declined to ask housekeeper if they had found it while cleaning pool, were told had to wait until 10am to look around pool ourselves, of course not found. Front desk clerk suggested we had packed the soaking wet vest and forgot. We are just glad it is easily replaced and not a treasured stuffed animal, although with money being tight this was not an expense we planned on. Have complained to chain website, but do not expect that they will care any more than the hotel staff did. We will stick with Comfort Suites! Even though this issue seems trivial, it was important to us! Breakfast is good, but never restocked the waffle batter for making waffles even though it was shortly after 9 and breakfast lasted until 10. Rooms are large like Comfort Suites. Also wireless internet had not worked "for several days"

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelin0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger_F39604, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East, responded to this review, 26 February 2016
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cold Spring, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2008

Quiet, comfortable suite style hotel in the outskirts of Louisville. I arrived during a horrible snow storm and found the hotel staffed with only one person. I rented a car, but others in my party found that the shuttle stooped running early because of the storm. Another person in my party was able to use the shuttle to take her to the mall and stores that were close by. Excellent hot buffet breakfast with decent coffee, public access computer with printer, and clean rooms made the hotel a positive experience.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank surferwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger_F39604, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East, responded to this review, 24 February 2016
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2007

My family booked two rooms for the weekend to attend a funeral. My wife, 14 month old daughter and I enjoyed our stay very much. The room was sizable and provided an entire living room for the little one to run around. The bathroom was very clean and well stocked with all the usuals. The refrigerator and microwave were great additions to the experience seeing that we always have leftovers with the baby. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating with our late checkout request. The breakfast was satisfactory. It lacked any type of fruit, but the hot items made up for that. Overall, our experience was tremendous. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Room size and location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank joe12fear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger_F39604, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East, responded to this review, 24 February 2016
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
East Louisville
Homewood Suites Louisville East
East Louisville
Wingate by Wyndham Louisville East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Louisville
Drury Inn & Suites Louisville North
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#2 of 96 in Louisville
1,890 reviews
Louisville Marriott East
#3 of 96 in Louisville
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East
Address: 751 Cypress Station Dr, Louisville, KY 40207-5153
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > East Louisville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Louisville
#7 Best Value Hotel in Louisville
#10 Business Hotel in Louisville
#13 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Louisville East Hotel Louisville
Hawthorn Suites Louisville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing